cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Lenovo Staff
Lenovo Staff
Posts: 5,659
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Location: NC
Views: 4,033
Message 21 of 164

Re: Vantage has encountered a problem Windows 1809


@maxdurian wrote:

in my laptop.. 

 


maxdurian,

I just want to clarify that this screenshot is from the Yoga 3 where Vantage shows the "encountered a problem" error message at every launch.  Is that correct?

maxdurian
Punch Card
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-04-2018
Location: ID
Views: 4,023
Message 22 of 164

Re: Vantage has encountered a problem Windows 1809

Yes. that's correct. Yoga 3 (core m)

 

youssef5
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-04-2018
Location: US
Views: 4,021
Message 23 of 164

Re: Vantage has encountered a problem Windows 1809

i have same problem after update windows to 1809

youssef5
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-04-2018
Location: US
Views: 4,006
Message 24 of 164

Re: Vantage has encountered a problem Windows 1809

my laptop IDEAPAD 520

Vicinitech
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-04-2018
Location: US
Views: 3,976
Message 25 of 164

Re: Vantage has encountered a problem Windows 1809

I checked..that folder did not exist under the en-us. There were two other folders of different names though.
scotav
Punch Card
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-29-2016
Location: GB
Views: 3,925
Message 26 of 164

Re: Vantage has encountered a problem Windows 1809

I have ran Windows Update a number of times but it just states that Windows is up to date, no reference to Lenovo Extension 1.0.2.0.  Tried checking the update history but it obviously doesn't exist since install of Windows 1809.

 

Checked the en-us directory but ec4d5fdd-aa12-400f-83e2-7b0ea6023eb7 does not exist.

 

I have ran the Reiability Monitor but dont see any reference to it in the Information Events.  Other events have been recorded since update:-

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lenovo Staff
Lenovo Staff
Posts: 5,659
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Location: NC
Views: 3,828
Message 27 of 164

Re: Vantage has encountered a problem Windows 1809

All,

 

I'm still guessing here because even though I can make this "Vantage has encountered a problem" issue happen, Windows always fixes itself by downloading the correct files to the "C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\DeviceMetadataCache\dmrccache" folder.

 

The "Device Setup Manager" service is responsible to download and install the device metadata that Vantage relies on.  So, one possibility is that this service is disabled or having errors.

 

Please open services.msc, and then scroll down to find the "Device Setup Manager" service

  -  The service startup type should be "Manual (Trigger Start)"

  -  Please try manually starting the service.  Does that status change to "Running"?

  -  Wait a few minutes, are you able to run Vantage now?

  -  If not, please do these steps:

 

1.  open Event Viewer

2.  Applications and Services Logs -> Microsoft -> Windows -> DeviceSetupManager

3.  Right-click on "Admin" and "Save all Events As"

4.  Save the display information for English (if possible)

5.  zip up and post the log here

youssef5
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-04-2018
Location: US
Views: 3,808
Message 28 of 164

Re: Vantage has encountered a problem Windows 1809

still the same problem bro

Lenovo Staff
Lenovo Staff
Posts: 5,659
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Location: NC
Views: 3,797
Message 29 of 164

Re: Vantage has encountered a problem Windows 1809

youssef5,

 

Thanks for your log.  It shows a problem.  It is full of events like "A connection to the Windows Update service could not be established" and "The Network List Manager reports no connectivity to the internet".  Do you have any idea what's going on with your system and network?

What do you see in Settings -> Network & Internet?  Does it say you are connected to the internet?  Obviously you are able to post to the forum but I'm wondering if Windows thinks you aren't connected for some reason.

maxdurian
Punch Card
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-04-2018
Location: ID
Views: 3,782
Message 30 of 164

Re: Vantage has encountered a problem Windows 1809

@someotherguy,

I tried it.. no luck..

attacched is the logs file.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors