cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
runev
Not applicable
Views: 2,547
Message 1 of 4

Doesn't PCI-e video cards work anymore with the M92p?

I've got a ThinkCentre M92p (2992B3G) that I bought over 6 months ago. 

It's a pretty standard setup, and I haven't done anything to the hardware except upgrading it to 8GB of memory and adding a new SSD for my system drive. I'm running on Windows 8, with all updates installed (incl. from Lenovo System Update). That means that the BIOS is also the latest version (9SKT70AUS), 

A few days ago I bought a Asus NVIDIA GT640 to be able to run StarCraft II. I currently also run a dual-screen setup with 2x BENQ 24" BL2400. I've been building my own computers for the past 15 years, so I figured this would be a breeze. 

Not that fast .. 

This is where my issues begin. I can not for the life of me get the new video card to work. The problem begins before the operating system even boots, so I can't even see the POST messages, or enter the BIOS. If i want to make changes to the BIOS settings, I have to remove the card, make the changes, and insert the card again before booting. 

The symptoms are quite simple; black screen, no signal. 

Here's a few things I've tried;

• I've tried the GEFORCE GT640 in another rig. Runs just fine, so the video card isn't faulty.
  • I've tried a similar RADEON HD7750 in both computers. Same problems as the other card.
  • I've tried four different monitors. No luck.
  • I've tried different video card settings in the BIOS (AUTO, PEG etc). Nothing seems to help. 
  • It's not a driver issue. I've tried booting both Windows 7 and Windows 8, and in both cases I've tried it with a variety of drivers installed (and not installed). Tried drivers both from Lenovo and NVIDIA's official driver packages.
  • I've tried 3 different DVI-cables, a VGA cable and an HDMI cables. All work on other rigs, but not with the PCI-e card in the M92p.
  • I've had the motherboard replaced.