Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkCentre DesktopsThinkCentre A, E, M, S Series
All Forum Topics
Options

4 Posts

09-15-2021

United States of America

3 Signins

15 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-15-2021
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 15
  • Message 1 of 6

TIO 24 Gen 3: AIO to a second unit as a monitor?

2021-09-15, 1:48 AM

Hello, 

 

I have two TIO24Gen3’s, one with a tiny PC installed and the other is just the monitor. Is it possible to use the one without the PC as a second monitor? I have a DP male to male cord connecting them but the second monitor says no connection check signal cable. I tried changing the settings on the monitor with a PC from AIO mode to DP, same thing. 

Reply
Options

5652 Posts

08-02-2018

Philippines

927 Signins

28734 Page Views

  • Posts: 5652
  • Registered: ‎08-02-2018
  • Location: Philippines
  • Views: 28734
  • Message 2 of 6

Re:TIO24Gen3 monitor to monitor?

2021-09-15, 12:17 PM

Hello CMT89


Welcome to community forums

 


Is the monitor connected to a Lenovo device? If yes, can you provide the machine type model / MTM (ex. 81C70000RK or 20UD000BUS) of the machine so we could check? 

 

This would help us detail more about your machine variant while keeping the confidentiality of your serial number.


Let us know.

 

 

Jwes_Lenovo



Did someone help you today? Press the thumbs-up icon below to thank them.!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.


Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community

Reply
Options

5663 Posts

01-01-2012

United States of America

8456 Signins

137593 Page Views

  • Posts: 5663
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2012
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 137593
  • Message 3 of 6

Re:TIO24Gen3 monitor to monitor?

2021-09-15, 12:17 PM

Yes, it's possible.  The 2nd 'monitor' TIO lower DP port must connect to a video port on the Tiny computer itself, and you must select that lower DP port as the video input port through the monitor setup display (see the User Guide.)   This thread may help:  ThinkCentre Tiny with Tiny-in-One: how to connect a second monitor (TIO, 10DQ, M53)

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Thumbs up' button, if solved, the 'Accept as solution'.
Reply
Options

4 Posts

09-15-2021

United States of America

3 Signins

15 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-15-2021
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 15
  • Message 4 of 6

Re:TIO24Gen3 monitor to monitor?

2021-09-15, 15:45 PM

Hey,  yes the TIO has a Lenovo machine in it: model 11A5S19C00   (M75q-1 Tiny)

Reply
Options

4 Posts

09-15-2021

United States of America

3 Signins

15 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-15-2021
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 15
  • Message 5 of 6

Re:TIO24Gen3 monitor to monitor?

2021-09-18, 17:53 PM

Alright based on that other thread it sounds like I would need an adapter to connect the HMDI port on the tiny to the DP on the monitor without a tiny. And then change the settings on the monitor with the tiny from AIO mode to DP?

Reply
Options

5663 Posts

01-01-2012

United States of America

8456 Signins

137593 Page Views

  • Posts: 5663
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2012
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 137593
  • Message 6 of 6

Re:TIO24Gen3 monitor to monitor?

2021-09-18, 18:34 PM

Yes, providing the HDMI port is accessible to have a cable plugged into it with Tiny connected into the TIO.  Also, beware these adapters are unidirectional, you need an adapter that is HDMI to DP, most are for the other direction.  Try Cable Matters and Club3D brands first.  If you have a different monitor with a HDMI port, this would be a simpler solution. 

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Thumbs up' button, if solved, the 'Accept as solution'.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms

Most Liked Authors

(Last 7 days)

View All