English Community

Datacenter SystemsSystem x - X6, M5, M4
All Forum Topics
Options

143 Posts

11-17-2016

US

160 Signins

1316 Page Views

  • Posts: 143
  • Registered: ‎11-17-2016
  • Location: US
  • Views: 1316
  • Message 1 of 3

Using the IMM2 in an x3550 M4 to mount an ISO on the network

2020-03-25, 21:50 PM

Hello everybody. When I attempt to mount an ISO from a network share using the Java based remote console feature in an x3550 M4, I'm presented with the following window.

 

Unfortunately, no matter what I try, I'm never actually taken to the share where the ISO is. I've tried using the share's UNC path, once with its DNS name and once with its IP address, to no avail.

 

I'm sure there's something really simple I'm missing, but I just can't come up with it.

 

In the event it matters, the server and share are on the same subnet. Though, the machine I'm using to access the IMM, which is my laptop, is not.

 

Thanks!

Reply
Options

143 Posts

11-17-2016

US

160 Signins

1316 Page Views

  • Posts: 143
  • Registered: ‎11-17-2016
  • Location: US
  • Views: 1316
  • Message 2 of 3

Re:Using the IMM2 in an x3550 M4 to mount an ISO on the network

2020-03-26, 20:55 PM

After consulting the Integrated Management Module II User's Guide, which is located at the following link, what I'm interested in doing doesn't appear to be possible.

 

https://www.ibm.com/support/pages/integrated-management-module-ii-users-guide-ibm-bladecenter-system-x-and-lenovo-x86-server

 

The "Remote disk" section, which starts on page 131, makes no mention of it at all. Unfortunately, I may be out of luck.

 

Can somebody from Lenovo please confirm or deny this?

 

Thanks!

Reply
Options

139 Posts

04-23-2015

JP

681 Signins

5815 Page Views

  • Posts: 139
  • Registered: ‎04-23-2015
  • Location: JP
  • Views: 5815
  • Message 3 of 3

Re:Using the IMM2 in an x3550 M4 to mount an ISO on the network

2020-03-31, 3:28 AM

Hello, JohnTechGuy.

 

Remote media mount function is mounting ISO from your client to IMM2. So mapped "network" folder is same as your laptop "network" output from windows explorer.

So you wrote below, your laptop is different subnet from Shared server.  It may not appeared on "netwoek" output.

 

>In the event it matters, the server and share are on the same subnet. Though, the machine I'm using to access the IMM, which is my laptop, is not.

 

Could you please check shared folder is able to see from your laptop like \\shared\shared_folder or any other way?

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save