English Community

Software and Operating SystemPre-Installed Lenovo Software and Applications
All Forum Topics
Options

15 Posts

04-09-2010

USA, GA, Atlanta

25 Signins

257 Page Views

  • Posts: 15
  • Registered: ‎04-09-2010
  • Location: USA, GA, Atlanta
  • Views: 257
  • Message 11 of 28

Re: Hotkeys not working

2010-06-14, 20:58 PM

I have Vista SP2 installed and both an ATI Radeon and Intel Mobile Express video driver as my system has "switchable graphics."  I switched to the Intel graphics and there was no change in the problem.

 

I agree the Lenovo working is strange and the people I talked to at Lenovo support could not help.

 

I think my registry is "messed up" but don't know how to fix it.

Reply
Options

1593 Posts

07-17-2009

Slovakia

576 Signins

12029 Page Views

  • Posts: 1593
  • Registered: ‎07-17-2009
  • Location: Slovakia
  • Views: 12029
  • Message 12 of 28

Re: Hotkeys not working

2010-06-14, 21:02 PM

Hi,

just a correction:

based on the registry export, I can say, that at least this part of the registry is correct.
So the information on what and how should be started, when you press FN+Fx is there, but the main triger seems to have some issues.

I'll try to repro one more time to check, if I find anything.

 

Cheer

Reply
Options

15 Posts

04-09-2010

USA, GA, Atlanta

25 Signins

257 Page Views

  • Posts: 15
  • Registered: ‎04-09-2010
  • Location: USA, GA, Atlanta
  • Views: 257
  • Message 13 of 28

Re: Hotkeys not working

2010-06-14, 22:29 PM

Thanks.  I am retired IBM.

 

Do you not think there should be a process always running to accept the hotkey strokes and launch the rest?  Do you know the name of that process?

Reply
Options

1593 Posts

07-17-2009

Slovakia

576 Signins

12029 Page Views

  • Posts: 1593
  • Registered: ‎07-17-2009
  • Location: Slovakia
  • Views: 12029
  • Message 14 of 28

Re: Hotkeys not working

2010-06-15, 19:38 PM

Hi,
of course there should be a service always running , that is supporting the functionality of the On Screen Display.
This service is called "TPHKSVC.exe" and can be found in:
%programfiles%\Lenovo\Hotkey\

So in this case please check if this service is visible in the task manager.

You are fully correct, that once this service is stopped, then the hotkey is not working at all.

Cheers

Reply
Options

15 Posts

04-09-2010

USA, GA, Atlanta

25 Signins

257 Page Views

  • Posts: 15
  • Registered: ‎04-09-2010
  • Location: USA, GA, Atlanta
  • Views: 257
  • Message 15 of 28

Re: Hotkeys not working

2010-06-15, 21:51 PM

There is no such process or service running on my system.

Reply
Options

1593 Posts

07-17-2009

Slovakia

576 Signins

12029 Page Views

  • Posts: 1593
  • Registered: ‎07-17-2009
  • Location: Slovakia
  • Views: 12029
  • Message 16 of 28

Re: Hotkeys not working

2010-06-16, 8:18 AM

Hi,
I have now checked on a XP and also on Win7(x64) system and by both was this service running.

In case you cannot find it in the Task manager, then please go to Windows services:
Start->Run-> type: services.msc
- and make sure, that the service called "On Screen Display" is running. This same name is also by XP and also by Win7.

In case you cannot find this service, then there is surelly something not correct with your hotkey installation. In this case I have one more guess:
- go to %programfiles%\Lenovo\Hotkey
- double-click on the TPHKSVC.EXE
This should start the service manually, but it will be terminated by next system reboot.
So in case this will help, then please let me know, and I'll give you some hints on how to get this service to start by system startup.

Cheers

Reply
Options

15 Posts

04-09-2010

USA, GA, Atlanta

25 Signins

257 Page Views

  • Posts: 15
  • Registered: ‎04-09-2010
  • Location: USA, GA, Atlanta
  • Views: 257
  • Message 17 of 28

Re: Hotkeys not working

2010-06-16, 14:54 PM

I started the service manually.  "On Screen Display" shows in the list of services but is "Stopped".  When I restart it immediately stops.  I wonder why?

Reply
Options

921 Posts

11-26-2008

NO

8088 Signins

59124 Page Views

  • Posts: 921
  • Registered: ‎11-26-2008
  • Location: NO
  • Views: 59124
  • Message 18 of 28

Re: Hotkeys not working

2010-06-16, 16:51 PM

wrote:

I started the service manually.  "On Screen Display" shows in the list of services but is "Stopped".  When I restart it immediately stops.  I wonder why?


Is there some more info to be found in the windows event log?

Reply
Options

15 Posts

04-09-2010

USA, GA, Atlanta

25 Signins

257 Page Views

  • Posts: 15
  • Registered: ‎04-09-2010
  • Location: USA, GA, Atlanta
  • Views: 257
  • Message 19 of 28

Re: Hotkeys not working

2010-06-16, 22:21 PM

It does not seem to be creating a log entry.

Reply
Options

1 Posts

06-22-2010

Berlin

1 Signins

12 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎06-22-2010
  • Location: Berlin
  • Views: 12
  • Message 20 of 28

Re: Hotkeys not working

2010-06-22, 13:03 PM

I have exactly the same problem, even with the same registry entries. The TPHKSVC.exe service is not running. When I fire it up from %program files%/Lenovo/HOTKEY it runs but closes down as soon as I hit the "ThinkVantage"-key which should open the productivity center.

 

This is pretty annoying, especially when I take into account how expensive ThinkPads are >_<

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete