Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
PetrSP7
Blue Screen Again
Views: 1,136
Message 1 of 12

HDMI sound out - E63z All-in-One (ThinkCentre) model 10E2004BMC

Hi, I have updated all the drivers available for the exact device (all are green marked when online inspected). But I am still not able to get HDMI sound working connected with the TV (HDMI cable is OK, same TV HDMI input). I can switch picture between displays, picture is OK, but the only sound I can get for external display is via headphone output ... In devices list I can still see internal speakers only, no chance to switch to the HDMI output. Latest W10 Pro installed. Not sure, if the device supported HDMI sound OUT ...

This is from the beginning, I have the device for two weeks only and it is new.

SeniorGuru
Views: 1,105
Message 2 of 12

Re: HDMI sound out - E63z All-in-One (ThinkCentre) model 10E2004BMC

Right off, I have no experience with the E63z.  So my potential help ability is based on other experiences.

As you've already indicated, the most typical reason for the TV speakers not receiving audio via HDMI is because you neglected to change the Audio Devices to pick the HDMI output method.  Hence audio is still for the internal PC speakers, which is not what you want. But you looked there and didn't see any choice indicating HDMI, so that's the "giant clue".

HDMI audio is actually handled as part of the video graphics driver.  For example with a discrete nVidia graphics card there is a checkbox to allow you to install the HDMI audio driver piece or not, along with the display graphics driver piece and other options.  If you didn't check that box for the HDMI audio drive option, you would not have the capability of sending audio out over HDMI, and this would explain why you don't see an HDMI output option in Audio Devices.