cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
SherwinS
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-04-2016
Location: US
Views: 2,477
Message 1 of 50

Thinkcenter M910t-Add 3.5 inch HardDrivt to Secondary Drive Bay

Hi All, I have a new M910t (Product Number:10MMCTO1WW) and would like to add a 3.5" HDD to the secondary drive bay but I cannot figure out what part number I need order to secure the HDD to the chassis.

 

I have reviewed the User Guide/Hardware Maintenance Manual for the M901t and it appears that I need some sort of bracket to insert the HDD into which will be fastened to the chassis. I also tried to look it up on the "Parts Look Up" and its not even shown in the Schematic View.

 

Sorry I tried to add a screen show of the  Hardware Maintenance Maual page showing what the bracket looks like but it didn't seem to work.

 

I cannot figure out what the part number is for this bracket. Does anyone know what the part number is so I can order it?

 

I did order Part number: 4XF0P01009 (ThinkCentre 2.5: Storage Kit) and my HDD does fit into that bracket but I seem to need an additional bracket which the HDD has to fit into so that I can fasten it to the chassis (per the visual description in the Hardware Maintenance Manual).

 

Thanks,

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 1,803
Registered: ‎12-12-2016
Location: IN
Views: 2,460
Message 2 of 50

Re: Thinkcenter M910t-Add 3.5 inch HardDrivt to Secondary Drive Bay

Hi SherwinS,

Warm Greetings & welcome to Lenovo Community, happy to have you here.

 

Looking at the Parts & Accessories list of Thinkcenter M910t, FRU for the required drive bay is 01EF620 (332AT 3.5 HDD Tray) 

  

I hope the above information helped you.

Please feel free to post in Lenovo Community Forums if you have any further queries!

 

Regards,
Prabhansh
_______________________________________________
Tap that Kudos button if I helped.
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

____________________________________________________
ThinkPad T440p| Intel® Core™ i5-4300M| 2.6 GHz Dual core| 8GB
sclexman
Bit Torrent
Posts: 4,580
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
Location: US
Views: 2,436
Message 3 of 50

Re: Thinkcenter M910t-Add 3.5 inch HardDrivt to Secondary Drive Bay

SeniorGuru
Posts: 2,229
Registered: ‎06-13-2013
Location: US
Views: 2,412
Message 4 of 50

Re: Thinkcenter M910t-Add 3.5 inch HardDrivt to Secondary Drive Bay

I may be wrong, but I do not believe that the second drive bay in any tower machine can support a second 3.5" drive.  I believe the second drive bay only supports a 2.5" drive (either HDD or SSD).  I am not sure that the 3.5" mounting bracket is intended for the second bay. I think it is for the primary bay.  But again, I may be wrong here.

 

I have added second drives in a number of Lenovo machines, both SFF and towers starting with M93p and running through M910t.  I've always pre-ordered the machines with the empty blue wrap-around snap-on bracket which supports the 2.5" drive so that it simply inserts right into the matching metal drive bay chassis cage.

 

Granted, I don't think I ever even considered wanting to install a second 3.5" HDD, since it was an SSD that I always wanted to install as the second drive and these are 2.5" form factors.   My plan for the second drive was always to use Macrium Reflect to clone the Lenovo-provided HDD-based Windows system partitions over to the SSD in the second bay where I would then be booting from, and also to then re-purpose the Lenovo HDD for "data".  2.5" SSD comes in sizes from 128Gb up to 1TB now.

 

If more storage was really required for "data, the Lenovo 3.5" HDD in the primary drive bay could always be replaced with a much larger 3.5" HDD there, still running Windows from the 2.5" SSD in the second bay.

 

So maybe the fact that I've only ever been interested in adding a 2.5" SSD into the second bay has limited my experience and knowledge about this issue, making me honestly unqualified to answer the question here.  But I believe the second bay metal chassis cage isn't designed for a 3.5" drive as far as I know.  Maybe this part referenced converts it from a 2.5" bay to a 3.5" bay (and maybe I shouldn't chime in about something I really don't have experience with).

 

However... it is my suggestion that you give serious thought about enhancing your new M910t with a 2.5" SSD in the second bay and making it your boot drive with the original (or larger) 3.5" HDD in the primary 3.5" bay re-purposed for "data", rather than thinking about adding another 3.5" HDD in the second bay. 

sclexman
Bit Torrent
Posts: 4,580
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
Location: US
Views: 2,409
Message 5 of 50

Re: Thinkcenter M910t-Add 3.5 inch HardDrivt to Secondary Drive Bay

Multiple combos:

Bay 1: Slim external ODD bay
Bay 2: 5.25", 1.6" high, external, ODD / optional front access HDD
Bay 3: 3.5", 1" high, internal, HDD/SSD
Bay 4: 3.5", 1" high, internal, HDD/SSD (optional bay, bay comes with disk)
Bay 5: 2.5", internal, HDD/SSD (optional bay)
Notes: M910 Tower supports up to 3 SATA devices (ODD/HDD/SSD) and
1 eSATA device (front access HDD)
Slot 1: full-length full-height (length < 268mm, height < 112mm), PCIe 3.0 x16*
Slot 2: full-length full-height (length < 268mm, height < 112mm), PCIe 3.0 x1*
Slot 3: full-length full-height (length < 268mm, height < 112mm),
PCIe 3.0 x16 (x4 signal)*
Slot 4: no slot, only bracket for optional port extension*
M.2 card slots: Two (one for WLAN, one for SSD/Optal)

SherwinS
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-04-2016
Location: US
Views: 2,379
Message 6 of 50

Re: Thinkcenter M910t-Add 3.5 inch HardDrive to Secondary Drive Bay

Thanks for the suggestions. I think I'll go the route of adding an SSD as suggested.

 

MalcolmV
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-23-2018
Location: CA
Views: 2,208
Message 7 of 50

Re: Thinkcenter M910t-Add 3.5 inch HardDrivt to Secondary Drive Bay

Hi all, I've read through the thread, manuals .... but it's still not clear to me if I can actually add a secondary 3.5 HDD drive to the M910t.

 

I bought this part: https://encompass.com/item/11093680/Lenovo/01EF620/Mech_Asm_332At_3.5_Hdd_Asm_Tray

 

But I did not realise I need a bracket of some sort to put this into. 

 

So is it possible to install a secondary 3.5 HDD in the M910t? 

If so, what parts do I need? 

 

Thanks,

 

Malcolm

SeniorGuru
Posts: 2,229
Registered: ‎06-13-2013
Location: US
Views: 2,198
Message 8 of 50

Re: Thinkcenter M910t-Add 3.5 inch HardDrivt to Secondary Drive Bay

I believe that bracket is for use when wanting to install a new 3.5" SATA3 drive into the primary (but currently empty) 3.5" drive bay, when you bought your M910t with an M.2 PCIe NVMe 2280 SSD (installed off the corner of the motherboard, using the M.2 connector on the motherboard and the black plastic M.2 SSD adapter bracket snapped into the metal chassis to support the off-motherboard projection of the M.2 card).

 

I do not believe this bracket is intended for use to support a second 3.5" drive in the smaller secondary drive bay, which I think can only support a 2.5" SATA3 drive (either HDD or SSD).

 

I don't know how you can have two 3.5" drives in the M910t, unless you remove the optical drive and replace it with a 3.5" HDD.  But if you want to have an ODD, then I believe there is only one other 3.5" primary drive bay and one other 2.5" secondary drive bay.

