Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkCentre DesktopsThinkCentre A, E, M, S Series
All Forum Topics
Options

0 Posts

02-11-2020

United States of America

1 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 0
  • Registered: ‎02-11-2020
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 0
  • Message 1 of 6

Thinkcentre M72e 2 Beeps and nothing

2020-02-11, 20:47 PM

Hello Community,

 

I just bought a used M72e Tiny, type 4004 (upgraded CPU to Xeon).

When I turn it on, there are two beeps and then nothing happens.

 

I tried the solution mentioned here. The only difference is that I used a USB to flash the bios as there is no CD Drive.

Also when I flashed the bios, there was no video output and the pc turned off. So I think the bios is flashed as it turns off on its own after 1 minute or so. 

 

Could someone please help. 

 

I am using display port for video output.

 

Thanks.

Reply
Options

5086 Posts

01-01-2012

United States of America

8271 Signins

130418 Page Views

  • Posts: 5086
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2012
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 130418
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: Thinkcentre M72e 2 Beeps and nothing

2020-02-13, 15:20 PM

 wrote:

 

I just bought a used M72e Tiny, type 4004 (upgraded CPU to Xeon).

When I turn it on, there are two beeps and then nothing happens.


Did you buy it with the Xeon?  Did it ever work?  (I doubt a Xeon will work in this particular Tiny, but could be wrong.)

 

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Thumbs up' button, if solved, the 'Accept as solution'.
Reply
Options

0 Posts

02-11-2020

United States of America

1 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 0
  • Registered: ‎02-11-2020
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 0
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: Thinkcentre M72e 2 Beeps and nothing

2020-02-13, 15:26 PM

@BiggAl

 

Yes I bought it with Xeon (E3 1260l). And the after researching I found out that the Xeon will work with this particular motherboard and chipset.

Reply
Options

5086 Posts

01-01-2012

United States of America

8271 Signins

130418 Page Views

  • Posts: 5086
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2012
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 130418
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: Thinkcentre M72e 2 Beeps and nothing

2020-02-13, 15:45 PM

OK.  Did it ever work? 

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Thumbs up' button, if solved, the 'Accept as solution'.
Reply
Options

0 Posts

02-11-2020

United States of America

1 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 0
  • Registered: ‎02-11-2020
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 0
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: Thinkcentre M72e 2 Beeps and nothing

2020-02-13, 16:30 PM

Yes it had worked. It was with a HDD before and now I want to put an SSD.

Since I did the upgrade, I am getting the two beeps and no display. I tried using the older HDD, it is still the same problem. 

I am using the display port for the video output.

Reply
Options

1 Posts

03-22-2021

Australia

2 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎03-22-2021
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 0
  • Message 6 of 6

Re:Thinkcentre M72e 2 Beeps and nothing

2021-03-22, 23:45 PM

Hi, 

Did you find a solution to this? I have 2 Thinkcentres in the same state, one was working fine and tried upgrading the Ram and the other I transfered to a new box. The upgrade on ram failed and was beeping 3 times then another of a different tone, I believe this means that no ram is detected. Put the ram back in that was working now I get 2 beeps and nothing. The one I transfered to new box just failed straight up but did find the pins that make it power up. I'll let you know when I find a solution. Thanks

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms