English Community

Software and Operating SystemPre-Installed Lenovo Software and Applications
All Forum Topics
Options

8 Posts

05-08-2009

Denmark

10 Signins

82 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎05-08-2009
  • Location: Denmark
  • Views: 82
  • Message 31 of 76

Re: Neither TVUR/Thin Installer or RSS works for updating T400

2009-05-09, 18:22 PM

soooo...

now I tried to edit one line in the database.xml, changing the URL of one package that I know should be updated(the IMSM) to the new repository path. Appearantly that helped. It then recognized 17 new packages and is updating away right now. I'll get back when the update is over and tell how it worked out.

 

Reply
Options

62 Posts

03-22-2009

Oregon

255 Signins

1797 Page Views

  • Posts: 62
  • Registered: ‎03-22-2009
  • Location: Oregon
  • Views: 1797
  • Message 32 of 76

Re: Home Environment - How to set up Update Retriever (UR) and Thin Installer (TI) in a home environ

2009-05-10, 0:33 AM
when i try to download them it takes me to the terms of service page. when i cick on "i agree" it does aboslutly nothing. i dont have any pop up blockers or firewalls, etc that would block it. what good is this if you cant even get the **bleep** thing to instal?
Reply
Options

62 Posts

03-22-2009

Oregon

255 Signins

1797 Page Views

  • Posts: 62
  • Registered: ‎03-22-2009
  • Location: Oregon
  • Views: 1797
  • Message 33 of 76

Re: Home Environment - How to set up Update Retriever (UR) and Thin Installer (TI) in a home environ

2009-05-10, 1:30 AM

Got it to work, apparently it didn't like me opening it up in a new tab.

 

Trying to set up the Update Retriever thing what am I supsoed to put in "machine type" ? I havea Lenovo 3000 N100, but the box is just blank, I tried putting in 3000 N100, but that didnt work, how or what am I suposed to put in?

Reply
Options

222 Posts

06-20-2008

United States

397 Signins

7343 Page Views

  • Posts: 222
  • Registered: ‎06-20-2008
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 7343
  • Message 34 of 76

Re: Home Environment - How to set up Update Retriever (UR) and Thin Installer (TI) in a home environ

2009-05-10, 1:50 AM

The only two machine types for a Lenovo 3000 N100 are 0689 and 0768.  You should see one of those numbers on the bottom of your notebook, and that number would be the one you need to enter.

 

Don

Reply
Options

62 Posts

03-22-2009

Oregon

255 Signins

1797 Page Views

  • Posts: 62
  • Registered: ‎03-22-2009
  • Location: Oregon
  • Views: 1797
  • Message 35 of 76

Re: Home Environment - How to set up Update Retriever (UR) and Thin Installer (TI) in a home environ

2009-05-10, 1:52 AM
yeah its 0768, thanks. woulda been nice if they told somewhere where that number was located though when you had to put it in <_<
Reply
Options

62 Posts

03-22-2009

Oregon

255 Signins

1797 Page Views

  • Posts: 62
  • Registered: ‎03-22-2009
  • Location: Oregon
  • Views: 1797
  • Message 36 of 76

Re: Home Environment - How to set up Update Retriever (UR) and Thin Installer (TI) in a home environ

2009-05-10, 4:28 AM

"5. To initialize TI on each client, copy the program from the Program Files directory and paste a shortcut to the desktop. Then rightclick on the shortcut and choose Properties, and in the target field of the shortcut tab after "C:\Program Files\ThinInstaller\ThinInstaller.exe" add the following: -repository your_UR_download_directory."

 

Ok I'm not understanding that step, what is the target field? and everytime i click on the icon after dragging it onto the desktop it says the program has stopped working, and then a thing pops up saying it  may have not instaled right, when I've instaled it 3 times now

Reply
Options

62 Posts

03-22-2009

Oregon

255 Signins

1797 Page Views

  • Posts: 62
  • Registered: ‎03-22-2009
  • Location: Oregon
  • Views: 1797
  • Message 37 of 76

Re: Home Environment - How to set up Update Retriever (UR) and Thin Installer (TI) in a home environ

2009-05-10, 5:09 AM

figured it from another web site, that step needs to be worded better.

 

Anyways I made all the updates just go to the download folder located in the c drive then windows, etc, i download a whopping 3.19 gigs worth of updates i did the respitory thing but it says no updates were found, i know thats b.s. becasue I just downloaded GIGS worth of them. tell me what im doing wrong or give me a suggestion as to where to put the folder then so it works

Message Edited by SectorStar on 05-09-2009 10:10 PM
Message Edited by SectorStar on 05-09-2009 10:14 PM
Reply
Options

439 Posts

12-26-2008

Sweden

14704 Signins

67019 Page Views

  • Posts: 439
  • Registered: ‎12-26-2008
  • Location: Sweden
  • Views: 67019
  • Message 38 of 76

Re: Home Environment - How to set up Update Retriever (UR) and Thin Installer (TI) in a home environ

2009-05-10, 5:16 AM

wrote:

"5. To initialize TI on each client, copy the program from the Program Files directory and paste a shortcut to the desktop. Then rightclick on the shortcut and choose Properties, and in the target field of the shortcut tab after "C:\Program Files\ThinInstaller\ThinInstaller.exe" add the following: -repository your_UR_download_directory."

 

Ok I'm not understanding that step, what is the target field? and everytime i click on the icon after dragging it onto the desktop it says the program has stopped working, and then a thing pops up saying it  may have not instaled right, when I've instaled it 3 times now


1. In Start -- My Computer go to the C:\Program Files\Thininstaller directory and rightclick on theThininstaller.exe program and choose copy.

 

2. Rightclick on desktop and choose Paste Shortcut.

 

3. Rightclick on the shortcut you created on the desktop and choose Properties

 

4. Click on the shortcut tab

 

5. There are two similar fields, its the top one you want, I think in English its called target

 

6. Change the target field from "C:\Program Files\ThinInstaller\ThinInstaller.exe" to:

 

"C:\Program Files\ThinInstaller\ThinInstaller.exe" -repository C:\...

 

where ... is the directory Update Retriever created and downloaded to.

 

7. Start Thin Installer by doubleclicking on the shortcut you just created and modified on the desktop

Message Edited by zilla on 2009-05-10 07:27 AM

T500: Vista 32, 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 15.4" 1680x1050, 500GB 7200rpm, ATI Radeon HD3650 + Intel 4500MHD. T42: XP, 1.7GHz, 2GB RAM, 14.1" 1024x768, 250GB PATA, ATI Radeon 7500.

Reply
Options

62 Posts

03-22-2009

Oregon

255 Signins

1797 Page Views

  • Posts: 62
  • Registered: ‎03-22-2009
  • Location: Oregon
  • Views: 1797
  • Message 39 of 76

Re: Home Environment - How to set up Update Retriever (UR) and Thin Installer (TI) in a home environ

2009-05-10, 5:20 AM

got that far, that made better sesne

 

This is what i put in the target field "C:\Program Files\ThinInstaller\ThinInstaller.exe" -repository C:\users\SectorStar\Downloads

 

The 3.19 gigs worth of downloads is in that folder, but it's saying no downloads were found still, there is absolutley nothing in that download folder whatso ever except for all those updates I downloaded.

Reply
Options

439 Posts

12-26-2008

Sweden

14704 Signins

67019 Page Views

  • Posts: 439
  • Registered: ‎12-26-2008
  • Location: Sweden
  • Views: 67019
  • Message 40 of 76

Re: Home Environment - How to set up Update Retriever (UR) and Thin Installer (TI) in a home environ

2009-05-10, 5:54 AM

Is C:\users\SectorStar\Downloads what you typed into Update Retriever? To double check what you typed start Update Retriever and click on Modify settings on the left.

 

If you get that message in a few seconds after you start Thin Installer it means its not reading the 3 GB you just downloaded. There is an empty default database it reads if it doesn't find the -repository parameter.

 

If you get the same message after it chews thru the whole 3GB and thinks a lot when its in the 90-93% complete range you have a different problem.

 

Try specifyoing a non-existing (misspelt) directory after -repository. If TI is picking up on the -repository parameter it should then give you a different message about a corrupt or can't be found database.

 

Again there are two very similar fields in that shortcut tab -- it's the top one you want

 

 

T500: Vista 32, 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 15.4" 1680x1050, 500GB 7200rpm, ATI Radeon HD3650 + Intel 4500MHD. T42: XP, 1.7GHz, 2GB RAM, 14.1" 1024x768, 250GB PATA, ATI Radeon 7500.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete