Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Datacenter SystemsSystem x - X6, M5, M4
All Forum Topics
Options

46 Posts

11-15-2016

Jordan

55 Signins

380 Page Views

  • Posts: 46
  • Registered: ‎11-15-2016
  • Location: Jordan
  • Views: 380
  • Message 1 of 9

x3400 7976 not detected monitors

2020-06-12, 6:29 AM

hi greetings 

my server x3400 7976 not able to detect monitors, i tested 2 monitors, it boots fine without any beep sound or errors, no LED error lights

no video card i use the built in

i unplugged all RAM and re plugged them, removed CPU and re plugged them, removed all cards in the motherboard and plugged them again, nothing helped...

 

the 2 monitors working fine on other computers

is there something i can do to fix this issue?

 

Reply
Options

46 Posts

09-11-2015

China

61 Signins

553 Page Views

  • Posts: 46
  • Registered: ‎09-11-2015
  • Location: China
  • Views: 553
  • Message 2 of 9

Re:x3400 7976 not detected monitors

2020-06-12, 8:00 AM

Hi sir,

 

First you need to make sure the system working fine escept for the monitor. Can the IP of BMC be ping through? And the OS IP can be ping through or not?

If the OS IP can't be ping through, the OS is not on.

If the BMC IP can't be ping through, the systemboard failed.

 

Did the system working fine? If yes, you can try to check the VGA port of the system to see if there is anything dusty in it.

 

If you have two this kind of system, you can try swap the systemboard to check if problem follow the systemboard or not.

 

Reply
Options

46 Posts

11-15-2016

Jordan

55 Signins

380 Page Views

  • Posts: 46
  • Registered: ‎11-15-2016
  • Location: Jordan
  • Views: 380
  • Message 3 of 9

Re:x3400 7976 not detected monitors

2020-06-12, 9:11 AM

the server working fine, boot fine no beep or LED errors.but im not able to view the server on monitors, monitors say no signal

i will try to use hair dryer 

thank you a lot for trying to help

Reply
Options

618 Posts

07-17-2018

United States of America

943 Signins

8207 Page Views

  • Posts: 618
  • Registered: ‎07-17-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 8207
  • Message 4 of 9

Re:x3400 7976 not detected monitors

2020-06-12, 13:01 PM

cezar1,

 

We are curious if you can get into the IMM and use the remote console. The server could be experiencing issues even though there arent any beep codes during bootup.

Reply
Options

46 Posts

11-15-2016

Jordan

55 Signins

380 Page Views

  • Posts: 46
  • Registered: ‎11-15-2016
  • Location: Jordan
  • Views: 380
  • Message 5 of 9

Re:x3400 7976 not detected monitors

2020-06-12, 21:35 PM
hi Sir, i'm not sure how i can get into IMM and using the remote console.. can you please tell me how it is done? thank you
Reply
Options

46 Posts

09-11-2015

China

61 Signins

553 Page Views

  • Posts: 46
  • Registered: ‎09-11-2015
  • Location: China
  • Views: 553
  • Message 6 of 9

Re:x3400 7976 not detected monitors

2020-06-15, 3:02 AM

Hi sir,

 

The system 7976 is old age system, you will need option card to active the remote function. Most of customer don't have this option card when they purchased the system.

Reply
Options

46 Posts

11-15-2016

Jordan

55 Signins

380 Page Views

  • Posts: 46
  • Registered: ‎11-15-2016
  • Location: Jordan
  • Views: 380
  • Message 7 of 9

Re:x3400 7976 not detected monitors

2020-06-15, 16:22 PM
@zhangww14 thank you, im still unable to let monitor see my server :( bummer , and yes its old but mine look like new, i had it about 8 years ago and never used it , i wonder how strong its processor.. can it compete with intel I7 or I9? because the server is too loud when it's working, seems strong but i would like to find out by my self
Reply
Options

46 Posts

09-11-2015

China

61 Signins

553 Page Views

  • Posts: 46
  • Registered: ‎09-11-2015
  • Location: China
  • Views: 553
  • Message 8 of 9

Re:x3400 7976 not detected monitors

2020-06-18, 1:54 AM

Hi sir,

 

The i7 and i9 CPU is not on support list of 7976, but because technically the performance is depond on the weakest part, so the chip on systemboard  will not support the best performance of i7 or i9 processor, it may be better, but have a bottleneck.

One thing you can do is to check the DIMM you installed on the system, the system support DDR2, DDR4, you can strong the memory if the installed of DIMM is DDR2, DDR 4 have much better performance than DDR2.

 

Reply
Options

46 Posts

11-15-2016

Jordan

55 Signins

380 Page Views

  • Posts: 46
  • Registered: ‎11-15-2016
  • Location: Jordan
  • Views: 380
  • Message 9 of 9

Re:x3400 7976 not detected monitors

2020-06-19, 4:39 AM
thank you, when i read my server problems guide, i found out that my server is working in standby mode that's why it's not detected by monitor, there is no green power LED when it's working which means it's not normal according to the server manual, it's boots fine but stays in standby more, i tried to replug compoments one by one but nothing worked, how i can fix this issue?
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms

Most Liked Authors

(Last 7 days)

View All