Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkCentre DesktopsThinkCentre A, E, M, S Series
All Forum Topics
Options

12 Posts

08-24-2013

Australia

27 Signins

226 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎08-24-2013
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 226
  • Message 1 of 6

CPU for M57P

2013-11-20, 12:22 PM

I have a M57p Lenovo Think Centre 6395 and I wanted to update the CPU, a friend gavce me an E8500 Dual Core and I added it in. The machine goes through the Boot setup but stops and says error with CPU code but, if I hit the F2 button for resume, the computer continues to boot and goes into Windows 7. I have since found out that only the E8400 will be accepted straight off by this machine, a shame.

 

I would like to know if it is possible to somehow use the 2RKT64A Bios File listed also for the M57p so I could update the CPU code as that is what is listed as the first fix for this Bios. I know I am clutching at straws but I would not like to have to go out and by a E8400 when I have a pertfectly good E8500 here.

 

Any help would be appreciated. :)

Reply
Answer
Options

12 Posts

08-24-2013

Australia

27 Signins

226 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎08-24-2013
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 226

Re: CPU for M57P

2013-11-20, 23:39 PM

Thank you for replying so fast. I guess I will have to put up with hitting the F2 key. :)

Reply

Replies(5)
Options

1220 Posts

12-24-2010

Perth, Australia

259 Signins

21576 Page Views

  • Posts: 1220
  • Registered: ‎12-24-2010
  • Location: Perth, Australia
  • Views: 21576
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: CPU for M57P

2013-11-20, 13:56 PM

Hi Pendaws,

 

Installing a bios update not made for your machine is risky. in the best case scenario it won't install, in the worst it will brick your bios and destroy your motherboard.

 

There is no official way of bypassing the whitelist that I know of unless using unoficial bios wich can't be discussed here.

 

Vince.

__________________________________________________________________________________

Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves, or we know where we can find information on it.


ThinkPad T510 4313-CTO Windows 8 x64 - Intel Core i7-620M - NVIDIA NVS 3100M - 8GB RAM - 240GB SSD- Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 - Gobi 2000.
ThinkPad Helix 3697-CTO Windows 8.1 x64 - Intel Core i7-3667U - Intel HD Graphics 4000 - 8GB RAM- 256GB SSD - Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205 - Ericsson C5621gw

Reply
Answer
Options

12 Posts

08-24-2013

Australia

27 Signins

226 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎08-24-2013
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 226
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: CPU for M57P

2013-11-20, 23:39 PM

Thank you for replying so fast. I guess I will have to put up with hitting the F2 key. :)

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

1220 Posts

12-24-2010

Perth, Australia

259 Signins

21576 Page Views

  • Posts: 1220
  • Registered: ‎12-24-2010
  • Location: Perth, Australia
  • Views: 21576
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: CPU for M57P

2013-11-21, 13:20 PM

No worries.

 

Vince.

__________________________________________________________________________________

Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves, or we know where we can find information on it.


ThinkPad T510 4313-CTO Windows 8 x64 - Intel Core i7-620M - NVIDIA NVS 3100M - 8GB RAM - 240GB SSD- Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 - Gobi 2000.
ThinkPad Helix 3697-CTO Windows 8.1 x64 - Intel Core i7-3667U - Intel HD Graphics 4000 - 8GB RAM- 256GB SSD - Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205 - Ericsson C5621gw

Reply
Options

12 Posts

08-24-2013

Australia

27 Signins

226 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎08-24-2013
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 226
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: CPU for M57P

2013-11-28, 12:50 PM
Ok, I am back again. I went to the trouble of sourcing an E8400 which is listed for this machine and, I added it this evening and still, I get the Unknown CPU code, WHY?

I have the latest BIOS rev 54KT23AUS. Boot Block code is : 5414A and when I go into the BIOS to check the Processor ID it reads 0 ID: 0001067A and microcode revision: Not Available. Am I missing something here?

Any help would be appreciated. BTW, I removed the MB Battery and left it off for about 15 mins and that made no difference.
Reply
Options

1220 Posts

12-24-2010

Perth, Australia

259 Signins

21576 Page Views

  • Posts: 1220
  • Registered: ‎12-24-2010
  • Location: Perth, Australia
  • Views: 21576
  • Message 6 of 6

Re: CPU for M57P

2013-12-01, 1:27 AM

It happens because of the whitelist. Your processor is a E8400 but doesn't have a valid CRU ID for the bios, then you getting the error.

The processor you are after is the part number 45C8499. Only that will work. The only way to bypass the bios whitelist is to install a modified bios which contains no such list.

 

Vince.

__________________________________________________________________________________

Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves, or we know where we can find information on it.


ThinkPad T510 4313-CTO Windows 8 x64 - Intel Core i7-620M - NVIDIA NVS 3100M - 8GB RAM - 240GB SSD- Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 - Gobi 2000.
ThinkPad Helix 3697-CTO Windows 8.1 x64 - Intel Core i7-3667U - Intel HD Graphics 4000 - 8GB RAM- 256GB SSD - Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205 - Ericsson C5621gw

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms