cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Thomas_B
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-12-2019
Location: US
Views: 150
Message 1 of 6

X3650 M4 - IMM2 - SNMP V3 traps not working

I have several X3650 M4 systems.  Have upgraded the IMM2 Firmware to version 7.2  Cannot get the IMM2 to send an SMNP V3 trap.    What am I missing?  Am logging in/logging out to generate traps.  Can see V1 traps but no V3.

 

Have done the following config:

 

IBM X3650 M4
IMM2 Firmware Version 7.2

Have only 1 default user.

Is admin'd for SNMPV3
Auth Protocol -MD5
Priv Protocol - AES
Access Type - SET (Have also tried GET - only 2 options)
IP Address for traps - Is set.

 

Network Settings

SNMP tab
SNMPV1 Agent - is NOT checked
SNMPV3 Agent - Is checked
SNMP Traps - Is checked
Contact Person is set
Contact Location is set
My Default User ID shows correctly under the local users tab & shows SNMPV3 configuration.
Communities tab - not used for SNMPV3
Traps tab - All are selected

 

 

Lenovo Employee Rick_Lee
Lenovo Employee
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎04-12-2018
Location: CN
Views: 123
Message 2 of 6

Re: X3650 M4 - IMM2 - SNMP V3 traps not working

Have you configured IP address or host name for SNMPv3 trap ?

Specify the trap destination for the user. This can be an IP address or hostname. Using traps, SNMP agent notifies the management station about events, like CPU temperature crossing the limit, etc.
Navigate to SNMP->Users->SNMPV3 settings->Configure : Input IP address or host name.
Thomas_B
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-12-2019
Location: US
Views: 97
Message 3 of 6

Re: X3650 M4 - IMM2 - SNMP V3 traps not working

Hi Rick,

 

Yes - the IP address is setup correctly as you specified.  That's what I meant by (On the Network/SNMP setup page) "My Default User ID shows correctly under the local users tab & shows SNMPV3 configuration."  The IP address is administered correctly there.  And - it is sending unencrypted V1 traps - not V3 as I am expecting.

 

 

cdjny
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-21-2019
Location: US
Views: 91
Message 4 of 6

Re: X3650 M4 - IMM2 - SNMP V3 traps not working

I had a similar issue with an x3550-M4, and was pointed to this knowledgebase article that describes the situation:

 

https://datacentersupport.lenovo.com/us/en/products/servers/system-x/system-x3100-m5/5457/solutions/...

 

I was told it would not be fixed in my x3550-M4.

Highlighted
Thomas_B
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-12-2019
Location: US
Views: 81
Message 5 of 6

Re: X3650 M4 - IMM2 - SNMP V3 traps not working

Thanks CDJNY.  I had seen that posting.  We were initially on a very early firmware version and have since upgraded to IMM2 firmware version 7.2  The workaround in the posting says to upgrade higher than version 3.5 and we have done that but still have the problem. 

Thomas_B
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-12-2019
Location: US
Views: 7
Message 6 of 6

Re: X3650 M4 - IMM2 - SNMP V3 traps not working

IBM support - Should V3 traps work from this IMM2?  The tech bulletin referenced earlier says they should on the newer firmware.  Thanks

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

ALERT

Windows 2016 Server November Update
Issue on System x M5 and X6
Go to details
.

Top Kudoed Authors