Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team

Community Spotlight

Visit the Community Blog

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
What's DOS?
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-11-2012
Location: Netherlands
0 Kudos

computersecurity fails

Hello, I got a Thinkpad Egde 520 and installed F-secure internet security (after I romoved Norton). Unfortunately it fails to work. It says Computer security not started, restart your computer to try again. I tried many times, but no luck. I even reinstalled the program. Who can help?

Guru
Posts: 8,730
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Vancouver
0 Kudos

Re: computersecurity fails

You may want to try the F-Secure forums. Also check the event log for detailed errors.
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1080/688/1376, 21GB RAM, 500GB + 750GB HDD, FHD screen & MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Y3P: 5Y70, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, QHD+ screen
Posts: 1,064
Registered: ‎05-01-2010
Location: USA

Re: computersecurity fails

Just to add to the suggestion by Colonel ONeill, how did you remove Norton? Is there any chance there could be remnants of it left that are causing a problem? It is recommended to run Norton Removal Tool (NRT)after using your operating system's Remove Programs feature.


ThinkPad: T530 / X1 Gen 2 / Helix - Yoga: Tablet 2 Pro (Win) / Yoga 3 Pro

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please click the "Accept As Solution" button.

Lenovo Advocate ~ I am not employed by Lenovo or Microsoft. I am a volunteer.

Microsoft MVP - Consumer Security

SpywareHammer

What's DOS?
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-11-2012
Location: Netherlands
0 Kudos

Re: computersecurity fails

I just started up again and surprise! For the first time F-secure works fine. For safety I used Norton removal tool and after restart F-secure did start again.I hope the probl;em is solved. If not, I'll be back on this forum.

Thanks for the response.

What's DOS?
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-11-2012
Location: Netherlands
0 Kudos

Re: computersecurity fails

What do you want me to put for input?
Posts: 1,064
Registered: ‎05-01-2010
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: computersecurity fails

I'm glad that you have resolved the issue. Please feel free to post back at Lenovo Community if you have anything else we can help with.

I'm not sure what you mean by this question, though:


vweskin wrote:
What do you want me to put for input?




ThinkPad: T530 / X1 Gen 2 / Helix - Yoga: Tablet 2 Pro (Win) / Yoga 3 Pro

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please click the "Accept As Solution" button.

Lenovo Advocate ~ I am not employed by Lenovo or Microsoft. I am a volunteer.

Microsoft MVP - Consumer Security

SpywareHammer

Posts: 3,364
Topics: 26
Kudos: 413
Solutions: 259
Registered: ‎01-21-2010
Location: Etters, PA
0 Kudos

Re: computersecurity fails

Hi vweskin and welcome,

 

If a member has helped you solve your problem, you can click on the "Accept As Solution" button in the members post that helped you.

 

Marking posts as solutions helps members to find the actual post that was the solution.

 

Thanks,

 

Dave 

_______________________________________________________
T430u, x301, x200T, x61T, x61, x32, x41T, x40, U160, ThinkPad Tablet 1838-22R, Z500 touch, Yoga Tab 2 Windows 8.1, Yoga Tablet 3 Pro
Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!
If someone helped you today, pay it forward. Help Someone Else!
English English Community   Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество
Highlighted
What's DOS?
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-11-2012
Location: Netherlands
0 Kudos

Re: computersecurity fails

Unfortunately the problem has not been solved. Many times it workes correct, but justy now, after windows update it failed again. After restarting 3 times it is ok for now.

Broadband 3G
Posts: 999
Registered: ‎01-06-2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
0 Kudos

Re: computersecurity fails

Try using a different anti-virus solution.