Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkCentre DesktopsThinkCentre A, E, M, S Series
All Forum Topics
Options

9 Posts

09-28-2017

United States of America

7 Signins

63 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎09-28-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 63
  • Message 1 of 10

BIOS shows no Model number or Serial number

2017-10-06, 21:12 PM

M82 ThinkCentre - Type 3302.  Model number:  3302F2U

This machine was originally purchased with the Windows 7 Pro operating system.  I took advantage of the free Windows 10 upgrade when it was available over a year ago.

 

A few days ago I had to replace the motherboard.  The computer is running fine.  However, when it first boots there are 2 short beeps with an EEOC error.  This error referenced the BIOS containing invalid Model Number and Serial Number.  When I access the BIOS the following entries are seen:

1) Machine Type and Model                            INVALID

2) System Brand ID                                           Lenovo Product

3) System Serial Number                                 INVALID

4) Asset Tag

5) System UUID                                                 FFFFFFFF-FFFF-FFFF-FFFF-FFFFFFFFFFFF

6) Ethernet MAC Address                                FC-4D-D4-DB-34-F7

7) BIOS Revision Level                                     9SKT75AUS 

8) Boot Block Revision Level                          9S75A

9) BIOS Date                                                      09/17/2013

 

I see references to using WinPhlash to manually update the needed settings.  However, I'm unsure (because of my upgraded from Windows 7 Pro to Windows 10 Pro) of which BIOS upgrade to use.

 

I'd like to get that info along with instructions of exactly "how to" complete this process.

Reply
Answer
Options

5152 Posts

01-01-2012

United States of America

8303 Signins

131473 Page Views

  • Posts: 5152
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2012
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 131473

Re: BIOS shows no Model number or Serial number

2017-10-07, 17:32 PM

Boot from that CD, when the standalone installer loads (making it independent of the OS on the system, and any problems with it -- therefore the prefered update method), it will ask if you want to update the serial number, the model number after that.   I reran the last update for my M73 system, here are the prompts: 

 

[oldimg]JPG[/oldimg]

[oldimg]JPG[/oldimg]

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Thumbs up' button, if solved, the 'Accept as solution'.
Reply

Replies(9)
Options

5152 Posts

01-01-2012

United States of America

8303 Signins

131473 Page Views

  • Posts: 5152
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2012
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 131473
  • Message 2 of 10

Re: BIOS shows no Model number or Serial number

2017-10-06, 23:12 PM

At the start of the BIOS update process, it gives you option to enter or change those (use CD ISO update only.)  

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Thumbs up' button, if solved, the 'Accept as solution'.
Reply
Options

9 Posts

09-28-2017

United States of America

7 Signins

63 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎09-28-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 63
  • Message 3 of 10

Re: BIOS shows no Model number or Serial number

2017-10-07, 14:00 PM

Which BIOS update do I use?

Windows 7 64 bit or Windows 10 64 bit?

Reply
Options

9 Posts

09-28-2017

United States of America

7 Signins

63 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎09-28-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 63
  • Message 4 of 10

Re: BIOS shows no Model number or Serial number

2017-10-07, 14:32 PM

The Lenovo website has a section describing commands used to insert/edit the Model number and/or Serial number via the command line interface.  As follows:

1) Insert Model #:        flash2.exe /mtm:3302F2U

2) Insert Serial #:         flash2.exe /sn:#######

 

I've burned the ISO image to a CD and inserted into the computer in question.  Must I reboot in order to use the commands above or just go to a command prompt and enter the commands.?

 

I've just spent a lot of money for this new motherboard and don't want to make any mistakes.

 

Mod's Edit: Serial number removed from public view to protect owner from its unwanted use.

 

Reply
Answer
Options

5152 Posts

01-01-2012

United States of America

8303 Signins

131473 Page Views

  • Posts: 5152
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2012
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 131473
  • Message 5 of 10

Re: BIOS shows no Model number or Serial number

2017-10-07, 17:32 PM

Boot from that CD, when the standalone installer loads (making it independent of the OS on the system, and any problems with it -- therefore the prefered update method), it will ask if you want to update the serial number, the model number after that.   I reran the last update for my M73 system, here are the prompts: 

 

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Thumbs up' button, if solved, the 'Accept as solution'.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

9 Posts

09-28-2017

United States of America

7 Signins

63 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎09-28-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 63
  • Message 6 of 10

Re: BIOS shows no Model number or Serial number

2017-10-09, 12:37 PM

Screenshots were perfect - those are the prompts I received.

After entering the Serial # and Machine Type, it looks as though the BIOS was getting upgraded.  At least by the command line entries that were appearing onscreen.

I'm now at a prompt asking, "BIOS ROM file is older than (or same as) the current BIOS ROM image."  Continue anyway?  (Y,y) or (N,n)?

Which should I choose?

Reply
Options

9 Posts

09-28-2017

United States of America

7 Signins

63 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎09-28-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 63
  • Message 7 of 10

Re: BIOS shows no Model number or Serial number

2017-10-09, 12:54 PM

My fault for last post.  It seems the BIOS did get updated during the steps used to enter new Serial # and Model #.

The machine rebooted and because I had left my bootable Cd in the drive, it prompted me again for BIOS update.  I answered "No", rebooted again and all is well.

 

Thanks for your help!

Reply
Options

8 Posts

05-08-2015

Pakistan

14 Signins

106 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎05-08-2015
  • Location: Pakistan
  • Views: 106
  • Message 8 of 10

Re: BIOS shows no Model number or Serial number

2017-12-09, 7:03 AM

checkout below links. it helpful for you.

 


https://goo.gl/k39M3S RUFUS SOFTWARE.. serial num

 

https://goo.gl/UxvL3B

Reply
Options

1 Posts

01-30-2019

United States of America

2 Signins

10 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎01-30-2019
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 10
  • Message 9 of 10

Re: BIOS shows no Model number or Serial number

2019-01-30, 17:00 PM

Hello, 

Can someone please tell me how I can find the proper serial number and machine type to enter to update the firmware for my new motherboard? Thanks! 

Reply
Options

1 Posts

02-10-2019

United States of America

6 Signins

10 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎02-10-2019
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 10
  • Message 10 of 10

Re: BIOS shows no Model number or Serial number

2019-02-10, 19:39 PM

What if I get „bios does not support AFU” ? Please help me

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms