cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
labefana
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-24-2008
Location: usa
Views: 4,583
Message 1 of 8

A50p 8432-93U - NO VIDEO.

Hello, all.  I'm new here and I have a problem with a Thinkcentre A50p (8432-93U) that is driving me craaaazy.

FIrst, the power switch failed.  I replaced the switch and now, when I power up, I have absolutely NO VIDEO.
The monitor is working - I know because it's fine when connected to a M50 (8189). 

If anybody has a clue as to what is wrong (bad MoBo?  incorrect settings somewhere?  bad CPU?  whaaat?)
please help me out with some insights.

Here's all the info I have about the A50p:
P4 2.4G
128M RAM
No POV
No cards of any kind.
It was running Win XP Pro ... probably still is (but I can see anything)

If any more info might help with a solution, just ask and I'll try to provide.

Thanks very much for your consideration.


Message Edited by labefana on 01-24-2008 01:44 AM
_______ rick ______________________________________
Thinkcentre A50p (8432-93U) [dead!]
Thinkcentre M50 (8189-F6U)
Thinkcentre M50 (8189-32U)
Thinkpad T21 800MHz (2647-8AU)
Thinkpad T21¾ 900MHz (2647)
RealBlackStuff
Token Ring
Posts: 538
Registered: ‎11-24-2007
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Views: 4,561
Message 2 of 8

Re: A50p 8432-93U - NO VIDEO.

You replaced the powerswitch. --> no video.
Error in replacing the switch?
Did you try and reseat the graphics card? (unplug the PC's powercord first!).
Does the gfx card need an external powercable which might have come 'unstuck'?
Try another monitor?
labefana
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-24-2008
Location: usa
Views: 4,556
Message 3 of 8

Re: A50p 8432-93U - NO VIDEO.

There's no graphics card ... it's a DB9 on the backplane (built in graphics) same as on the M50.
The pwr switch was busted --- as if it was stuck -- so the machine would start up for about 10 or
15 seconds and then shutdown for a bit then come back up (lather, rinse, repeat).  The new pwr
switch fixed that problem.  I never actually saw the machine before the power switch became a
problem -- I'm trying to fix it for someone else.

Maybe the RAM is shot (or too small).  the A50p only has 128M ... I think 512 is standard.  I was
just wondering if anyone had seen this video problem and had an insight into what might be
happening.
_______ rick ______________________________________
Thinkcentre A50p (8432-93U) [dead!]
Thinkcentre M50 (8189-F6U)
Thinkcentre M50 (8189-32U)
Thinkpad T21 800MHz (2647-8AU)
Thinkpad T21¾ 900MHz (2647)
RealBlackStuff
Token Ring
Posts: 538
Registered: ‎11-24-2007
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Views: 4,553
Message 4 of 8

Re: A50p 8432-93U - NO VIDEO.

DB9 is a serial port. The VGA port is a DB15!
labefana
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-24-2008
Location: usa
Views: 4,548
Message 5 of 8

Re: A50p 8432-93U - NO VIDEO.

yeah.  whatever.  the blue trapezoidal plug thingy.
i guess you haven't seen the problem in your travels.
maybe somebody else has?  anyone?
_______ rick ______________________________________
Thinkcentre A50p (8432-93U) [dead!]
Thinkcentre M50 (8189-F6U)
Thinkcentre M50 (8189-32U)
Thinkpad T21 800MHz (2647-8AU)
Thinkpad T21¾ 900MHz (2647)
RealBlackStuff
Token Ring
Posts: 538
Registered: ‎11-24-2007
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Views: 4,524
Message 6 of 8

Re: A50p 8432-93U - NO VIDEO.

128MB RAM is hardly enough to run Windows 2000, let alone XP.
To run that decently, you need at least 512MB.
Upon booting, do you see anything at all on the screen?
Does it beep once at bootup to signal it passed the POST?
When booting, keep pressing F1 to see if you can get into the BIOS.
With a voltmeter, check if the little CMOS battery is still working (about 3.0 volt).
Are the drive(s) and fan(s) spinning up when booting?
Can you try and reseat the memory? Use a pencil eraser to clean the RAM contacts before putting it back. (unplug AC powercord before taking RAM out).
labefana
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-24-2008
Location: usa
Views: 4,512
Message 7 of 8

Re: A50p 8432-93U - NO VIDEO.

I figured that 128 was a little light for XP but I was also unable to get any signal to the monitor
booting from a live linux CD.  The monitor seems to know it's connected to something;
the LED blinks and there's no "missing signal, check cable" message until i disconnect it
from the A50p.

The only post beep sequence I heard at any time was long-short-short (i forget the
circumstances because I've been trying for a long time to get this going) and I couldn't
find any ref to tell me what that particular combo means.   I'm getting NO POST beeps
at all now.

I thought the mother board could be bad so I replaced it (73P0595 Rev 2.4) with the
exact same mobo with no positive effect.  Thinking the PSU might be sending bad
voltage (I didn't really think that but I was trying to do something that might help), I
bought a new one that matched the 230W one that was in there.  No help.  About the
only thing I didn't try to replace was the CPU but that's coming to the top of my list.

I put a cloned copy of the A50p's HDD into the M50 - I'm working on this for a friend
and the A50p's HDD has stuff that I can't afford to lose.  It booted but XP noticed it was
running on new hardware and deactivated everything.  I thought I could just use the old
HDD in the M50 until we got the data off but, apparently, Microsoft has other ideas.

I'll try taking the 512 from the M50 and sticking it in the A50p.  If you're interested, I'll post
back the results of my latest shot-in-the-dark.  Next step is a new CPU (I think 2.4G P4s
are running around $20 these days).  *sigh*

The M50 has a POV and the A50p does not.  I don't know if the A50p ever had one.  By
the time the PC came to me it had been through I-don't-know-how-many other hands.

The Geek Squad, at some point in time, diagnosed the MoBo as having some bad
capacitors (in response to the original problem of shutting down immediately; the problem
that the new $6 pwr switch fixed).  Then they said they couldn't find a replacement
MoBo (?) and gave the PC back without a resolution. 

Sorry for the long saga but I'm getting close to a nervous breakdown with this.






Message Edited by labefana on 01-26-2008 08:34 AM
_______ rick ______________________________________
Thinkcentre A50p (8432-93U) [dead!]
Thinkcentre M50 (8189-F6U)
Thinkcentre M50 (8189-32U)
Thinkpad T21 800MHz (2647-8AU)
Thinkpad T21¾ 900MHz (2647)
slacker999
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Location: USA
Views: 3,849
Message 8 of 8

Re: A50p 8432-93U - NO VIDEO.

I was wondering if you figured out the problem on this issue?  I have friend's a50p with the same problem that I'm trying to help troubleshoot.

Where did you find $6 switch for a50p?

The a50p I have will do a short power up test when I plug it in with a single beep.  Then when I press the power switch button, it won't do anything.  On couple of occassions it went through long-short-short beep which indicates video problem but it doesn't do that all the time.  At one time it booted up to BIOS couple of times then it stopped again the next day.

Thanks

[I'm guessing bad board or bad caps but I don't see any bulges on any of the caps.  In some cases they don't bulge or leak when it goes bad.  I had bad cap issue on an old Gateway that I fixed by replacing most of them but I was able to bulges on some of them.]


Message Edited by slacker999 on 04-08-2008 11:05 PM

Message Edited by slacker999 on 04-08-2008 11:05 PM

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors