Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

Motorola Community

Older Devices ArchiveSMARTACTIONS™
All Forum Topics
Options

7 Posts

10-16-2014

United States

1 Signins

44 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎10-16-2014
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 44
  • Message 1 of 9

Work Action Won't Activate

2014-10-16, 21:14 PM

I have the work action set up to put my phone on vibrate. I have it set on 2 triggers...During a set 'work' time frame and my work locations. I work on a rather large campus so there isn't really an 'address' for where I actually am, so I have 2 set that are on either side of the campus. This has worked for a long time with no issues, until recently.



It says it's 'ready' but won't activate. During my set working time, I'll go in like I'm wanting to add a new location and one of my set work addresses always shows up on the map, so I know both the triggers are being met. Why won't it work?!



The really odd part is that I have another action for home that's also based on a time frame and the location of my home. It will start when I'm at work! Which is SEVEN miles away!! Don't understand why I can get one to work that shouldn't and not the one that should work.

Reply
Options

28352 Posts

02-02-2016

United States of America

5841 Signins

132765 Page Views

  • Posts: 28352
  • Registered: ‎02-02-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 132765
  • Message 2 of 9

Re: Work Action Won't Activate

2014-10-20, 11:25 AM

Have you changed your location settings - the GPS sensitivity settings? If not, you could try clearing the cache for smart actions, and if all else fails clear data for it and reconfigure. 


* Search box is your friend * I don't respond to PM if question belongs in forum
Reply
Options

7 Posts

10-16-2014

United States

1 Signins

44 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎10-16-2014
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 44
  • Message 3 of 9

Re: Work Action Won't Activate

2014-10-20, 11:37 AM
Thanks for the feedback AlphaDog! I'm not seeing anything about GPS sensitivity!? Sounds like that would fix it. I clear the cache on all my apps regularly. I was hoping to not have to clear it all, but not sure I'll have a choice.
Reply
Options

28352 Posts

02-02-2016

United States of America

5841 Signins

132765 Page Views

  • Posts: 28352
  • Registered: ‎02-02-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 132765
  • Message 4 of 9

Re: Work Action Won't Activate

2014-10-20, 11:41 AM

Does your phone have location settings or location services? It should have something like that under settings. There should be some setting that tells the phone to use GPS, GPS + cell and GPS, wifi and cell - or some combinations like that. 


* Search box is your friend * I don't respond to PM if question belongs in forum
Reply
Options

7 Posts

10-16-2014

United States

1 Signins

44 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎10-16-2014
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 44
  • Message 5 of 9

Re: Work Action Won't Activate

2014-10-20, 11:56 AM
Oh, I found it! Only says 'Mode' at the bottom of everything. Love how they make things so clear and easy to find! Ugh. Anyway, it's set to 'High accuracy', says it uses GPS, Wi-Fi, and network. Well, so much for that being an easy fix! Sigh...
Reply
Options

28352 Posts

02-02-2016

United States of America

5841 Signins

132765 Page Views

  • Posts: 28352
  • Registered: ‎02-02-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 132765
  • Message 6 of 9

Re: Work Action Won't Activate

2014-10-20, 12:10 PM

Try going into settings->apps->all apps-> smart actions and clearing cache if it is available. If that doesn't fix it, try clearing data (same place) but you will have to set it back up if you clear data. 


* Search box is your friend * I don't respond to PM if question belongs in forum
Reply
Options

7 Posts

10-16-2014

United States

1 Signins

44 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎10-16-2014
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 44
  • Message 7 of 9

Re: Work Action Won't Activate

2014-10-20, 12:19 PM
I clear the cache often, so I guess clearing the data is next. Hopefully I'll have time later to set it all back up. Thanks for the help! Hope that does the trick.
Reply
Options

28352 Posts

02-02-2016

United States of America

5841 Signins

132765 Page Views

  • Posts: 28352
  • Registered: ‎02-02-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 132765
  • Message 8 of 9

Re: Work Action Won't Activate

2014-10-20, 12:22 PM

Good luck - and remember we are talking about doing this for the app - not the phone! I don't want you to lose all data. 


* Search box is your friend * I don't respond to PM if question belongs in forum
Reply
Options

7 Posts

10-16-2014

United States

1 Signins

44 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎10-16-2014
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 44
  • Message 9 of 9

Re: Work Action Won't Activate

2014-10-20, 12:25 PM
No doubt! That would totally suck!
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms