Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
wiredgeorge
Paper Tape
Views: 379
Message 1 of 7

M58P ThinkCentre Won't Start

Have two Lenovo ThinkCentre M58P desktops.  One of them started coming up to various stages of boot up and then powered off.  I assumed it was a hard drive crash and replaced the hard drive.   I prepared a bootable USB drive with a new Win 10 Pro image.  Now the machine won't begin to come up.  After pressing the power button, the green power LED comes on for a second then fades out.  After a second this repeats.  I am now not sure the hard drive was the issue.  Any suggestions on how I can get this machine going again.  Please be gentle as I am a motorcycle mechanic and not a computer guy...  Not sure what info is needed to have this query make sense.

Lenovo ThinkCentre Machine type 7479 Model l4U Product ID 7479 4U  (there is a symbol before the 4U that looks kind of like a cursive lower case L.  Sam for model (I put a lower case L there as an example)  

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Views: 344
Message 2 of 7

Re: M58P ThinkCentre Won't Start

@wiredgeorge wrote:

Have two Lenovo ThinkCentre M58P desktops.  ...   After pressing the power button, the green power LED comes on for a second then fades out.  After a second this repeats. 

This sounds like a power supply issue.  It is USFF?  With an external power brick, like a laptop?   You might want to try the brick from the good system on the one not powering up. 

I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Kudos' button, if solved, the 'Accept as Solution'.
wiredgeorge
Paper Tape
Views: 330
Message 3 of 7