Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkCentre DesktopsThinkCentre A, E, M, S Series
All Forum Topics
Options

2902 Posts

06-13-2013

United States of America

11454 Signins

63011 Page Views

  • Posts: 2902
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2013
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 63011
  • Message 141 of 157

Re:M710 Tower - Aftermarket modifications (SSD, HDD)

2021-09-15, 13:25 PM

I'm honestly not at all surprised that Vantage says "no updates needed". It's really invoking the same "system updates" that you manually ran. But I just wanted to make double-sure there was nothing else required using the official tool.

 

Now the error which is suddenly appearing is fascinating. It does appear to be happening randomly. And you've been able to tie it to the freeze (gap in PERFMON), at least a few of them? The method would be that whenever you experience a freeze, when you get the system back a few seconds later you open Event Viewer and see a newly posted error?

 

That is incredibly revealing, if that's what you now see.

 

Ok. I've just checked HWINFO64 on my M910t and surprisingly I now see NO TPM CHIP FOUND:

 

 

I could have sworn I checked this earlier up in the thread and it said 2.0. But now that I think about it, perhaps I was looking at the M920t, which now that I look at it again absolutely DOES show TPM 2.0. So I must have been wrong about it on the M910t.

 

 

What does HWINFO64 show on your M710t?

 

Now interestingly again, the PSREF for the M910t definitely shows TPM 2.0 present:

 

 

Also, there is a download available for the M910t (in "BIOS/UEFI") that offers a "TPM Firmware Switch Tool". The description says "This utility provides the ability to update the TPM firmware (FW) from 64 bit Windows operating system." And it also shows:

Supported Systems

  • ThinkCentre M710t/s
  • ThinkCentre M715t/s
  • ThinkCentre M910t/s, M910q, M910x, M710q
  • ThinkStation P320 Tiny

So it would be applicable to both my M910t and your M710t. But I'm still mystified as to why TPM 2.0 wasn't already installed in my machine. Surely that HWINFO64 indication that "no chip found" makes little sense.

 

Now I actually have that item downloaded into my updates folder back in January 2019 when I got this machine and downloaded everything that was available (I used to do manual updates as required, after running "system updates" which sometimes lagged a bit) but I'm guessing I never ran it because it looked complicated and I didn't think I needed it. And of course I have no "freeze" like you do, nor am I getting errors in Event Viewer prompting me to update TPM firmware.

 

Now I wonder if both you and I SHOULD have run this particular item??  This article from MS claims that most machines shipped in the past 5 years ARE capable of running TPM 2.0. In fact:

 

"In some cases, PCs that are capable of running TPM 2.0 are not set up to do so. If you are considering upgrading to Windows 11, check to ensure TPM 2.0 is enabled on your device. Most retail PC motherboards used by people building their own PC, for example, ship with TPM turned off by default even though it is almost alwatys available to be enabled."

 

Also, this article from Lenovo describes all about TPM on their machines. This is very informative, but is Win10-centric so it would apply to you and your M710t rather than me and my M910t which is running Win7. But it does give very specific instructions about how to tell if things are present, enabled, how to turn them on (via BIOS), etc.

 

So maybe it really is necessary to enable TPM 2.0 by running the Lenovo-provided "TPM FW SWITCH TOOL" that I linked to above. Tell you what, I'm running Win7 on my M910t and I don't want to tamper with its stability. I suppose I could try it but I'd rather have YOU do it, and tell us about the results. You're running Win10 (which I'm not), which perhaps is why you're freezing and I'm not, since both motherboards are essentially identical with a minor chipset difference. Apparently Win10 may need TPM present whereas Win7 does not.

 

Do you have "secure boot" enabled in your BIOS?  Remember, I'm running Win7 so I have UEFI=only, CSM=YES set. I'm sure your Win10 environment has UEFI=ONLY, CSM=NO. I don't think this is related to TPM functionality but again, my machine's set up for Win7 which is how my machine shipped. If your M710t shipped with Win10 pre-installed the BIOS setup would be for Win10, not Win7.

 

If your HWINFO64 also shows "no chip found" then I propose you follow the instructions in that TPM FW SWITCH TOOL download, and let's see what happens. It's applicable to both machines, and in fact I actually could run it even under Win7. But why don't you be the guinea pig for both of us, since you've got the freeze and I don't.

Reply
Options

120 Posts

08-12-2020

India

47 Signins

355 Page Views

  • Posts: 120
  • Registered: ‎08-12-2020
  • Location: India
  • Views: 355
  • Message 142 of 157

Re:M710 Tower - Aftermarket modifications (SSD, HDD)

2021-09-15, 13:34 PM

 

are you using samsung 970 evo plus nvme ssd as system drive in your M910t?

I think pro model of samsung ssd needs more high configuration

Reply
Options

2902 Posts

06-13-2013

United States of America

11454 Signins

63011 Page Views

  • Posts: 2902
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2013
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 63011
  • Message 143 of 157

Re:M710 Tower - Aftermarket modifications (SSD, HDD)

2021-09-15, 13:39 PM

No. Just a plain 970 EVO. The Plus didn't exist back in 2019 when I built this machine, and I didn't need to pay for the 970 Pro for my Win7 needs with Skylake CPU/chipset.

 

But if you already have TPM 2.0 enabled, then that TPM FW SWITCH TOOL seems unnecessary to run. There's no newer version than 2.0.

 

So we're back to scratch. Clearly my M910t and Win7 is not bothered by my absence of TPM 2.0, if the chip is even present (which it probably is, but just not enabled yet because the machine shipped with Win7).

Reply
Options

2902 Posts

06-13-2013

United States of America

11454 Signins

63011 Page Views

  • Posts: 2902
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2013
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 63011
  • Message 144 of 157

Re:M710 Tower - Aftermarket modifications (SSD, HDD)

2021-09-15, 13:43 PM

Please RUN TPM.MSC, and see what it says about the status of TPM.

Reply
Options

120 Posts

08-12-2020

India

47 Signins

355 Page Views

  • Posts: 120
  • Registered: ‎08-12-2020
  • Location: India
  • Views: 355
  • Message 145 of 157

Re:M710 Tower - Aftermarket modifications (SSD, HDD)

2021-09-15, 13:43 PM
this samsung 970 pro model needs more high configuration as 9th gen motherboard
Reply
Options

2902 Posts

06-13-2013

United States of America

11454 Signins

63011 Page Views

  • Posts: 2902
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2013
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 63011
  • Message 146 of 157

Re:M710 Tower - Aftermarket modifications (SSD, HDD)

2021-09-15, 13:45 PM

You never answered my question about what anti-virus and/or anti-malware software you're running? Or is it just Microsoft Defender Anti-virus (i.e. the old Windows Defender)?

Reply
Options

2902 Posts

06-13-2013

United States of America

11454 Signins

63011 Page Views

  • Posts: 2902
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2013
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 63011
  • Message 147 of 157

Re:M710 Tower - Aftermarket modifications (SSD, HDD)

2021-09-15, 13:47 PM

@ papun2020 wrote:

this samsung 970 pro model needs more high configuration as 9th gen motherboard

 

You just found this out? You mean you can't use this model with your i7-7700 with B250 chipset?

 

Could you use a plain 970 EVO (or EVO Plus) like me?

 

Where do you see this? 

Reply
Options

120 Posts

08-12-2020

India

47 Signins

355 Page Views

  • Posts: 120
  • Registered: ‎08-12-2020
  • Location: India
  • Views: 355
  • Message 148 of 157

Re:M710 Tower - Aftermarket modifications (SSD, HDD)

2021-09-15, 13:47 PM

Reply
Options

120 Posts

08-12-2020

India

47 Signins

355 Page Views

  • Posts: 120
  • Registered: ‎08-12-2020
  • Location: India
  • Views: 355
  • Message 149 of 157

Re:M710 Tower - Aftermarket modifications (SSD, HDD)

2021-09-15, 13:49 PM

according to FRU matching of lenovo samsung MZ-VLB1T00 this model is compatible

at ebay.com I have seen someone listed a ssd and written that  MZ-VLB1T00 this model is equivalent to samsung 970 evo plus

Reply
Options

2902 Posts

06-13-2013

United States of America

11454 Signins

63011 Page Views

  • Posts: 2902
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2013
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 63011
  • Message 150 of 157

Re:M710 Tower - Aftermarket modifications (SSD, HDD)

2021-09-15, 13:57 PM

@ papun2020 wrote:

according to FRU matching of lenovo samsung MZ-VLB1T00 this model is compatible

at ebay.com I have seen someone listed a ssd and written that  MZ-VLB1T00 this model is equivalent to samsung 970 evo plus

 

I'm confused. It shows as a 970 Pro, right? I believe it's an OEM model PM981.

 

I don't recall that you ever showed the HWINFO64 output for "disk drives" when you had the Samsung 970 reinstalled. You only showed the earlier setup, with the Kingston SSD. And then you went back to Samsung but never showed what was presented.

 

Please post a screenshot of expanded "disk drives" now, with the Samsung drive selected on the left so its details appear on the right.

 

What are you saying about 970 EVO Plus? I don't understand.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms