Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Software and Operating SystemPre-Installed Lenovo Software and Applications
All Forum Topics
Options

453 Posts

12-26-2008

Sweden

14704 Signins

67019 Page Views

  • Posts: 453
  • Registered: ‎12-26-2008
  • Location: Sweden
  • Views: 67019
  • Message 1 of 4

T500 Power manager 1.60-1.62 stops being able to power off display after first time after reboot

2011-05-29, 14:33 PM

I have had this irritating problem for some time now. After I reboot i can power off my display with Fn+F3 once only. Once I have done it and woken up screen again nothing happens when I push Fn+F3 again.

 

It's not a hotkey issue -- also right clicking on power manager and choosing power off display on the menu stops working after first time.

 

The powering off of the display after some inactive time continues to work, but the ability to stop the display immediately doesn't come back

 

Going thru my System Update history it looks like I started experiencing the problem about the time I installed Power Manager 1.60 in 4Q. Have now installed 1.62 -- problem remains.

 

Any ideas?

T500: Vista 32, 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 15.4" 1680x1050, 500GB 7200rpm, ATI Radeon HD3650 + Intel 4500MHD. T42: XP, 1.7GHz, 2GB RAM, 14.1" 1024x768, 250GB PATA, ATI Radeon 7500.

Reply
Answer
Options

453 Posts

12-26-2008

Sweden

14704 Signins

67019 Page Views

  • Posts: 453
  • Registered: ‎12-26-2008
  • Location: Sweden
  • Views: 67019

Re: T500 Power manager 1.60-1.62 stops being able to power off display after first time after reboot

2011-06-03, 20:48 PM

Ok stumbled on the solution.

 

Sometimes I manage to crash the java stack - in those instances i have found it easiest to just erase the whole windows temp directory rather than worrying about which parts of it affect the java stack. So after crashing java and deleting the temp directory my problem with Fn+F3 is gone.

 

What happened is I had a hard disk failure and replaced my hard disk with a new one -- all my problems went away except the one with Fn+F3 not working after the first time. So now I learnt I have to modify my routine to replace a hard disk on the T500:

 

1. Run the three recovery DVDs (that you burned from your T500 before you started having any problems) to restore to factory settings on the new disk. This puts the ThinkVantage button and the WinME partitions in working order.

 

2. Run your favourite backup/recovery utility to restore the C partition to the latest backup

 

3. Erase the Windows temp directory -- in Vista type %temp% in the start menu to find it.

T500: Vista 32, 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 15.4" 1680x1050, 500GB 7200rpm, ATI Radeon HD3650 + Intel 4500MHD. T42: XP, 1.7GHz, 2GB RAM, 14.1" 1024x768, 250GB PATA, ATI Radeon 7500.

Reply

Replies(3)
Options

9644 Posts

12-27-2009

Canada

3313 Signins

95283 Page Views

  • Posts: 9644
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 95283
  • Message 2 of 4

Re: T500 Power manager 1.60-1.62 stops being able to power off display after first time after reboot

2011-05-30, 1:17 AM
I used to have a few third-party programs that would hold up the screen off command. Closing them made the screen turn off. If I queued a bunch of commands, then the screen would try to power off the same number of times.

Hasn't happened to me recently. I'd try uninstalling the Hotkey and Power Management packages, and reinstalling them.

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Reply
Options

3538 Posts

07-12-2010

Malaysia

5065 Signins

104816 Page Views

  • Posts: 3538
  • Registered: ‎07-12-2010
  • Location: Malaysia
  • Views: 104816
  • Message 3 of 4

Re: T500 Power manager 1.60-1.62 stops being able to power off display after first time after reboot

2011-05-30, 5:44 AM
@zilla,

Test on a T400 (Switchable) with Win 7 Ulti x64.

Fn + F3 set to Power off display

Ran test for 10 times and 10 times the screen turned off successfully.

Power Manager 3.52 and Power Management driver 1.62.

Tried reinstalling PM and PMD ?

//JameZ
Reply
Answer
Options

453 Posts

12-26-2008

Sweden

14704 Signins

67019 Page Views

  • Posts: 453
  • Registered: ‎12-26-2008
  • Location: Sweden
  • Views: 67019
  • Message 4 of 4

Re: T500 Power manager 1.60-1.62 stops being able to power off display after first time after reboot

2011-06-03, 20:48 PM

Ok stumbled on the solution.

 

Sometimes I manage to crash the java stack - in those instances i have found it easiest to just erase the whole windows temp directory rather than worrying about which parts of it affect the java stack. So after crashing java and deleting the temp directory my problem with Fn+F3 is gone.

 

What happened is I had a hard disk failure and replaced my hard disk with a new one -- all my problems went away except the one with Fn+F3 not working after the first time. So now I learnt I have to modify my routine to replace a hard disk on the T500:

 

1. Run the three recovery DVDs (that you burned from your T500 before you started having any problems) to restore to factory settings on the new disk. This puts the ThinkVantage button and the WinME partitions in working order.

 

2. Run your favourite backup/recovery utility to restore the C partition to the latest backup

 

3. Erase the Windows temp directory -- in Vista type %temp% in the start menu to find it.

T500: Vista 32, 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 15.4" 1680x1050, 500GB 7200rpm, ATI Radeon HD3650 + Intel 4500MHD. T42: XP, 1.7GHz, 2GB RAM, 14.1" 1024x768, 250GB PATA, ATI Radeon 7500.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms