English Community

Linux Operating SystemsFedora
All Forum Topics
Options

2 Posts

12-20-2019

US

2 Signins

10 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 10
  • Message 1 of 7

Thinkpad X1 Extreme (gen 2) + Fedora 30/31

2019-12-20, 20:27 PM

I am sure I am not alone, but I am surprised that I am there is not a lot more activity on the RHEL/Fedora side of the board. Problem: I had to switch to Ubuntu 19 in order to have a semi-stable Linux experience with my X1EG2. Why?

 

Tried Fedora 30 and 31. The live experience works wonderfully. Once installed, seconds after ending on the Gnome login screen, the OS locks up. That will last for a couple of hard reboots, and then the kernel panics ensue.

 

Has anyone had any luck running F30 or F31 in a stable fashion, yet? Can you share your lessons learned, please?

Reply
Options

0 Posts

01-27-2020

US

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 0
  • Registered: ‎01-27-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 0
  • Message 2 of 7

Re: Thinkpad X1 Extreme (gen 2) + Fedora 30/31

2020-01-26, 23:17 PM

I have the same problem with a new P1 gen2. The system does not stay up for longer than 12 min or so. 

Reply
Options

0 Posts

01-27-2020

US

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 0
  • Registered: ‎01-27-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 0
  • Message 3 of 7

Re: Thinkpad X1 Extreme (gen 2) + Fedora 30/31

2020-01-26, 23:47 PM

Looks to be maybe something to do with thermals (?) 

 

Successive reboots seem to lower the time the machine stays up for.. after 5 reboots I am down to 1 min of uptime before the panic happens.

 

Updated the bios to 1.28 and it seems to have made no difference.

Reply
Options

Re: Thinkpad X1 Extreme (gen 2) + Fedora 30/31

2020-02-20, 23:29 PM

I have this model, and I got it running Fedora 31. The biggest challenge is that the nouveau driver does not like the video card, which is what causes the hard locking.

 

The T490 has similar problems, and his instructions got me through it: https://major.io/2019/12/12/thinkpad-t490-fedora-install-tips/

 

I installed the nvidia drivers in a chroot (after installation, but before rebooting). But, you should be able to blacklist the nouveau driver and install the nvidia drivers after rebooting, too.

 

If you're using a spin (such as LXDE or XFCE), there are tweaks that need to be made to the login manager so that the external HDMI/thunderbolt ports work (as they are wired to the discrete graphics card). That's covered here: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/NVIDIA_Optimus

 

Hope this is helpful to someone. I spent way too much time figuring it out. :)

Reply
Options

1 Posts

02-24-2020

US

1 Signins

5 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎02-24-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 5
  • Message 5 of 7

Re:Thinkpad X1 Extreme (gen 2) + Fedora 30/31

2020-02-24, 20:14 PM

Unfortunately, the only thing I found that worked was to use Ubuntu.  I put 19.10 on it, and that works mostly.  I still can't get an external monitor to work, but everything else seems to work.

Reply
Options

11 Posts

02-11-2020

US

13 Signins

55 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎02-11-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 55
  • Message 6 of 7

Re:Thinkpad X1 Extreme (gen 2) + Fedora 30/31

2020-03-29, 8:09 AM
Maybe a little late, please see my reponse to another post. The thing that makes F31 unusable on a recent machine is simple: it's the default Xorg driver nouveau. blacklist nouveau, boot with integrated graphics, download and install the nvidia drivers as described here: https://www.if-not-true-then-false.com/2015/fedora-nvidia-guide/ or use the negativo repository if you prefer.
Reply
Options

3 Posts

06-13-2020

DK

3 Signins

15 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2020
  • Location: DK
  • Views: 15
  • Message 7 of 7

Re:Thinkpad X1 Extreme (gen 2) + Fedora 30/31

2020-07-12, 15:14 PM

Hi I am running swaywm on F32 on my x1e-g1, without too many problems.

However I had a weird problem with the intel wifi card. The card driver could not read the firmware, and after rebooting several times, I found a thread on reddit describing the problem.

 

The solution was: Shutdown the computer and disconnect everything. Leave it for a few minutes and boot again. Work fine now.

 

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete