Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Datacenter SystemsSystem x - X6, M5, M4
All Forum Topics
Options

46 Posts

11-15-2016

Jordan

55 Signins

380 Page Views

  • Posts: 46
  • Registered: ‎11-15-2016
  • Location: Jordan
  • Views: 380
  • Message 1 of 4

using x3400 processor on noraml computers? is it possible?

2021-02-17, 14:27 PM

hi greetings all

question please can i use this server x3400 processors on normal computers? or which are the computers or cheap motherboards that can work with this server processor? thank you guys for any response

Reply
Answer
Options

583 Posts

07-17-2018

United States of America

915 Signins

7952 Page Views

  • Posts: 583
  • Registered: ‎07-17-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 7952

Re:using x3400 processor on noraml computers? is it possible?

2021-02-17, 17:16 PM

No problem at all Cezar1, glad I could help.

 

If everything is good, please consider marking one of these post as the resolution so it may help someone else out in the future.

Reply

Replies(3)
Options

583 Posts

07-17-2018

United States of America

915 Signins

7952 Page Views

  • Posts: 583
  • Registered: ‎07-17-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 7952
  • Message 2 of 4

Re:using x3400 processor on noraml computers? is it possible?

2021-02-17, 16:34 PM

Hello cezar1,

 

I'm not sure exactly what processor you have installed. I found a list of possibilities for that server, which include:

 

https://www.ibm.com/support/pages/overview-ibm-system-x3400-type-7973-7974-7975-7976

 

2.0 GHz/1333 MHz, Intel(r) Xeon E5405 processor

2.33 GHz/1333 MHz Intel E5410 processor

2.50 GHz/1333 MHz Intel E5420,

2.6 GHz/1333 MHz Intel E5430 processor

 

I assume they all fit the same socket type. But my research was only done for the the E5405.

 

Looking at Intel's website I found this processor can fit in a LGA771. If you can find a motherboard with that socket then you should be able to build a standard desktop:

 

https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us/en/ark/products/33079/intel-xeon-processor-e5405-12m-cache-2-00-ghz-1333-mhz-fsb.html

 

This information does come with some caveats though. That processor according to the Intel's website was discontinued 10 years ago. So even though you may find a motherboard for this to fit in you will still need to find other compatible parts for it to work with along with the drivers. Unfortunately there are too many moving parts here to definitively say it will work but in theory you should be able to use the processor in a compatible motherboard.

 

Hope this helps! Please let me know if you have any questions or concerns.

Reply
Options

46 Posts

11-15-2016

Jordan

55 Signins

380 Page Views

  • Posts: 46
  • Registered: ‎11-15-2016
  • Location: Jordan
  • Views: 380
  • Message 3 of 4

Re:using x3400 processor on noraml computers? is it possible?

2021-02-17, 17:08 PM
oh thank you so much man, i just figure it out my self too and as you said LGA 771 will work big thank you, appreciate your time brother
Reply
Answer
Options

583 Posts

07-17-2018

United States of America

915 Signins

7952 Page Views

  • Posts: 583
  • Registered: ‎07-17-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 7952
  • Message 4 of 4

Re:using x3400 processor on noraml computers? is it possible?

2021-02-17, 17:16 PM

No problem at all Cezar1, glad I could help.

 

If everything is good, please consider marking one of these post as the resolution so it may help someone else out in the future.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms