cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
miperelman
SCSI Port
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎05-09-2008
Location: cal
Views: 2,352
Message 1 of 11

virus script in rrbackups

How can I access the files to remove a bad script?

 

Thanks.

 

Michael

miperelman
SCSI Port
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎05-09-2008
Location: cal
Views: 2,350
Message 2 of 11

Re: virus script in rrbackups

Alternatively, can I erase the directory & start a new backup?

Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 3,916
Registered: ‎01-05-2008
Location: DE
Views: 2,342
Message 3 of 11

Re: virus script in rrbackups

Hello miperelman,

please tell us your model, not S/N, number and used OS and antivir solution you use.

Some programs are known to create a false positive, scannin R&R files.

Please check the forums search also, you´ll find many hints and tips.

kind regards
Andreas

_________________________________________________________
Follow
@LenovoForums on Twitter!
Try the forum search, before first posting: Forum Search Option
Please insert your type, model (not S/N) number and used OS in your posts.
I´m a volunteer here using ThinkPad X1 Carbon 5th Gen. Silver Edition, ThinkPad 13, Yoga 900, ThinkPad T430s, IdeaCentre B540.
TIP: If your computer runs satisfactorily now, it may not be necessary to update the system.

English English Community      Deutsche Deutsche Community      Español Comunidad en Español

miperelman
SCSI Port
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎05-09-2008
Location: cal
Views: 2,309
Message 4 of 11

Re: virus script in rrbackups

My computer is an X61T, running XP.  I am not getting a false positive.  Somehow, after bootup the virus sets a proxy server with a number of corporate names..

 

 

Former Employee
Posts: 1,591
Registered: ‎07-17-2009
Location: Slovakia
Views: 2,269
Message 5 of 11

Re: virus script in rrbackups

Hi,
yes, it is possible to remote certain files directly from the RnR PDA (Pre Desktop Area). This can be done using the ADM tool from RnR, which is called rrutil.exe.

You can read more about this tool in the Deployment guide of Rescue and Recovery:
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?lndocid=MIGR-73446

Please let me know, if you have any other questions.

Cheers

miperelman
SCSI Port
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎05-09-2008
Location: cal
Views: 2,257
Message 6 of 11

Re: virus script in rrbackups

I downloaded the file.  When I try to run it, I see a little cmd box for a second & then it disappears.  Can I just erase the rrbackup director & start a new recovery file?

Former Employee
Posts: 1,591
Registered: ‎07-17-2009
Location: Slovakia
Views: 2,218
Message 7 of 11

Re: virus script in rrbackups

Hi,
in case you want to delete the RRBackups folder, then I would more advice you to do it from RnR GUI. Go to Options/Advanced and from the menu select the option to Delete the RnR backups.
Once all RnR backups are deleted, please don't delete the RRBackups folder manually, but for this task you need to uninstall RnR applicaiton.

Once you want to have this folder back, then you need to install the RnR application back.
The point is, that once you delete the RRBackups folder manually, then you can experience unexpected behaviour from RnR application.

NOTE: please note, that the tool "RRUTIL" cannot be started just like that, but you need to run it from command line with certain parameters.

However, please let me know, if the uninstall will work for you.

Cheers

miperelman
SCSI Port
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎05-09-2008
Location: cal
Views: 2,213
Message 8 of 11

Re: virus script in rrbackups

Thank you very much.  One more question.  If I have a nasty script in the folder & erase the previous backups, how can I tell if the script is gone?  If that will work, it would be easy.

 

Alternatively, if I erase the entire folder, will update get RnR to work again?

Former Employee
Posts: 1,591
Registered: ‎07-17-2009
Location: Slovakia
Views: 2,167
Message 9 of 11

Re: virus script in rrbackups

Hi,
in case you mean, that you have this script in the backup forlder, or better say in the RnR PDA, then using this tool "RRUTIL" you can also list, what all is in the RnR PDA.

However, after you delete the RnR backup, that all, that was inside is also deleted.

Cheers

miperelman
SCSI Port
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎05-09-2008
Location: cal
Views: 2,148
Message 10 of 11

Re: virus script in rrbackups

Can I get at this directory in the safe mode?  I can't figure out how to do rrutil.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors