Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Welcome to the Lenovo Community

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.
Shape the Future of PCs

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team
Super PM Chat

The Future of Windows Tablets

Join the conversation and share your feedback with the Lenovo Product team
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-19-2011
Location: England
0 Kudos

Remove all of Norton

I have uninstalled the Norton that came preloaded on my T420 but there is still a Symantec folder in my Program Files and who knows what else left behind. Does anyone know how to get rid of all of it and what the remenants might be doing? Thanks.

Posts: 3,841
Topics: 135
Kudos: 278
Solutions: 185
Registered: ‎01-05-2008
Location: Münster, Germany GMT +1

Re: Remove all of Norton

Hello Adam73,


just visit Symantec´s website or search Google for Norton Removal tool.


This tool delete everything from the preinstalled software.

@LenovoForums on Twitter!
Try the forum search, before first posting: Forum Search Option
Please insert your type, model (not S/N) number and used OS in your posts.
I´m a volunteer here using New X1 Carbon, ThinkPad Yoga, Yoga 11s, Yoga 13, T430s,T510, X220t, IdeaCentre B540.
TIP: If your computer runs satisfactorily now, it may not be necessary to update the system.

English English Community      Deutsche Deutsche Community      Español Comunidad en Español

Posts: 1,130
Registered: ‎05-01-2010
Location: USA

Re: Remove all of Norton

Hi Adam73,

This might save you a search:

Latest version: Operating Systems: Windows 7, Vista, XP for 2010 products:

ThinkPad: T530 / X1 Gen 2 / Helix - Yoga: Tablet 2 Pro (Win) / Yoga 3 Pro

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please click the "Accept As Solution" button.

Lenovo Advocate ~ I am not employed by Lenovo or Microsoft. I am a volunteer.

Microsoft MVP - Consumer Security


Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-19-2011
Location: England
0 Kudos

Re: Remove all of Norton

Thanks for that.

I have run the removal tools but in my Program Files x86 there is still a Symantec folder and in that there's a folder called VIP access client which suggests to me that the tool doesn't remove everything. It also opens an Internet Explorer window on restart to show how to reinstall Norton. I'm worried that there are things left by Norton that will either slow the machine or something. Any idea if that's the case and any ideas how to get rid of it all?


Microsoft MVP
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎11-03-2011
Location: Upstate, NY

Re: Remove all of Norton

Hi, Adam73.


Look for an uninstaller for "VIP Access" in Control Panel/Programs/Uninstall.  


If there is no uninstaller for VIP Access or there are still remnants after a restart, try AppRemover, using the instructions shown at "2. How to Use AppRemover to Clean Up a Failed Uninstall".

Microsoft MVP, Consumer Security
Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!
Security Information and Malware Removal @LandzDown Forum