cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Lensflair
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-03-2017
Location: PH
Views: 1,643
Message 1 of 10

ThinkCentre: Nvidia Quadro & workstation card compatibility (CAD, video photo editing, design)

I'd like to know if the Quadro K620 is compatible with the M83, E92, or E93 desktops with 280W power supply.

According to NVIDIA, it only consume 45W max power.

I've been looking for documentation in Lenovo support but could not manage to find it.

Since the desktops I mentioned are already obsolete (as per our supplier), I only found using the look up parts list that it's compatible for P series workstations.

I asked this because I want to upgrade the GPU of a workstation then used the current K620 into old models.

 

Mod:  edited the Subject line to expand the question description

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 3,011
Registered: ‎12-31-2011
Location: US
Views: 1,597
Message 2 of 10

Re: Video Card Compatibility for Old desktops

The page for the Nvidia driver on this systems support page, lists the Quadro K420.   The K620 would have been considered  more apropos of a ThinkStation, rather than a ThinkCentre.   From a power perspective, the 45w is not a problem, since these systems can run a Gtx 750 at 60w.   And I'm confident that the K620 would work also.  

 

Edit:  I now read that K620 is known to work in a M93p, which uses the same BIOS as E93 and M83.   But since you have the K620, test it in the older systems before buying newer cards.  Please post the results, either way, here.  Thx. 

 

Lensflair
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-03-2017
Location: PH
Views: 1,575
Message 3 of 10

Re: Video Card Compatibility for Old desktops

Thank you for commenting. 

Maybe I'll try your suggestion before upgrading.

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 3,011
Registered: ‎12-31-2011
Location: US
Views: 1,523
Message 4 of 10

Re: Video Card Compatibility for Old desktops

 I did a search of the Passmark system benchmarks, and found the following Nvidia/Quadro cards being used (I saw just two AMD workstation card on these systems):

 

M710:  P600, FirePro W4100

M900:  K420, K2200

M800:  P620, K420, NVS 510

M700:  P620, K620

M93p:  K620, K4200

M83:    K620

M92p:  NVS510, 600

M82:    K2200

M72e:  K620, 600

M91p:  2000, 600, 410

M81:    600, NVS 310, NVS 295

M90p:  600, FX 380 LP, NVS 290; FirePro V5800

 

Edit:  updated Feb 2019

 

 

 

C_Note
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-27-2018
Location: PL
Views: 1,349
Message 5 of 10

Re: ThinkCentre M81: new Nvidia card, getting blank (black) screen (Win 10, GT 1030, graphics, driv

Has anyone have experience with running NVIDIA Quadro cards on M81?  I'm espiecially curious about Quadro 2000. I've already updated my BIOS to the latest version and using Quadro 410 on W10 Home. However I want to upgrade to Q2000 but don't know whether it's supported.

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 3,011
Registered: ‎12-31-2011
Location: US
Views: 1,325
Message 6 of 10

Re: ThinkCentre M81: new Nvidia card, getting blank (black) screen (Win 10, GT 1030, graphics, driv

Since the M81 uses the same BIOS as the M91p, and the Q2000 does work on it (from above post), it will also work on your M81.  

 

Taking it one step further, the M81, M91/p also shares it's BIOS with the E30 ThinkStation.  So the adapters supported for the E30 BIOS will also work on the M81 & M91/p.  However, workstations typically came with stronger power supplies than desktops, so verify that you have enough power for the adapter.  (This same process can be used for other models of ThinkCentre, ie.  ThinkCentre E93, M73p, M83, M93, M93p, ThinkStation E32, P300  all share the same BIOS)  

 

Here is the supported adapters list from the ReadMe file of the Nvidia driver for E30 ThinkStation

 

f-e30 q adapter list.png

 

 

Scarfs
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-11-2019
Location: BE
Views: 76
Message 7 of 10

Re: ThinkCentre M81: new Nvidia card, getting blank (black) screen (Win 10, GT 1030, graphics, driv

So does it mean that if I installl the E30 video adapter it should technically work?

I own a Thinkcentre M91p and have a Quadro k620, I just updated the bios to the latest.

I'm going to try it with that adapter then. DO I still need to install the Nvidia driver?

I will test it all out and let you guys know what I find.

Scarfs
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-11-2019
Location: BE
Views: 70
Message 8 of 10

Re: ThinkCentre M81: new Nvidia card, getting blank (black) screen (Win 10, GT 1030, graphics, driv

EDIT: So I tried installing the adapter for the E30, didn't work.
I also downloaded the K620 driver fron Nvidia and it also didn't work, anyone any luck with this combo?

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 3,011
Registered: ‎12-31-2011
Location: US
Views: 50
Message 9 of 10

Re: ThinkCentre M81: new Nvidia card, getting blank (black) screen (Win 10, GT 1030, graphics, driv


@Scarfs wrote:

EDIT: So I tried installing the adapter for the E30, didn't work.
I also downloaded the K620 driver fron Nvidia and it also didn't work, anyone any luck with this combo?


You can download the Nvidia driver from Lenovo, but is dated, I typically use drivers direct from Nvidia.  When you say it didn't work, is the system beeping when you power up after installing the card?  Exactly what are your symptoms?  M91p BIOS can operate in two modes (UEFI and compatible?)  have you tried both? 

Scarfs
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-11-2019
Location: BE
Views: 3
Message 10 of 10

Re: ThinkCentre M81: new Nvidia card, getting blank (black) screen (Win 10, GT 1030, graphics, driv

I downloaded the driver directly from Nvidia, when I try to install the driver it tells me two things:

1. This driver is not compatible with your OS version (I run Windows 10 and downloaded the W10 driver, go figure)

2. No compatible card detected (or something along those lines, basically Mobo doesn't recognise the card since it's not in the gpu whitelist)

 

As for the bios, I first tried the bios update trough the OS updater (basically an app that updates your bios from your OS instead of putting it on a flashdrive and then doing it trough the Mobo itself) but while that was happening power turned off and bios got corrupted, so I had to burn the iso of the new bios (updated) on a CD, change the bios header thingie from pin 1&2 to 2&3, disconect all other sata devices/USB's, then boot the PC and it luckily did work, it installed the updated bios!

After that of course put all my sata devices back, putting the header back to pins 1&2, and could finally again boot in windows!

 

So all this simply to tell you that I don't know if it's uefi or compatible mode...

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors