Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkCentre DesktopsThinkCentre A, E, M, S Series
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

12-21-2014

Canada

7 Signins

34 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎12-21-2014
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 34
  • Message 1 of 4

M58e won't boot from cloned SSD on SATA1, but boots on SATA2

2017-08-29, 22:40 PM

I wanted to replace the aging HDD on my 7269E4U with an SSD. I connected the SSD to SATA2 (the CD-ROM connector) and cloned my hard drive (SATA1) using EaseUS ToDo Backup. It worked, but…

 

I can boot with the hard drive disconnected, but only if the SSD is on the same connector (SATA2) as when I cloned it. If I move it to SATA1, the PC will show the Windows 10 logo for a half-second and then shut off. I did confirm, in the BIOS, that the first boot device was the hard disk, and that my SSD was shown in the list of available hard disks in the following section. (Of course, it was the only hard disk.)

 

How can I get my M58e to boot with the SSD connected to SATA1, so I can reconnect the CD-ROM drive to its original SATA2? Thanks!

Reply
Options

4770 Posts

12-11-2015

United States of America

4745 Signins

54592 Page Views

  • Posts: 4770
  • Registered: ‎12-11-2015
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 54592
  • Message 2 of 4

Re: M58e won't boot from cloned SSD on SATA1, but boots on SATA2

2017-08-29, 23:43 PM

Whatis on SATA0?

Reply
Options

5902 Posts

01-01-2012

United States of America

8540 Signins

140483 Page Views

  • Posts: 5902
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2012
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 140483
  • Message 3 of 4

Re: M58e won't boot from cloned SSD on SATA1, but boots on SATA2

2017-08-30, 3:20 AM
 

I can boot with the hard drive disconnected, but only if the SSD is on the same connector (SATA2) as when I cloned it.

 


Did you try leaving the SSD on SATA port 2 and connecting the optical to SATA port 1?  (All the SATA ports are the same 3Gb/s speed.) 

 

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Thumbs up' button, if solved, the 'Accept as solution'.
Reply
Options

3 Posts

12-21-2014

Canada

7 Signins

34 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎12-21-2014
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 34
  • Message 4 of 4

Re: M58e won't boot from cloned SSD on SATA1, but boots on SATA2

2017-08-30, 15:35 PM
Well, I guess I could swap the cables. Thanks, I'll do that.

That still leaves the question, why would this happen?
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms