Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Software and Operating SystemPre-Installed Lenovo Software and Applications
All Forum Topics
Options

26 Posts

01-04-2009

Israel

36 Signins

211 Page Views

  • Posts: 26
  • Registered: ‎01-04-2009
  • Location: Israel
  • Views: 211
  • Message 1 of 3

R&R from a previous version

2010-05-14, 18:08 PM

I've upgraded my machine ((W 700  T 9600 2.8 GHz 2x160GB HD RAID 0 4GM RAM) from Vista (64 bit) business to WIN 7 Pro (clean install) .

Backed up my computer before upgrading with R&R (4.2) on a external HD.

Now I'm not able to rescue any of my files, I see the 85 GB on the drive but can't  see the RR using the 4.3 0f Win 7. 

Did I do a FATAL mistake using the Thinkvantage backup software ?

 

HELPPPPPPP  I need my stuff

JDAN

Reply
Options

9380 Posts

11-27-2007

Slovakia

15518 Signins

2040239 Page Views

  • Posts: 9380
  • Registered: ‎11-27-2007
  • Location: Slovakia
  • Views: 2040239
  • Message 2 of 3

Re: R&R from a previous version

2010-05-14, 19:02 PM

A fatal mistake? Not totally :smileyindifferent:

 

Please visit the download site for R&R v.4.3, W7 version, and read the notes; "Consider the following before installing this code."

 

If I were in your position I would grab a spare drive and recover Vista to it, then copy the files I need to where ever. It's possibly the least time consuming method.

 

Hope this helps.

Andy  

______________________________________


Please remember to come back and mark the post that you feel solved your question as the solution, it earns the member + points

Did you find a post helpfull? You can thank the member by clicking on the star to the left awarding them Kudos

Please add your type, model number and OS to your signature, it helps to help you.

Forum Search Option T430 2347-G7U W8 x64, Yoga 10 HD+, Tablet 1838-2BG, T61p 6460-67G W7 x64, T43p 2668-G2G XP, T23 2647-9LG XP, plus a few more.

FYI Unsolicited Personal Messages will be ignored.

de.gif  Deutsche Community   es.gif  Comunidad en Español  uk.gif  English Community ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

PepperonI blog 

Reply
Options

1593 Posts

07-17-2009

Slovakia

576 Signins

12029 Page Views

  • Posts: 1593
  • Registered: ‎07-17-2009
  • Location: Slovakia
  • Views: 12029
  • Message 3 of 3

Re: R&R from a previous version

2010-05-14, 20:55 PM

Hi,
unfortunately this is the basic, that RnR backups can be restored only when exactly the same version of this application is used on the other machine. So in your situation you have been using the 4.2 on Vista machine and you want to restore it on a win7 machine with the 4.3 version.
Unfortunately this will never work.

In this case please do what was already adviced by "andyP":
- install Vista back on this or other machine
- install exactly the same version of RnR on this machine
- restore the previously captured backup and now you can use these files

I do understand, that this might not sound ideal, but verison issues are not related to RnR only, but also other image/backup tools, like Acronis True image and Ghost.

Please feel free to mark this thread as fixed/closed in case this is true.

Cheers

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms