Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-08-2012
Message 1 of 28 (9,377 Views)

ThinkVantage System Update Servers down the whole weekend?

[ Edited ]

I have received my new E320 just yesterday (saturday morning in germany) and i haven't managed to update it with the System Update 4. System Update server not available. Please contact the administrator.

Have i made an error in configuration or are the servers generally not a availablke this weekend?

Lenovo Staff
Posts: 738
Registered: ‎01-16-2010
Location: USA
Message 2 of 28 (9,330 Views)

Re: ThinkVantage System Update Servers down the whole weekend?

Not aware of any outages.  What is your Machine Type?

Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-08-2012
Message 3 of 28 (9,340 Views)

Re: ThinkVantage System Update Servers down the whole weekend?

Okay, those weren't outages.

 

On a preconfigured machine there is this entry in the registry:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Lenovo\System Update]

"Vendor"="THINK"

On my 1298-5QG this wasn't the case as i bought the machine w/out OS. As soon as i entered this value into the registry the System Update Server was accessible. Obviously the server checks for this value ...

Highlighted
802.11n
Posts: 182
Registered: ‎11-10-2011
Location: Albania
Message 4 of 28 (9,293 Views)

x120e thinkvantage system update

Hi

 

Form yesterday tvsu on my x120e is not working. I get a message: The System Update Server is currently unavailable, Please Try again later. It is stuck on 15% on searching: Lenovo Help Center.

 

Is anyone else experiencing this? Or something is not OK with my installation?

 

abvasili

I'm just a volunteer. I like to help others where I can. Do my ideas work? I hope so. o_O
Who helped you today? Do not forget to thank him.
My hardware: TP x120e 0596-2ru. Windows 7, sp1, 64Bit, English, installed in UEFI mode.
802.11n
Posts: 182
Registered: ‎11-10-2011
Location: Albania
Message 5 of 28 (9,292 Views)

Re: x120e thinkvantage system update

[ Edited ]

Ok, issue solved from here:

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/ThinkVantage-Technologies/ThinkVantage-System-Update-Servers-down-the-wh...

 

@community MODs: This thread can be moved there. I thought that this could be x120e specific. Sorry.


Smiley Happy

Cheers

I'm just a volunteer. I like to help others where I can. Do my ideas work? I hope so. o_O
Who helped you today? Do not forget to thank him.
My hardware: TP x120e 0596-2ru. Windows 7, sp1, 64Bit, English, installed in UEFI mode.
802.11n
Posts: 182
Registered: ‎11-10-2011
Location: Albania
Message 6 of 28 (9,292 Views)

Re: ThinkVantage System Update Servers down the whole weekend?

[ Edited ]

Thank you elmarjason,

I had the same issue as you, and your suggestion worked for me.

IMO tv system update software should be updated to address this issue.

 

You can mark this as solved Smiley Happy

Thanks

I'm just a volunteer. I like to help others where I can. Do my ideas work? I hope so. o_O
Who helped you today? Do not forget to thank him.
My hardware: TP x120e 0596-2ru. Windows 7, sp1, 64Bit, English, installed in UEFI mode.
Posts: 2,226
Topics: 83
Kudos: 294
Solutions: 142
Registered: ‎05-01-2008
Location: MY
Message 7 of 28 (9,281 Views)

Re: ThinkVantage System Update Servers down the whole weekend?

parkerjnc, do you think that is possible to have the registry entry fixed with newer version of TVSU? It will benefits those not using lenovo preload.

Regards,
Cleo


T410, x240

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

How to send a private message? --> Check out this article.


English Community   Deutsche Community   Comunidad en Español   Русскоязычное Сообщество
Lenovo Staff
Posts: 738
Registered: ‎01-16-2010
Location: USA
Message 8 of 28 (9,247 Views)

Re: ThinkVantage System Update Servers down the whole weekend?

Although I have heard of this issue where the Vendor value in the registry somehow becomes "UNDEFINED" and causes TVSU to stop looking for updates, I have not been able to recreate so we don't know the root cause.  Again today I installed plain Win7 with SP1 (thinking it is an SP1 issue) on a ThinkPad and installed TVSU and it worked just fine.

 

If any forum members have seen this issue, can you please post what machine and what OS you were using.  Also let me know if it was a clean OS install or a factory preload.

802.11n
Posts: 182
Registered: ‎11-10-2011
Location: Albania
Message 9 of 28 (9,230 Views)

Re: ThinkVantage System Update Servers down the whole weekend?

@parkerjnc

 

I have an x120e 05962ru. I installed plain windows 7 professional 64bit sp1 and after installation the Vendor value in the registry became "UNDEFINED" and caused TVSU to stop looking for updates.

 

abvasili

I'm just a volunteer. I like to help others where I can. Do my ideas work? I hope so. o_O
Who helped you today? Do not forget to thank him.
My hardware: TP x120e 0596-2ru. Windows 7, sp1, 64Bit, English, installed in UEFI mode.
Lenovo Staff
Posts: 738
Registered: ‎01-16-2010
Location: USA
Message 10 of 28 (9,198 Views)

Re: ThinkVantage System Update Servers down the whole weekend?

What version of TVSU did you install?  What exactly is the file name of the installation package?

 

Did you reboot after installing TVSU?

Top Kudoed Authors