Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Software and Operating SystemPre-Installed Lenovo Software and Applications
All Forum Topics
Options

16 Posts

01-29-2018

United States of America

11 Signins

91 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎01-29-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 91
  • Message 1 of 9

Lenovo Hotkey Client Loader stuck at 30% CPU

2020-11-16, 8:29 AM

On my X1 Carbon (Gen 2 20A8) running Windows 10, the Task Manager shows that the ThinkPad Message Client Loader (Lenovo Hotkey Client Loader) is constantly consuming 25% - 30% CPU. 

 

I can end the process but of course it just starts again when I reboot. 

 

Any idea what's causing this and how I can troubleshoot?

 

Thank you

Reply
Options

1050 Posts

03-11-2008

China

1867 Signins

17564 Page Views

  • Posts: 1050
  • Registered: ‎03-11-2008
  • Location: China
  • Views: 17564
  • Message 2 of 9

Lenovo Hotkey Client Loader stuck at 30% CPU

2020-11-16, 8:49 AM
Do you have any anti-virus software installed? What if you turn off them?
Reply
Options

2835 Posts

03-11-2020

Greece

349 Signins

14421 Page Views

  • Posts: 2835
  • Registered: ‎03-11-2020
  • Location: Greece
  • Views: 14421
  • Message 3 of 9

Re:Lenovo Hotkey Client Loader stuck at 30% CPU

2020-11-16, 10:26 AM

Hello csbur**bleep**,

 

As user in this thread has reported this being fixed by finding the service and change it from Automatic to Automatic Delayed.

 

Instructions:

 

  • Open Services.msc
  • Find Lenovo Hot Key Client Loader
  • Click Properties
  • Change Startup Type to Automatic (Delayed) from just Automatic
  • Restart the system

 

It appears the service starts before the full initialization of the antivirus service which causes a loop and lock.  

Setting it to delayed causes the antivirus to fully load which then accepts the requests of the Hot Key Client Loader.

 

Hope this helps. 

 

Regards

 

Voithos



Did someone help you today? Press the thumbs-up icon below to thank them with a Kudos!!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Please don't ask me questions by Private Message; questions belong in the forums.

Reply
Options

16 Posts

01-29-2018

United States of America

11 Signins

91 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎01-29-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 91
  • Message 4 of 9

Re:Lenovo Hotkey Client Loader stuck at 30% CPU

2020-11-16, 17:03 PM

Only Windows Security, and it didn't change anything after turning it off.

Reply
Options

16 Posts

01-29-2018

United States of America

11 Signins

91 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎01-29-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 91
  • Message 5 of 9

Re:Lenovo Hotkey Client Loader stuck at 30% CPU

2020-11-16, 17:04 PM

I'm afraid that didn't help. I had actually already tried that: https://i.gyazo.com/4ea7582705716b46be9b11075ce021f6.png

 

Thank you

Reply
Options

1050 Posts

03-11-2008

China

1867 Signins

17564 Page Views

  • Posts: 1050
  • Registered: ‎03-11-2008
  • Location: China
  • Views: 17564
  • Message 6 of 9

Re:Lenovo Hotkey Client Loader stuck at 30% CPU

2020-11-17, 1:12 AM

Is your x1 carbon shipped with e-ink function key?

And what is the version of your hotkey package and when did this issue begin to happen?

Reply
Options

16 Posts

01-29-2018

United States of America

11 Signins

91 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎01-29-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 91
  • Message 7 of 9

Re:Lenovo Hotkey Client Loader stuck at 30% CPU

2020-11-17, 17:26 PM

@ hzfdbd wrote:
 

 

Is your x1 carbon shipped with e-ink function key?

 

Yes, it has the annoying "dynamic" function strip


 

 

And what is the version of your hotkey package and when did this issue begin to happen?

 

 

It started happening again a couple weeks ago I think but it had happened before as well. IDK what fixed it originally, it just stopped. Maybe an update...

 

The version I think is 9.1.0.2. I've been checking for updates on vantage and it hasn't said there's a new version.

 

Thank you

Reply
Options

1050 Posts

03-11-2008

China

1867 Signins

17564 Page Views

  • Posts: 1050
  • Registered: ‎03-11-2008
  • Location: China
  • Views: 17564
  • Message 8 of 9

Re:Lenovo Hotkey Client Loader stuck at 30% CPU

2020-11-18, 2:45 AM

The latest version to support your system is link below (9.0.0.10):

https://pcsupport.lenovo.com/us/en/products/laptops-and-netbooks/thinkpad-x-series-laptops/thinkpad-x1-carbon-type-20a7-20a8/downloads/ds503701-hotkey-features-integration-for-windows-10-64-bit-thinkpad-x1-carbon-2nd-machine-types-20a7-20a8

May I know how you installed 9.1.0.2 on your system?

Reply
Options

16 Posts

01-29-2018

United States of America

11 Signins

91 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎01-29-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 91
  • Message 9 of 9

Re:Lenovo Hotkey Client Loader stuck at 30% CPU

2020-11-18, 12:18 PM

Thank you. I installed 9.0.0.10 and restarted, and now Lenovo Hotkey Client Loader is no longer taking up 30% CPU, but I'm unable to toggle between hotkey keyboards (it's stuck on the Fn keyboard). Not a big deal since that's the only one I use really, but still should be fixed.

 

Thank you

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms

Most Liked Authors

(Last 7 days)

View All