English Community

ThinkCentre DesktopsThinkCentre A, E, M, S Series
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

09-02-2018

GB

4 Signins

102 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎09-02-2018
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 102
  • Message 1 of 4

Would I need to upgrade my PSU? - Thinkcentre E73

2018-10-07, 12:06 PM

I have Thinkcentre E73 SFF (i3-4150)/500GB/iGPU) which has a 240W PSU; would I need to go to a 300W (/w adaptor) to install a GT 1030 + a CPU Upgrade and if so; what are the PSU's dimensions?

 

This will be the GPU I'm getting: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0719CR59P

This will be the CPU I'm getting: https://ebay.us/pmoh3r

and this the PSU (if needed): https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00I601YI8

 

Reply
Options

4218 Posts

01-01-2012

US

7989 Signins

120933 Page Views

  • Posts: 4218
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2012
  • Location: US
  • Views: 120933
  • Message 2 of 4

Re: Would I need to upgrade my PSU? - Thinkcentre E73

2018-10-07, 15:54 PM

Firstly, that processor you linked too, was never sold with a E73 SFF, it may work, it may not.  Two, if you use one of the lower wattage 'S' processors your system did sell with, you won't need to upgrade the power supply to install a GT 1030.

 

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Thumbs up' button, if solved, the 'Accept as solution'.
Reply
Options

3 Posts

09-02-2018

GB

4 Signins

102 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎09-02-2018
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 102
  • Message 3 of 4

Re: Would I need to upgrade my PSU? - Thinkcentre E73

2018-10-07, 16:46 PM

Alright so if I get this CPU instead I should be fine and not need to upgrade the PSU?

https://ebay.us/rpSsEN

Reply
Options

4218 Posts

01-01-2012

US

7989 Signins

120933 Page Views

  • Posts: 4218
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2012
  • Location: US
  • Views: 120933
  • Message 4 of 4

Re: Would I need to upgrade my PSU? - Thinkcentre E73

2018-10-07, 17:12 PM

Yes, the system can be upgraded to i5-4570S (which uses 19w less than the i5-4460 linked to in the first post, but has equal performance), and can support a GT 1030 DDR5 (30w) with existing factory supply.

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Thumbs up' button, if solved, the 'Accept as solution'.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete