Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Software and Operating SystemPre-Installed Lenovo Software and Applications
All Forum Topics
Options

7 Posts

02-28-2011

Czech Republic

12 Signins

63 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎02-28-2011
  • Location: Czech Republic
  • Views: 63
  • Message 1 of 5

WiFi B: channels 12 and 13 disabled (only US channels 1-11 work)

2011-02-28, 16:22 PM

I have a problem with my X61. I have already been to two cafes unable to use their WiFi network (no cafe tells which channles they are operating). I was wondering why as I was able to connect wia mobile phone. Finally I have find out, that this is because my notebook has only american WiFi B channels 1-11. But when using throughout Europe, I would like to connect also to networks 12 and 13. How to enable it?

Thank you in advance for your help.

Reply
Options

1220 Posts

12-24-2010

Perth, Australia

259 Signins

21576 Page Views

  • Posts: 1220
  • Registered: ‎12-24-2010
  • Location: Perth, Australia
  • Views: 21576
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: WiFi B: channels 12 and 13 disabled (only US channels 1-11 work)

2011-03-01, 9:56 AM
Hello mate, What's your wifi adapter ? Have you got the latest driver ?
__________________________________________________________________________________

Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves, or we know where we can find information on it.


ThinkPad T510 4313-CTO Windows 8 x64 - Intel Core i7-620M - NVIDIA NVS 3100M - 8GB RAM - 240GB SSD- Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 - Gobi 2000.
ThinkPad Helix 3697-CTO Windows 8.1 x64 - Intel Core i7-3667U - Intel HD Graphics 4000 - 8GB RAM- 256GB SSD - Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205 - Ericsson C5621gw

Reply
Options

7 Posts

02-28-2011

Czech Republic

12 Signins

63 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎02-28-2011
  • Location: Czech Republic
  • Views: 63
  • Message 3 of 5

Re: WiFi B: channels 12 and 13 disabled (only US channels 1-11 work)

2011-03-01, 10:03 AM

Hi, my WiFi card is Intel Wireless WiFi Link 4965 AG, all drivers are the latest. I am not the only one with this problem... Service offered me to change the card for european, but I suppose, there should be some SW solution.

 

I had few APs at hand, and there was the possibility to change the channels according to the state legislation (somewhere in the settings). But I can't find something similar on my notebook.

Reply
Options

1220 Posts

12-24-2010

Perth, Australia

259 Signins

21576 Page Views

  • Posts: 1220
  • Registered: ‎12-24-2010
  • Location: Perth, Australia
  • Views: 21576
  • Message 4 of 5

Re: WiFi B: channels 12 and 13 disabled (only US channels 1-11 work)

2011-03-02, 12:43 PM

There is normally a "country" prompt when installing the Intel Pro/Wireless software - make sure you selected the proper country to enable channels 12 & 13. If you did, and 12 & 13 aren't available.

If the Pro/Wireless software was pre-installed, then un-install it, download the latest version, and re-install it - hopefully, it will prompt for what country you're in.

 

Give it a try.

__________________________________________________________________________________

Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves, or we know where we can find information on it.


ThinkPad T510 4313-CTO Windows 8 x64 - Intel Core i7-620M - NVIDIA NVS 3100M - 8GB RAM - 240GB SSD- Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 - Gobi 2000.
ThinkPad Helix 3697-CTO Windows 8.1 x64 - Intel Core i7-3667U - Intel HD Graphics 4000 - 8GB RAM- 256GB SSD - Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205 - Ericsson C5621gw

Reply
Options

7 Posts

02-28-2011

Czech Republic

12 Signins

63 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎02-28-2011
  • Location: Czech Republic
  • Views: 63
  • Message 5 of 5

Re: WiFi B: channels 12 and 13 disabled (only US channels 1-11 work)

2011-03-02, 18:53 PM

I have done that, but I do not have any option enabling me to select a country...

I have found this soluktion: http://www.s10lenovo.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=1915# - but it also doesn't work for me... But it may help the others with non Intel Wifi card.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms