Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkCentre DesktopsThinkCentre A, E, M, S Series
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

09-14-2021

Czech Republic

2 Signins

15 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎09-14-2021
  • Location: Czech Republic
  • Views: 15
  • Message 1 of 4

ThinkCentre M75q Gen 2 - 4k resolution

2021-09-14, 22:58 PM

Hi,

I have new M75q Gen 2 (11JJ0008CK)

and I am trying to get decent 4K image from DP or HDMI. I managed to get 4K YCbCr420 out but nothing more.

I have verified setup (DP-to-HDMI adapter, cables, hdmi switch, monitor) with RX 590 graphic card in different computer running at 4K RGB444.

So the limitation should be only the new computer.

 

Can anybody help?

Thanks

 

EDIT: At YCbCr420 DisplayPort uses 2.7 Gbps x 4 links and at YCbCr422 or YCbCr444 it uses 5.4 Gbps x 4 links, which results in brief flash of picture (about a half a second) and then few seconds nothing. Is this some sort of drivers issue?

Reply
Answer
Options

3 Posts

09-14-2021

Czech Republic

2 Signins

15 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎09-14-2021
  • Location: Czech Republic
  • Views: 15

Re:ThinkCentre M75q Gen 2 - 4k resolution

2021-09-15, 23:45 PM

Managed to get RGB444 working on expansion port DP. At least something.

Reply

Replies(3)
Options

5663 Posts

01-01-2012

United States of America

8456 Signins

137593 Page Views

  • Posts: 5663
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2012
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 137593
  • Message 2 of 4

Re:ThinkCentre M75q Gen 2 - 4k resolution

2021-09-15, 12:26 PM

Firstly, ensure you have sufficient VRAM for 4K.  Are you at the latest BIOS version?  And do you have the UMA Buffer size (VRAM) set to the maximum?  (Earlier Bios versions had a problem going to the higher settings.)  Secondly, RX 590 has DP 1.4 HDR, while this system has DP 1.2, could that be a factor? 

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Thumbs up' button, if solved, the 'Accept as solution'.
Reply
Options

3 Posts

09-14-2021

Czech Republic

2 Signins

15 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎09-14-2021
  • Location: Czech Republic
  • Views: 15
  • Message 3 of 4

Re:ThinkCentre M75q Gen 2 - 4k resolution

2021-09-15, 23:12 PM

Increasing VRAM to 2GB was my first step.

DP version may be the factor, but I got the same problem with onboard HDMI.

Anybody managed to get this working? My display is Lenovo T32p-20 if that helps.

Reply
Answer
Options

3 Posts

09-14-2021

Czech Republic

2 Signins

15 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎09-14-2021
  • Location: Czech Republic
  • Views: 15
  • Message 4 of 4

Re:ThinkCentre M75q Gen 2 - 4k resolution

2021-09-15, 23:45 PM

Managed to get RGB444 working on expansion port DP. At least something.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms

Most Liked Authors

(Last 7 days)

View All