 

I may be wrong here, but as I've posted earlier, I've never imagined having two 3.5" HDD plus one ODD.  Going back many years I have always ordered ANY PC from Lenovo with an optical drive installed, and also with Windows pre-installed on the 3.5" primary HDD, and I've also ordered the second drive bay to come pre-populated with the empty bracket needed to install a 2.5" drive in that second drive bay.  Typically, post-delivery I install my own 2.5" SATA3 SSD into that second drive bay, clone Windows over from the Lenovo-provided 3.5" HDD onto my new 2.5" SATA3 SSD (using Macrium Reflect), and then re-purpose the original Lenovo-provided 3.5" HDD for "data" partitions.

 

Alternatively, post-delivery on newer machines that support M.2, I might install my own new M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD drive (plus M.2 SSD storage kit adapter bracket), and clone Windows from the Lenovo factory 3.5" SATA3 HDD to the new M.2 SSD, and then again re-puprose the Lenovo 3.5" HDD for "data".  Still leaves the secondary drive bay available for 2.5" SATA3 HDD/SSD, as the pre-ordered empty 2.5" mounting bracket is still in there, awaiting possible future use for an actual 2.5" drive.

 

So, I cannot confirm that two 3.5" HDD plus ODD is a suported configuration, at least not from my own firsthand experience.  Perhaps somebody else who's actually done this can chime in here.

SGV2005
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎02-23-2019
Location: CA
Views: 628
Message 9 of 50

Re: Thinkcenter M910t-Add 3.5 inch HardDrivt to Secondary Drive Bay

Hi,

I am referring to the indications/responses from DSperber below, regarding the addition of a secondary SSD or HDD into a Lenovo M910T.

I am planning to buy in the next 2 days a Lenovo Desktop 10MM000PUS ThinkCentre M910T i7-7700 8GB 1X1TB SATA W10P,

As the PC will come with a 1TB HDD, I would like to add to it a second hard drive WD Blue 3D NAND 1TB PC SSD - SATA III 6 Gb/s 2.5"/7mm Solid State Drive, and then use it as the main drive from which I can be booting from, cloning the Windows 10 Pro and other applications from the HDD to the new WD SSD, as suggested by DSperber.

As I a not a tech savvy person, any detailed help and advices on that subject are mostly welcome.

The new PC Tower offers the following Expansion / Connectivity Bays:  

1 external 5.25" Slim Line ¦ 1 external 5.25" x 1/2H ¦ 1 (total) / 1 (free) x internal 3.5" x 1/3H ¦ 1 (total) / 1 (free) x internal 2.5"  ;  Slots:  4 (total) / 3 (free) x DIMM 288-pin ¦ 1 (total) / 0 (free) x CPU ¦ 1 (total) / 1 (free) x PCIe 3.0 x16 - full-length, full-height ¦ 1 (total) / 1 (free) x PCIe 3.0 x1 - full-length, full-height ¦ 1 (total) / 1 (free) x PCIe 3.0 x16 - full-length, full-height (x4 mode) ¦ 2 (total) / 0 (free) x M.2 Card Interfaces:  8 x USB 3.1 Gen 1 (4 front, 4 rear) ¦ 2 x microphone (1 front, 1 rear) ¦ 1 x headphones (1 in front) ¦ 1 x serial ¦ 1 x LAN (Gigabit Ethernet) ¦ 1 x VGA ¦ 2 x DisplayPort ¦ 1 x audio line-in ¦ 1 x audio line-out.


1/ Do I need to buy an adapter such as the ThinkCentre M.2 SSD Kit (Part Number: 4XF0P01011) in order to get the 2.5" form factor WD SSD inserted in the free bay reserved for it ? or any other kind of adapter that would be needed (including for the motherboard) ?

2/ How can I clone Windows 10 Pro and other applications over from the Lenovo-provided 3.5" HDD onto my new 2.5" SATA 3 SSD (using Macrium Reflect or True Image software from Western Digital website), and then more especially "re-purpose" the original Lenovo-provided 3.5" HDD for "data" partitions and use it a secondary hard drive ?

Detailed steps would help in securing the functionality of this whole "adventure".

Thank you.

 

 

 


 

 

SeniorGuru
Posts: 2,229
Registered: ‎06-13-2013
Location: US
Views: 615
Message 10 of 50

Re: Thinkcenter M910t-Add 3.5 inch HardDrivt to Secondary Drive Bay

The M.2 SSD kit (part# 4XF0P01011) is only needed if you want to install an M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD (2280 form) such as the Samsung 970 EVO or Pro.  This kit installs into notches built into the metal chassis off of a corner of the M910t motherboard, where the M.2 sockets are (for both optional M.2 cards to plug into, i.e. M.2 "storage" SSD as well as for M.2 WAN).  It is a plastic bracket which physically supports the off-board projection of either one or both of these optional M.2 cards, since the orientation of the motherboards M.2 socket connectors will cause most of the card(s) to extend out from the motherboard itself.

 

Anyway, unless you're planning on using an M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD (which you said you are NOT) you do NOT need this part.  You said you are planning on installing a 2.5" SATA3 SSD, which goes into the secondary 2.5" drive bay of the M910t.

 

What you might need, however, is the ThinkCentre Tower 2.5" Storage Kit (part #4XF0P01009). It has the brackets and additional SATA data cable to allow you to install a 2.5" HDD/SSD into either the primary 3.5" bay or secondary 2.5" bay in the machine.  I recently purchased an M910t 10MM machine and it actually came with the required empty 2.5" mouting bracket (same as would come with this kit) already pre-installed inside of the secondary 2.5" bay, so if I'd wanted to use that second 2.5" bay I would not have needed to purchase the storage kit part.  I don't know if your M910t already has that empty bracket pre-installed or not.

 

You might also need a SATA power cable to go to your 2.5" SSD in that secondary bay. The M910t contains two 4-pin power sockets on the motherboard, so there is motherboard power support for two SATA devices such as your existing primary 3.5" 1TB SATA3 drive. So one of the two 4-pin power sockets on the motherboard is no doubt already occupied by a 4-pin to 15-pin SATA power cable going to that 3.5" drive.

 

I don't know if your M910t came with an optical drive pre-installed but if it did then no doubt the second 4-pin motherboard power socket is also currently being used for a second 4-pin to 15-pin SATA power cable, going to the optical drive.  If your machine doesn't have an optical drive in it then the second motherboard 4-pin socket would be open and available for use by a new SATA power cable you would need, for a 4-pin to 15-pin SATA power cable like this one.

 

On the other hand, if you have both of the motherboard power sockets currently occupied because you do have an optical drive as well as your primary 3.5" 1TB SATA3 drive, then you will need to "Y-split" one of these power cables in order to power your new 2.5" SSD that you're adding into the secondary 2.5" bay. You could use something like this y-splitter SATA power cable which would give you two 15-pin SATA power connectors from the single 15-pin end of the current 4-pin to 15-pin power cable going from the motherboard to your current 3.5" 1TB drive.

 

If you bought that 2.5" storage kit then you have the necessary SATA "data" cable.  You need to connect it from the newly installed 2.5" SSD to one of the open motherboard SATA connectors on the motherboard.  There is a cluster of four sockets, with either one or two of them currently occupied by the "data" cables currently going to your primary 3.5" 1TB drive and maybe your optical drive as well.  So you have at least two or three of those four connectors still open and available for connection to the new 2.5" SSD.

 

But if you didn't buy the 2.5" storage kit, you still need to buy a SATA "data" cable, like this one. Again, it goes from the newly installed 2.5" SSD to an open SATA connector on the motherboard.  Note that one of the four SATA connectors is described as "eSATA" in the hardware maintenance manual, and as such would normally be intended for use with an external SATA drive (through a separate bracket.  This one particular SATA connector supports "hot swappable" external SATA drives, but otherwise is just like the other three connectors simply shown as "SATA 3.0 connector" in the hardware maintenance manual. They all support internal SATA3 devices.  Since you're not planning on an "external SATA" drive I'd say you can use any of the open motherboard SATA connectors for use with your new 2.5" SSD, though you might want to just pick one of the remaining open ordinary "SATA 3.0 connector" sockets rather than use up the "eSATA" socket.

.

So now you have the new 2.5" SATA3 SSD installed in the secondary 2.5" bay with the proper bracket.  And you now have SATA "data" and SATA "power" going to it using the appropriate motherboard connectors and cables.

 

The first time you bring up Win10 after physically installing your new 2.5" SSD, you should RUN DISKMGMT.MSC, to look at your drives.  Windows will present a popup message telling you that the new blank 2.5" "empty raw" drive needs to be formatted for partitioning using either MBR or GPT partitioning method.  MBR is old and has its limitations, but can be used for any drive 2TB or smaller.  MBR cannot be used for a drive larger than 2TB.  Alternatively GPT is newer and has no limitations, and can be used for ANY drive of ANY size (either smaller or larger than 2TB).  You MUST use GPT for a drive larger than 2TB.

 

Regarding your planned new 2.5" 1TB SSD you can use either MBR or GPT, but I'd suggest going with GPT (which no doubt is what your Lenovo-delivered 3.5" 1TB HDD spinner is partitioned with as well).  And DISKMGMT.MSC will have the GPT option box pre-selected, so just give it the OK.  You will now have an "empty" new 1TB SSD ready for use using the GPT partitioning method, and with no currently allocated partitions.

 

You now use Macrium Reflect (installed into your Win10, and run while Win10 is booted normally) to "clone" all of the partitions on your exising primary 3.5" 1TB HDD spinner over to the new 2.5" 1TB SSD.  The Macrium Reflect "clone this disk" GUI interface wizard is very intuitive.  You simply have to check the source drive and click on "clone this disk", which will present a new window showing "source" and "destination" in 2-panes. The "destination" pane will have a "select drive" link in it and you click on that and then select your new 2.5" SSD drive from what will be presented (since that's the only other drive available in your machine).  Now you have both "source" and "destination" drives shown back in the original window, with the target drive initially completely empty.

 

You now drag/drop (one at a time) EACH AND EVERY partition shown in the upper "source" drive to the leftmost free space down in the "destination" drive.  The "destination" drive will thus be populated with all of the corresponding partitions from the "source" drive".  You can also select any of the "destination" partitions and then click on "partition properties" to revise the size of that target cloned partition if you want.  Since you're going from 1TB source to 1TB target, you don't have to change any target partition sizes if you don't want to.  But you do have at least an opportunity here to make the target partitions either smaller or larger than the originals.

 

Then you push OK, and confirm the operations, and let it rip!  Doesn't matter that you're doing this "clone" while Win10 is operating.  Might take 10 minutes or so to complete the whole process.  When its' done you will close all of the open windows and re-boot the machine.

 

When the machine is restarting, press the ENTER key repeatedly in order to enter the BIOS setup utility.  You want to interrupt the normal boot process which at the moment is set to examine your HDD spinner first, which will be pointing to the Win10 partition on the HDD spinner.  Pressing ENTER will give you the "boot interrupt" menu and you then press F1 to get into the BIOS setup utility. 

 

Once in the BIOS, navigate over to the "STARTUP" tab, and than down to the primary boot device item which you press ENTER on to configure. You should be able to see your new 2.5" SSD as well as your existing 3.5" HDD spinner.  My own recommendation is to "exclude" everything you will never be booting from, and leave only those items you might possibly ever be booting from, in the proper sequence you'd like them searched in.  So I specify USB FDD, USB HDD, optical CD/DVD, and finally SSD.  I'd exclude HDD spinner (especially since you're going to re-purpose it for "data").  With these four items you can boot from a USB flash drive (either un-partitioned or partitioned), an optical disc, or if none of those are inserted then the BIOS will go to the "system reserved" partition on your SSD to pick up Boot Manager and start the real Windows boot process.  Macrium Reflect's "clone" will have changed the Boot Manager menu (now cloned onto the SSD) to point to the Windows system (C) partition now residing on the SSD, so when you boot from "system reserved" on SSD it will boot to Win10 on SSD, not the original Win10 currently still on HDD spinner.

 

After re-configuring the boot sequence in the BIOS, use F10 to "save changes and restart".  Or, you can ESC up and then navigate to the right to the EXIT tab where you again navigate to the "save changes and restart" and press ENTER.

 

The machine will restart, and you should now be booting from SSD.  You can confirm that by running either DISKMGMT.MSC or just File Explorer.  You should be able to prove from the partition "labels" or sizes or other indicators that you're actually now running Windows from the SSD.  Windows will also no doubt have assigned additional partition drive letters to the partitions currently still present on your HDD spinner.

 

My recommendation is to use Partition Wizard Free (or non-free "Pro" version for some additional capability) in order to handle ALL of your partitioning needs now and in the future.  It's a terrific product and again very intuitive to use.  You can delete, create, resize, move, label, etc., and you can certainly use it to re-purpose your 1TB HDD spinner for use from now on as "data".

 

Once you've confirmed that you're up and operating properly from the new SSD, you are free to delete all partitions on that physical drive using Partition Wizard.  This will include the "system reserved", Win10 system, and "Lenovo Recovery".  The small 128MB "GPT placeholder" partition will not be presented and available for you to delete, as this 128MB partition is required to be present for any drive partitioned using GPT.  Anyway, you just delete all of the partitions on the old 1TB HDD spinner that show up in Partition Wizard.  After queing up all the individual "delete" operations you push the APPLY button to perform them all.  If you make a mistake or want to change something you can use the UNDO button (before committing with APPLY) to back out one operation at a time from the queued list of operations you're stacking up before pushing APPLY.

 

Now the whole HDD spinner drive is "empty" and available for your to "create" one or more newly sized partitions of your choosing.  Again, you stack up the "create" operations specifying a partition size and drive letter to be assigned and "label" to be assigned (for display through Explorer when looking at that partition).  You can UNDO if you want to erase an operation, to re-do it. When you're ready just push APPLY.  Partition Wizard will do everything you asked it to do, including creating all partitions or your specified size, assigning their drive letters for Windows, and installing "labels".  NTFS will be the file system implied and pre-selected, but in theory you can also choose another file system (like FAT32) if you wanted although that's not recommended for internal drives like this.

 

Again, when the APPLY process completes you're now up and running and completely operational.  The 1TB HDD spinner now holds the one or more new "data" partitions you just created. And your 1TB SSD is now a cloned duplicate of your original Lenovo-provided HDD spinner.  You can also still use Partition Wizard if you want at any time in the future to further refine (i.e. delete/resize, etc.) any of the partitions on either the 1TB HDD spinner or even the 1TB SSD to meet your future needs.

 

And you can use Macrium Reflect going forward as your regular scheduled "system image" backup software, to take periodic "system image" backups of your operational Windows boot partitions (i.e. (a) GPT placeholder, (b) system reserved, and (b) Win10 C) to say an external USB 3.0 backup drive.  You can also use Macrium Reflect to back up your "data" partitions, either also in "system image" (i.e. full partition) format, or if you purchase the non-free "home" version of the product you can perform folder/file "data" backups which provides much more flexible selective "restore" functionality.  Or, you might consider a product like NovaBACKUP which also provides folder/file "data" backups as well as "system image".  Myself, I use Macrium Reflect Home (non-free, since that gets me vendor support and also supports ongoing product maintenance and enhancement) for "system image" backups multiple times per week, and I also use NovaBACKUP for (a) monthly FULL folder/file "data" backups, as well as (b) nightly INCREMENTAL folder/file "data backups" for just what I've worked on over the past 24 hours. Output media for both backup systems is an external 4TB USB 3.0 drive.

 

Should be enough to get you started.  Let me know if you have questions as you proceed.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors