cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
lvidov
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-30-2016
Location: SI
Views: 2,478
Message 1 of 11

M57 - upgraded processor from Q6600 to Q9450

Hi,

did somebody maybe tested CPU core2quad q9550 or 9540 on Thinkcentre M57?

 

I now have quad q6600 which works OK

 

 

Mod:   edited the title for clarity

i7_intel36U
Bit Torrent
Posts: 1,183
Registered: ‎05-23-2016
Location: ES
Views: 2,453
Message 2 of 11

Re: M57 and core2quad 9550

HI.

@lvidov

 

Processor and chipset Intel Q35 chipset compatibility and other processors:http://ark.intel.com/products/33924/Intel-Core2-Quad-Processor-Q9550-12M-Cache-2_83-GHz-1333-MHz-FSB , comparative :http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Core2-Quad-Q9550-vs-Intel-Core2-Quad-Q6600

 

https://support.lenovo.com/es/es/documents/pd001456

 

Regards.

Por favor ,marque la respuesta y así aportar a la Comunidad,al aceptar como solución
Estarás contribuyendo con otros usuarios que tengan la misma duda.
lvidov
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-30-2016
Location: SI
Views: 2,448
Message 3 of 11

Re: M57 and core2quad 9550

Thank you i7_intel36U. I've searched the web and also found those links. On that link, there's a specification that says that the motherboard accept core 2 quad up to 12 MB L2 cache. But I'm not 100% if it will support q9550, so I wanted to know if maybe someone tested this machine with that cpu.

It's because I want to upgrade this pc, but I don't want to buy a cpu that wouldn't fit.

 

Here the specification says that it supports this cpu: http://www-01.ibm.com/common/ssi/cgi-bin/ssialias?infotype=AN&subtype=CA&htmlfid=877/ENUSZG08-0164&a...

 

A suer tried to use this cpu, but had problems: https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/ThinkCentre-A-E-M-S-Series/M57-Q9550-power-cycling/td-p/848093 

 

I found this configuration: http://www.hkepc.com/forum/viewthread.php?tid=2257364

 

A will try and tell you....

If it won't work, I'll sell the cpu :/

i7_intel36U
Bit Torrent
Posts: 1,183
Registered: ‎05-23-2016
Location: ES
Views: 2,445
Message 4 of 11

Re: M57 and core2quad 9550

 

I understand that the maximum You Might you apply to this type of plate for the TDP, which would leave you the link as to apply a larger possibly could have incompatibility problems or overheating of the motherboard.

 

 

http://ark.intel.com/es-es/products/33922/Intel-Core2-Quad-Processor-Q9300-6M-Cache-2_50-GHz-1333-MH...

With your chipset these would be supported, but as mentioned if you spend Q9300, might have problems with a serious basis here since I do not supported, although out as being compatible.

http://ark.intel.com/es-es/products/33910/Intel-Core2-Duo-Processor-E8400-6M-Cache-3_00-GHz-1333-MHz...

 

You can check the chipset, CPU-Z | Softwares | CPUID ,software.

 

 

Regards.

Por favor ,marque la respuesta y así aportar a la Comunidad,al aceptar como solución
Estarás contribuyendo con otros usuarios que tengan la misma duda.
i7_intel36U
Bit Torrent
Posts: 1,183
Registered: ‎05-23-2016
Location: ES
Views: 2,436
Message 5 of 11

Re: M57 and core2quad 9550

You have that model? ... M57p or M57.
Por favor ,marque la respuesta y así aportar a la Comunidad,al aceptar como solución
Estarás contribuyendo con otros usuarios que tengan la misma duda.
lvidov
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-30-2016
Location: SI
Views: 2,429
Message 6 of 11

Re: M57 and core2quad 9550

I have M57 - SFF. Before I had E8400 (3.0GHz/6 MB L2/1333MHz). 

 

On that link you provided, it says - that q35 chipset supports this cpu - q9550

intel.jpg

 

And on IBM there is also a note, that this cpu should be ok.

123.jpg

i7_intel36U
Bit Torrent
Posts: 1,183
Registered: ‎05-23-2016
Location: ES
Views: 2,424
Message 7 of 11

Re: M57 and core2quad 9550

 

If I understand, what I mean is that in the manual does not specify the maximum supported by the motherboard itself in this chipse case (LENOVO), it is clear that intel or ibm details the maximum is what you indicate, but we must abide by the team record as being the maximum CPU - Q9550, possibly lower by lenovo recomiede other equipment overheating by high Thermal Design Power, so other Members who experience problems.

Por favor ,marque la respuesta y así aportar a la Comunidad,al aceptar como solución
Estarás contribuyendo con otros usuarios que tengan la misma duda.
Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 3,321
Registered: ‎12-31-2011
Location: US
Views: 2,415
Message 8 of 11

Re: M57 and core2quad 9550

I think you're on the right rack in determining the correct quad processor that can work.   

 

A couple of things I would check, firstly that the BIOS in the download area is the same between your system model, and a model with the proposed new processor.    The BIOS needs to have microcode for the new processor to recognize it and complete the POST.   Secondly, since the processor you have is 65w and the new processor is 95w, are the heatsink and fan part numbers the same (using the Hardware Maintenance Manuals) ?    The cooling may have uprated to cope with the extra processor heat, and you may need to do the same.  

 

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Kudos' button, if solved, the 'Accept as Solution'.
lvidov
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-30-2016
Location: SI
Views: 2,392
Message 9 of 11

Re: M57 and core2quad 9550

I will update BIOS to the newest one.

 

I've searched the web and I found that:

- core2duo e8400 has 1333MHz, 6 MB L2 cache, 65W

- core2quad e6600 has 1033MHz, 8 MB L2 cace, 105W

- core2quad q9550 has 1333MHz, 12 MB L2 cache, 95W

 

So I think that q9550 should also work, because it uses less power then q6600 and it's in the range that is specified here on the lenovo's website:

1212313.jpg

 

 

So....the only way to be 100% is, that I buy q9550 and test it. If it won't work I'll sell it and keep q6600.

lvidov
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-30-2016
Location: SI
Views: 2,335
Message 10 of 11

Re: M57 and core2quad 9550

I finally received my new CPU and tested it. I bought Q9450 and it works OK!

You can see here on this link of my server 

http://ircr.info/info/index.php?disp=dynamic

 

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors