English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

2 Posts

04-02-2015

United States

3 Signins

26 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎04-02-2015
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 26
  • Message 1 of 11

Upgrading RAM on T410 is issuing Blue screen errors

2015-04-02, 18:44 PM

Hello Guys,

 

I am using lenovo T410 with Windows 7 64 bit OS. One RAM slot is installed with 2GB RAM from hynix. I tried to upgrade it by installing another 4GB RAM from PNY (DDR3 PC3 - 10666) in the rare slot. After few minutes of booting laptop issued blue screen error. I tried all the combinations to corner the problem and I suspected defective stick. So I've returned the stick now. 

 

Can anyone here please share the exact specifications for the DDR that I should be installing in T410?

 

(It would be great help if someone could point to the exact product online :) )

Reply
Options

4345 Posts

07-24-2013

CH

13000 Signins

377298 Page Views

  • Posts: 4345
  • Registered: ‎07-24-2013
  • Location: CH
  • Views: 377298
  • Message 2 of 11

Re: Upgrading RAM on T410 is issuing Blue screen errors

2015-04-02, 20:03 PM

Welcome to the forum!

 

Any DDR3-8500 or DDR3-10600 module will do. But stay away from no name brands, I personally have very good experience with these brands:

 

  • Samsung
  • Elpida
  • Hynix
  • Crucial

Happy hunting!  :smileywink:

 


Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

2 Posts

05-05-2015

Bermuda

2 Signins

14 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎05-05-2015
  • Location: Bermuda
  • Views: 14
  • Message 3 of 11

Re: Upgrading RAM on T410 is issuing Blue screen errors

2015-05-05, 14:46 PM

Not all DDR3 memory modules are actually compatible with the T410.

 

The reason for the error is likely because you are using High Density memory (e.g. a 4GB module with 8 chips - 4 chips on either side).

 

The Intel i5 1st Generation CPU as contained in the T410 only supports Low Density memory (e.g. a 4GB module with 16 chips - 8 chips on either side).

 

Have a look at the RAM module itself - if it looks like it's a high density module then that's the problem!

 

Cheers

Riad

Reply
Options

12 Posts

05-08-2015

Canada

30 Signins

144 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎05-08-2015
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 144
  • Message 4 of 11

Re: Upgrading RAM on T410 is issuing Blue screen errors

2015-05-08, 6:45 AM

Can I install 2x8Gb in the laptop if I'll find low density RAM?

And where can I get specification about what kind memory ( voltage, MHz, etc.)  I can use in my laptop? 

Thank you. 

Reply
Options

3019 Posts

03-15-2014

Bangalore

1126 Signins

57257 Page Views

  • Posts: 3019
  • Registered: ‎03-15-2014
  • Location: Bangalore
  • Views: 57257
  • Message 5 of 11

Re: Upgrading RAM on T410 is issuing Blue screen errors

2015-05-08, 11:24 AM

Hi Tantogata,

 

Welcome to Lenovo Community!

 

The maximum memory supported on your model is 8 GB, so you can use 2 x 4 GB.

 

You can look out for DDR3-1333 SDRAM SO-DIMM (PC3-10600) card, please click the below link to get the exact part number.

 

http://support.lenovo.com/us/en/products/laptops-and-netbooks/thinkpad-t-series-laptops/thinkpad-t410/documents/PD009631#6

 

Hope this helps.

 

Best regards,

Hemanth Kumar



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

Reply
Options

12 Posts

05-08-2015

Canada

30 Signins

144 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎05-08-2015
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 144
  • Message 6 of 11

Re: Upgrading RAM on T410 is issuing Blue screen errors

2015-05-08, 11:58 AM
Hi Hemanth,
Thank you very much.
Reply
Options

12 Posts

05-08-2015

Canada

30 Signins

144 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎05-08-2015
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 144
  • Message 7 of 11

Re: Upgrading RAM on T410 is issuing Blue screen errors

2015-05-08, 12:34 PM
On Lenovo support says I can use both type of memory - PC3-8500 DDR3-1066 or PC3-10600 DDR3-1333 SODIMM for my laptop.
Will be my laptop faster if I install DDR3-1333 to compare with DDR-1066? Or DDR3-1333 will work at the same clock frequency as DDR3-1066 and no difference between them?
Thank you.
Reply
Options

4345 Posts

07-24-2013

CH

13000 Signins

377298 Page Views

  • Posts: 4345
  • Registered: ‎07-24-2013
  • Location: CH
  • Views: 377298
  • Message 8 of 11

Re: Upgrading RAM on T410 is issuing Blue screen errors

2015-05-08, 12:53 PM

wrote:
Will be my laptop faster if I install DDR3-1333 to compare with DDR-1066? Or DDR3-1333 will work at the same clock frequency as DDR3-1066 and no difference between them?

It will work at the same frequency as DDR3-1066


Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

12 Posts

05-08-2015

Canada

30 Signins

144 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎05-08-2015
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 144
  • Message 9 of 11

Re: Upgrading RAM on T410 is issuing Blue screen errors

2015-05-10, 12:59 PM
Can I use in my laptop DDR3 RAM with standard of voltage 1.35v?
Reply
Options

2 Posts

05-05-2015

Bermuda

2 Signins

14 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎05-05-2015
  • Location: Bermuda
  • Views: 14
  • Message 10 of 11

Re: Upgrading RAM on T410 is issuing Blue screen errors

2015-05-10, 13:04 PM
Yes - just make sure that it's low density memory (i.e. on each of the 4GB
modules it should have 16 chips, 8 on each side).


Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete