Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

Motorola Community

Older Devices ArchiveSMARTACTIONS™
All Forum Topics
Options

12 Posts

07-25-2012

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎07-25-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 1 of 21

Unable to Set Location to Enable Rule

2012-07-25, 3:07 AM

I am trying to use the location trigger to create a smart action rule for when I am home. When I try to activate it, it takes me to a locations page and just offers me two locations, home and work. When I select "home" it correctly brings up my home location.  I select "Done" but it just takes me back to the locations page over and over again.  So basically, I can never activate the rule because I can't select a location. Can you offer me any advice?  Thank you. 

Reply
Options

105 Posts

06-25-2012

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 105
  • Registered: ‎06-25-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 2 of 21

Re: Unable to Set Location to Enable Rule

2012-07-25, 5:38 AM

before ICS locatino depended on wifi - have you tried with wifi on?

Reply
Options

15438 Posts

02-04-2016

United States of America

260 Signins

3971 Page Views

  • Posts: 15438
  • Registered: ‎02-04-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 3971
  • Message 3 of 21

Re: Unable to Set Location to Enable Rule

2012-07-25, 6:43 AM

Moving your post to the Smart Actions community so that you can get the help you need.

I am not a Motorola/Lenovo Employee. I am just a volunteer who happens to be a Moderator. All comments are my own and are not necessarily Motorola/Lenovo's position.

Reply
Options

12 Posts

07-25-2012

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎07-25-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 4 of 21

Re: Unable to Set Location to Enable Rule

2012-07-25, 12:22 PM

"before ICS locatino depended on wifi - have you tried with wifi on?"


 


Yes, I have done this with wifi on it but ti still does not any advice would be appreciated.

Reply
Options

140 Posts

02-15-2012

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 140
  • Registered: ‎02-15-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 5 of 21

Re: Unable to Set Location to Enable Rule

2012-07-25, 19:07 PM

Trying to understand more fully:


"I select "Done" but it just takes me back to the locations page over and over again. " So you never leave the screen with the map with the "change location" button?


After pressing "Done" does the address show up in the Location Details section?


Try creating a blank rule then try editing a sample. Does one work vs the other? I've seen one issue where it didnt work for samples, just wondering if it could be the same defect. 

Reply
Options

12 Posts

07-25-2012

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎07-25-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 6 of 21

Re: Unable to Set Location to Enable Rule

2012-07-25, 20:08 PM

Hi SmartActions Expert - thanks for getting back to me. 


When I select "DONE" on the page with my Home and the map it takes me back to the page "Places Important You" that lists my home and my work with check boxes. If I check a box it takes me to the mappage again.  If I slect "Done" I go back to the "Places Important to You page.


The exact same thing happens if I start with a ablank rule and for trigger, select "Location." It takes me to the saem screen with the same choice of options and the saem loop.


It seems that I can't use lcoation as a trigger becuase I cannot set a location.  Please advise.  Thanks.

Reply
Options

4 Posts

08-02-2012

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎08-02-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 7 of 21

Re: Unable to Set Location to Enable Rule

2012-08-02, 16:24 PM

I have a similar issue, but when I choose my location, I am taken back to the trigger config screen and the location trigger doesnt have the location in it.  Almost like selection persistance is broken.  Seems to affect Tasks as well.

Reply
Options

12 Posts

07-25-2012

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎07-25-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 8 of 21

Re: Unable to Set Location to Enable Rule

2012-08-02, 16:53 PM

Still not fixed.

Reply
Options

28352 Posts

02-02-2016

United States of America

5841 Signins

132765 Page Views

  • Posts: 28352
  • Registered: ‎02-02-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 132765
  • Message 9 of 21

Re: Unable to Set Location to Enable Rule

2012-08-03, 13:50 PM

@jim_s


I think i understand your problem. It got me at first.


When on the locations page - do NOT tap the name of the location, but the little box to the right - it looks grayed out. When you tap it, it will get a green check mark, and then you see "done" turn on at the top of the page and you click that.


 


Let me know if that works for you, I can provide a screen shot if necessary.


* Search box is your friend * I don't respond to PM if question belongs in forum
Reply
Options

4 Posts

08-02-2012

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎08-02-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 10 of 21

Re: Unable to Set Location to Enable Rule

2012-08-03, 15:14 PM

My issue comes after your suggestion, after checking the box to select the location, that choice does not follow back to the trigger section.  I know the pictures dont really show it.


 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms