cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
pjg
Not applicable
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎05-30-2009
Location: CA
Views: 6,078
Message 11 of 164

Re: Vantage has encountered a problem Windows 1809

Not that I expected anything, but I stopped and restarted the service and still got the same problem.

someotherguy
Not applicable
Posts: 5,543
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Location: NC
Views: 6,076
Message 12 of 164

Re: Vantage has encountered a problem Windows 1809

We have some questions for users who are experiencing this problem:

1.  when you launch Vantage, how long do you see the spinning dots before the "Vantage has Encountered a Problem" screen appears?  For example, is it 3 seconds, or 20 seconds, or ??

2.  What is the version of C:\Windows\System32\drivers\UMDF\iMDriver.dll ?

3.  What is the version of  C:\Program Files\Lenovo\ImController\Service\Lenovo.Modern.ImController.exe

 

(To get the versions of the files in #2 and #3, please open those folders in File Explorer, right-click on the file, and then Properties -> Details tab -> File Version)

scotav
Not applicable
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-29-2016
Location: GB
Views: 6,068
Message 13 of 164

Re: Vantage has encountered a problem Windows 1809

The answers to mine are:-

 

1. Approx 1 second

2. Version 2.0.0.0

3. Version 1.1.16.0

 

Thanks

pjg
Not applicable
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎05-30-2009
Location: CA
Views: 6,054
Message 14 of 164

Re: Vantage has encountered a problem Windows 1809

On a new P52, Xeon processor, 32GB mem:

 

1) 1 second

2) 2.0.0.0

3) 1.1.16.0

someotherguy
Not applicable
Posts: 5,543
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Location: NC
Views: 6,042
Message 15 of 164

Re: Vantage has encountered a problem Windows 1809

I'm looking for a volunteer that is willing to install teamviewer and let us remote to their system for further debugging.

Teamviewer can be installed from here:  https://www.teamviewer.com/en/download/windows/

After we are finished, teamviewer can be easily uninstalled.

Please let me know by private message.  The engineer who will be remoting in is located in North Carolina, so we are on eastern US time.  Thanks!

pjg
Not applicable
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎05-30-2009
Location: CA
Views: 6,019
Message 16 of 164

Re: Vantage has encountered a problem Windows 1809

Sent you a PM regarding access...

someotherguy
Not applicable
Posts: 5,543
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Location: NC
Views: 5,938
Message 17 of 164

Re: Vantage has encountered a problem Windows 1809

I was finally able to reproduce this problem here.  To fix it, I ran Windows Update and checked for updates.  This download and installed something called "Lenovo - Extension - 7/11/2018 12:00:00 AM - 1.0.2.0".  I'm still learning about this myself, but this seems to be the glue that lets Vantage communicate to Lenovo System Interface Foundation - and it only comes from Windows Update.

 

If you're having this problem, can you please try to run Windows Update and click on the "Check for Updates" button?

 

To know whether this package is already installed (in case Windows Update doesn't try to install it), you can run Reliability Monitor and check the informational events.  

Vicinitech
Not applicable
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-04-2018
Location: US
Views: 5,927
Message 18 of 164

Re: Vantage has encountered a problem Windows 1809

We started the win10 1809 update on a Lenovo Tiny m700 - same error in this post, Vantage crashes. Removed/reinstalled - same issue, ran the framework install, still no good. Ran Reliability monitor and did not see anything related to Lenovo Vantage. Windows updates show all current.
someotherguy
Not applicable
Posts: 5,543
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Location: NC
Views: 5,916
Message 19 of 164

Re: Vantage has encountered a problem Windows 1809


@Vicinitech wrote:
We started the win10 1809 update on a Lenovo Tiny m700 - same error in this post, Vantage crashes. Removed/reinstalled - same issue, ran the framework install, still no good. Ran Reliability monitor and did not see anything related to Lenovo Vantage. Windows updates show all current.

Can you check if there is anything in this folder on your PC? 

C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\DeviceMetadataCache\dmrccache

Inside this folder should be "en-us" and inside that should be "ec4d5fdd-aa12-400f-83e2-7b0ea6023eb7"

Note that ProgramData folder is hidden, but you can copy-and-paste this path into File Explorer to open it.

 

 

maxdurian
Not applicable
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-04-2018
Location: ID
Views: 5,906
Message 20 of 164

Re: Vantage has encountered a problem Windows 1809

in my laptop.. 

Capture-dmrcchace.JPG

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors