English Community

ThinkCentre DesktopsThinkCentre A, E, M, S Series
All Forum Topics
Options

12 Posts

07-31-2017

US

17 Signins

77 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎07-31-2017
  • Location: US
  • Views: 77
  • Message 11 of 16

Re: Lenovo m715q CPU upgrade

2018-12-10, 20:10 PM

Cool, let me know if this works and pm me where did you get that MB...

Reply
Options

8 Posts

03-01-2016

HK

18 Signins

80 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎03-01-2016
  • Location: HK
  • Views: 80
  • Message 12 of 16

Re: Lenovo m715q CPU upgrade

2018-12-11, 3:52 AM

The difference between 1st amd 2nd gen m715q seems just the BIOS rom chip. Changed from 8MB to 16MB.

 

I prefer replacing the rom chip rather than getting a new ver mainboard because the mainboard as parts costs hk$1400 which is ridiculously expensive.

 

HK Lenovo can help to order only if u can provide a serial number of the 2nd gen m715q. Otherwise they wont sell u the parts. 

Reply
Options

12 Posts

07-31-2017

US

17 Signins

77 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎07-31-2017
  • Location: US
  • Views: 77
  • Message 13 of 16

Re: Lenovo m715q CPU upgrade

2018-12-11, 5:54 AM
yup, I saw that post on reddit as well, btw... I cannot see 2400ge for retail anywhere as well.
Reply
Options

8 Posts

03-01-2016

HK

18 Signins

80 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎03-01-2016
  • Location: HK
  • Views: 80
  • Message 14 of 16

Re: Lenovo m715q CPU upgrade

2018-12-11, 6:17 AM

https://www.quietpc.com/amd-2nd-gen-ryzen-apus

 

Last 2 in stock...

Reply
Options

1 Posts

12-27-2019

JP

8 Signins

49 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2019
  • Location: JP
  • Views: 49
  • Message 15 of 16

Re: Lenovo m715q CPU upgrade

2019-12-27, 14:24 PM

I purchased a 2400GE and soldered the BIOS ROM to a 16MB one.

 

However, even when the power was turned on, the CPU fan only rotated at high speed and the BIOS screen was not displayed.

 

With the A6-9500E CPU installed, Windows starts normally, so the BIOS ROM has been successfully updated.

 

The BIOS version is M1XKT47A.

 

However, the motherboard manufacturer and the brand name of the BIOS have become NEC, and the boot logo of Windows 10 has been replaced with the NEC logo.

 

In addition, the model of the motherboard is displayed as 3153, neither AM4IH nor LENOVO 30FD.

 

From the BIOS Version that can be confirmed on CPU-Z, "AMD AGESA RavenPI-FP5-AM4 1.1.0.6" is displayed, and it seems that it corresponds to the CPU of the Raven Ridge generation ...

 

Is anyone able to run the Raven Ridge generation CPU successfully?

Reply
Options

1 Posts

02-23-2020

CN

2 Signins

10 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎02-23-2020
  • Location: CN
  • Views: 10
  • Message 16 of 16

Re:Lenovo m715q CPU upgrade

2020-02-23, 15:14 PM

Is it working now?

Did you try to upgrade the BIOS under windows?

You can also try to clear CMOS settings with jumpers after upgrading BIOS

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete