cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
thomashouston1
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-11-2016
Location: US
Views: 163
Message 11 of 15

Re: Adding RAM problems to m52 8212

I'm thinking that the other computers that I have installed 4GB of RAM are only using 2.99GB of that RAM. 

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 3,486
Registered: ‎12-31-2011
Location: US
Views: 162
Message 12 of 15

Re: Adding RAM problems to m52 8212

Where are you seeing this, exactly ? 

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Kudos' button, if solved, the 'Accept as Solution'.
thomashouston1
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-11-2016
Location: US
Views: 158
Message 13 of 15

Re: Adding RAM problems to m52 8212

I clicked on control panel, and then system. Then the screen tells about processor, installed memory, system type etc... 

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 3,486
Registered: ‎12-31-2011
Location: US
Views: 154
Message 14 of 15

Re: Adding RAM problems to m52 8212

 

On that page (from your above post, next to 'System Type' , does it say '64-bit Operating System'  ?

 

Can you update two of the systems to the latest BIOS as a test ?     New BIOS should be something like ver. 46     6/1/2009.    Go to the Lenovo Support page, and enter the specific system information.    M52 and the model number,  a 4 digit number like 8166.     You may have different models.    Check that the update is correct for each one. 

 

Best to use the CD ISO method and burn a bootable CD.  

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Kudos' button, if solved, the 'Accept as Solution'.
thomashouston1
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-11-2016
Location: US
Views: 131
Message 15 of 15

Re: Adding RAM problems to m52 8212

yes it does say 64 bit and I will try the bios update

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors