cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
rbalaaji
Punch Card
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-04-2008
Location: Aduthurai,Tamil Nadu India
Views: 4,576
Message 1 of 5

IBM Rapid Restore backup Errors

Hi,

I have S51 Type;8171-KQU model thinkcentre.

This desktop comes with a hidden partition (factory installed) containing OS and
other IBM recommended Software.

On top of this I installed my regularly used softwares like Office, latest Norton etc..

Using IBM Rapid Restore Ultra Ver-4, I took a backup of this system image
(The backup image is taken in another hidden partition of my HDD).

For added protection, I wanted to take this image in DVDs so that in case of complete HDD
crash I can fall back onto this. (I may loose my data. But I can save time for
reinstalling OS and the regularly used softwares).

 

The problem happened When I tried to copy the IBM Rapid Restore image to DVDs.

 

I used "Copy Backups from Harddrive" option in IBM Rapid Restore Ultra Ver4.

The program displayed 2 messages as follows.


Error Message:
==============
"Rapid Restore Ultra has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the
inconvenience"
Option1-Send Error report to Microsoft
Option2-Dont Send

I pressed `Don't send` and this message went off.
With this the main window of IBM Rapid Restore Ultra was also closed.

 

Warning message:
================
"The files required to create the `IBM(R) Rescue and Recovery(TM) with Rapid Restore(TM)`
disc cannot be found. The `IBM(R) Rescue and Recovery(TM) with Rapid Restore(TM)` disc is
required to boot your computer and begin the restore process.

For specific information on alternate methods of creating the `IBM(R) Rescue and Recovery(TM)
with Rapid Restore(TM)` disc visit
http://www.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/MIGR-4Q2QAK.html

Do you want to continue creating the rest of your CD set?
Yes or NO

I choose 'Yes' to the above message and I was able to take backup in DVDs.

==================
My Observations and Question:
1)I am not trying to restore any file or system. So why the system should check for any disc?
I observed that the DVD drive indicator was not showing any activity meaning this program is not checking
the availability of CD/DVD in the drive.
2)The URL shown in the message is invalid. I think it is due to the fact that IBM PC operations
is now taken over by Lenovo.(My desktop is 3 years older)
3)There are no software updates to Rapid Restore in Lenovo site for my version.
4)There were no errors in backups.
5)I tried this option 2,3 times as well as after rebooting. Ended with the same errors always.

 

My Question: Can I fall back on the DVD's created from this backup?
Is there anything I can do to avoid this error and take backup without any issues so that I can feel confident
about the DVD backups?


Any help will be highly appreciated.

 

Regards,
R Balaji
India

Highlighted
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 2,939
Registered: ‎02-22-2008
Location: US
Views: 4,561
Message 2 of 5

Re: IBM Rapid Restore backup Errors

hello balaji welcome to the forums

 

should i assume that you have created a set of "recovery discs" from rapid restore ultra?

if you have done so then it might not be possible again for you to create recovery discs again(licensing issues)

 first check out whether your recovery cd's are working or not (all of them incuding the first)

 

if you have still not created recovery cd's here's what you have to do

 

download rescue and recovery from lenovo for your system i am providing the link for that

download it here 

 

note:rapid restore ultra is no longer available it has been replaced by rescue and recovery 

before making any other changes i sujjest you make the recovery cd set after installing R&R

rbalaaji
Punch Card
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-04-2008
Location: Aduthurai,Tamil Nadu India
Views: 4,537
Message 3 of 5

Re: IBM Rapid Restore backup Errors

Hi Vijay,

Thanks for the reply.

I tried to create recovery discs sometime back and left the task in between because i had only CD writer then.(more than 15 CDs were required)

Recently i have replaced the drive with Lenovo DVD writer. i will try to create the recovery discs, install rescue and recovery as you

have indicated.

I will post after completion of these tasks.

Thanks

R Balaji

rbalaaji
Punch Card
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-04-2008
Location: Aduthurai,Tamil Nadu India
Views: 4,432
Message 4 of 5

Re: IBM Rapid Restore backup Errors

Hi,

Thanks for the solution.

I have installed the latest Rescue and Recovery ver 4.2 and took all kinds of backups.

1)Created product recovery disks 2)Created disk to open Rescue and Recovery console and 3)Created a complete OS and software backup as on a particular date.

 

I need a new clarification w.r.t Rescue and Recovery.

 

The 3rd option above creates a bootable disk for opening Rescue and Recovery console and created DVDs containing OS and softwares.

When I booted the system using the CD, I get a Rescue and Recovery console.OK.

But if I want to restore the system to the backup image, it checks and shows the hidden partition of the HDD.

 

Assuming my HDD has crashed and I am not able boot the Windows and also I have lost the hidden partition containing the backup image, (In essence I have lost everything in HDD) how to access the backup image of DVDs instead of HDD's hidden partition.

Where is this option in the Rescue and Recovery console?

 

At this moment I cannot delete the backup image of HDD and try the option. I am in the middle of an important project.

 

Any help.

 

Regards

R Balaji

Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 2,939
Registered: ‎02-22-2008
Location: US
Views: 4,388
Message 5 of 5

Re: IBM Rapid Restore backup Errors

the cd you are talking about is the rescue and recovery environment and it can be used to connect to the internet or perform additional diagnostic services in case your system becomes un bootable

 

you can use prduct recovery cds to get back to factory state

 

you can use the bootable cd to enter into the resuce and recovery environment

 

now about your other quiries

 

a new hidden partition is automatically created when you use the product recovery cds to get back to the factory state if you get a new hdd

 

i hope you have created the "rescue and recovery media" 

 

Message Edited by samavedam_vijay on 08-13-2008 10:12 PM

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors