Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

Motorola Community

Older Devices ArchiveSMARTACTIONS™
All Forum Topics
Options

204 Posts

11-15-2011

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

• Views: 0
  • Message 1 of 8

Smart actions using "not"?

2011-11-15, 12:52 PM

I am new to Android devices (just got it yesterday) so excuse me if this is a dumb question.  But I would like to have a Smart Action where when I come home it turns off GPS and Cellular Data.  The problem is if i set it up like that, since the GPS is no longer active, it doesn't know I'm home and turns those things back on.   So is there a way to set it up to say if I'm NOT home, to turn those items on?  Or maybe I'm just going about it wrong.  Feel free to offer any suggestion you like - except get rid of your phone!

Thank you.

Answer
Options

28352 Posts

02-02-2016

United States of America

5841 Signins

132765 Page Views

• Views: 132765

Re: Smart actions using "not"?

2011-11-15, 13:21 PM

You still have to use something to determine location - so as mentioned above, is wifi an option? It is not going to work that well, as now you are dependant on signal - and if your phone sleeps will it see that wifi is off and turn GPS on? Or if you want to turn GPS on when leaving home, it is not going to trigger until you are out of WiFi range.

If you don't have Wifi, then your only other option is to use time of day, but that is less reliable then location.

GPS is a pretty low battery drain - i think you would be better off leaving it on and writing rules around location.

* Search box is your friend * I don't respond to PM if question belongs in forum

Replies(7)
Options

9 Posts

11-13-2011

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

• Message 2 of 8

2011-11-15, 13:01 PM

If you want to turn off cellular data; i'm assuming you have wifi? If so use the wifi trigger and then set GPS to of along with cellular data

Answer
Options

28352 Posts