Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkCentre DesktopsThinkCentre A, E, M, S Series
All Forum Topics
Options

4 Posts

03-24-2008

Fort Wayne, IN, USA

5 Signins

19 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎03-24-2008
  • Location: Fort Wayne, IN, USA
  • Views: 19
  • Message 1 of 6

Upgrading the power supply on ThinkCentre A55

2008-03-24, 19:20 PM
I have a ThinkCentre A55, 8705-K2U.  The installed power supply is a Hipro rated at 250W.  I want to install a higher end graphics card and I already have 2 DVD drives, 2 hard drives, Firewire adapter and Adaptec disk controller installed.  I'm thinking I need at least a 500W power supply.  From what I can determine the current supply is the ATX type.  Would any ATX type power supply fit this PC?  Any thing to look out for before doing this?  Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks!
Reply
Options

124 Posts

03-25-2008

Citrus Heights, California

64 Signins

1858 Page Views

  • Posts: 124
  • Registered: ‎03-25-2008
  • Location: Citrus Heights, California
  • Views: 1858
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: Upgrading the power supply on ThinkCentre A55

2008-03-25, 20:22 PM
Is there a particular card you had in mind?
 
Proud supporter of the Toronto Maple Leafs Hockey Club
Reply
Options

4 Posts

03-24-2008

Fort Wayne, IN, USA

5 Signins

19 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎03-24-2008
  • Location: Fort Wayne, IN, USA
  • Views: 19
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: Upgrading the power supply on ThinkCentre A55

2008-03-25, 20:30 PM
I have not actually chosen the graphics card yet but I am looking for something with a DVI output for my wide screen display, a decent amount of on-board memory (256mb or more), ability to run 3D RP games like Second Life and would work well with Photoshop.  I know there are a ton of good cards out there but a lot of them seem to suck up the power or require a dedicated power connection.  Thanks for any help you can provide.
Reply
Options

124 Posts

03-25-2008

Citrus Heights, California

64 Signins

1858 Page Views

  • Posts: 124
  • Registered: ‎03-25-2008
  • Location: Citrus Heights, California
  • Views: 1858
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: Upgrading the power supply on ThinkCentre A55

2008-03-25, 20:37 PM
Fill out this power supply worksheet here:
 
 
(be as accurate as you can on all aspects , if one doesnt apply leave it blank)
 
It will give you a general idea of wattage.
Proud supporter of the Toronto Maple Leafs Hockey Club
Reply
Options

4 Posts

03-24-2008

Fort Wayne, IN, USA

5 Signins

19 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎03-24-2008
  • Location: Fort Wayne, IN, USA
  • Views: 19
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: Upgrading the power supply on ThinkCentre A55

2008-03-25, 23:51 PM
Thanks much for responding so quickly.  I guess my only real question is... will another manufacturer's ATX form factor power supply fit the A55?
Reply
Options

124 Posts

03-25-2008

Citrus Heights, California

64 Signins

1858 Page Views

  • Posts: 124
  • Registered: ‎03-25-2008
  • Location: Citrus Heights, California
  • Views: 1858
  • Message 6 of 6

Re: Upgrading the power supply on ThinkCentre A55

2008-03-26, 1:35 AM
I reccomend against this. I dont have this information to be honest with you. Generally cards that do not require a power connector, like the Lower number low end range cards like the geforce gs series can get off with 250 watts.
 
If there is no fan, then its even lesser.
Proud supporter of the Toronto Maple Leafs Hockey Club
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms