cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
arimakidd
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-25-2017
Location: TT
Views: 4,259
Message 1 of 16

M73 Tiny & Tiny-in-One: DisplayPort to HDMI connected TV not working

I have a ThinkCentre M73.  I bought a hdmi to displayport adapter.  Connected it to my Samsung TV and nothing is showing.  Not even a signal.  Blank screen.  I have installed the lenovo solution centre and the companion and installed the latest drivers.  Still nothing works.  How do I get this to work?

 

Mod:  edited the Subject ine to clarify the system model

Guru
Posts: 9,598
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: CA
Views: 4,223
Message 2 of 16

Re: Displayport to hdmi not working M73

HDMI to DisplayPort or DisplayPort to HDMI? Most likely the latter?

Assuming the latter, is it an active or passive converter?

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
arimakidd
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-25-2017
Location: TT
Views: 4,214
Message 3 of 16

Re: Displayport to hdmi not working M73

One end is male and the other female.  The female end accepts a male hdmi and the male end is displayport.  What do you mean by active or passive converter?  On Amazon this is what it looks like:

 

displayport to hdmi

 

 

Guru
Posts: 9,598
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: CA
Views: 4,206
Message 4 of 16

Re: Displayport to hdmi not working M73

I'm guessing that's almost certainly passive due to it's size. I have one of a different brand that looks almost exactly the same.

Are you able to have a VGA monitor attached too so you can see a desktop? If so, right-click the desktop and click Screen Resolution. See if Windows is able to identify your TV at all.

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
arimakidd
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-25-2017
Location: TT
Views: 4,195
Message 5 of 16

Re: Displayport to hdmi not working M73

When I use the vga to hook a dell monitor things work fine.  The monitor shows the desktop and the Intel HD Graphics Control Panel shows the dell monitor.  There are only 2 displays, the dell monitor and the Digital Display Tinyinone 23.  There is no Samsung TV showing.  Any other ideas?

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 3,390
Registered: ‎12-31-2011
Location: US
Views: 4,190
Message 6 of 16

Re: Displayport to hdmi not working M73

When I use the vga to hook a dell monitor things work fine.  The monitor shows the desktop and the Intel HD Graphics Control Panel shows the dell monitor.  There are only 2 displays, the dell monitor and the Digital Display Tinyinone 23.

The H81 Chipset on the M73 is limited to 2 displays.   One VGA and one DP.   Doesn't the tinyinone take the one DP?   If you lose the tinyinone, does the TV display? 

 
__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Kudos' button, if solved, the 'Accept as Solution'.
arimakidd
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-25-2017
Location: TT
Views: 4,183
Message 7 of 16

Re: Displayport to hdmi not working M73

Please follow the trail.  My DP is not working with my Samsung TV.  I am using a passive hdmi to dp adapter.  I believe the user asked me to hook up the vga to see if it could somehow help with the troubleshooting.

arimakidd
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-25-2017
Location: TT
Views: 4,179
Message 8 of 16

Re: Displayport to hdmi not working M73

I want to proejct my tinyinone desktop to my TV with audio.

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 3,390
Registered: ‎12-31-2011
Location: US
Views: 4,175
Message 9 of 16

Re: Displayport to hdmi not working M73

My apologies.   Perhaps I'm misunderstanding what you have connected, and how a Tinyinone works.  

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Kudos' button, if solved, the 'Accept as Solution'.
arimakidd
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-25-2017
Location: TT
Views: 4,171
Message 10 of 16

Re: Displayport to hdmi not working M73

My tinyinone works fine.  It's great.  However I decided to install Kodi on it and now I want to view the Kodi on my TV via the Tiny.  So I want to run the Kodi on the pc and project the screen to my tv.  My Samsung TV only has hdmi ports.  The Tiny only has a vga and displayport, among others but my TV only has hdmi so I bought a displayport to hdmi adapter hoping to project the Kodi using that.  But all I get on my TV is a blank screen, no signal.  The default blank screen that tells you no signal and to check your source.

 

That's why I am here looking for help.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors