English Community

ThinkCentre DesktopsThinkCentre A, E, M, S Series
All Forum Topics
Options

10 Posts

12-22-2017

US

4 Signins

106 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎12-22-2017
  • Location: US
  • Views: 106
  • Message 1 of 17

m900 DP to HDMI not working

2017-12-28, 15:44 PM

M900 FHX

ser no xxxxxxx

WIN 10 64 BIT

BIOS  UPDATED ON 12/22/17 TO FWKT58A,9/5/2016

Intel 530 graphics

 

I am using 3 monitors, VGA (working), DP to DVI ( working) and trying to add a DP to HDMI.  I am using a passive cable ( the combination of the cable and monitor are working on a Dell laptop).

When I add this third monitor the M900 system does not detect it.  I have run a third monitor( DP to DVI which works) so I know the system will detect 3 monitors.

The DP port is marked DP++ so I assumed a passive cable would work.

Any suggestions?  Thanks in advance.

 

Mod:  obscured the serial no. per forum guidelines, to prevent it's unauthorized use

Reply
Options

2355 Posts

06-13-2013

US

10691 Signins

57186 Page Views

  • Posts: 2355
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2013
  • Location: US
  • Views: 57186
  • Message 2 of 17

Re: m900 DP to HDMI not working

2017-12-28, 16:50 PM

Try this.

 

Default BIOS setting for the video Devices is [AUTO] and must be changed to [IGD] and then enable Multi-Monitor Support in the IGD section in BIOS video Setup, F10 Save and exit.

 

The following BIOS settings are required:

Select Active Video = IGD
Multi-Monitor Support = Enabled

 

Reply
Options

10 Posts

12-22-2017

US

4 Signins

106 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎12-22-2017
  • Location: US
  • Views: 106
  • Message 3 of 17

Re: m900 DP to HDMI not working

2017-12-28, 17:07 PM

Thank you for the reply.

Unfortunatley, those are the settings that are already active.

Reply
Options

3797 Posts

01-01-2012

US

7836 Signins

116738 Page Views

  • Posts: 3797
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2012
  • Location: US
  • Views: 116738
  • Message 4 of 17

Re: m900 DP to HDMI not working

2017-12-28, 17:08 PM

Have you tried switching the DVI and HDMI adapters at the ports on the M900?  

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Thumbs up' button, if solved, the 'Accept as solution'.
Reply
Options

10 Posts

12-22-2017

US

4 Signins

106 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎12-22-2017
  • Location: US
  • Views: 106
  • Message 5 of 17

Re: m900 DP to HDMI not working

2017-12-28, 17:10 PM

Thanks.  Just tried it and no go.  Think an active adapter would help?

Reply
Options

2355 Posts

06-13-2013

US

10691 Signins

57186 Page Views

  • Posts: 2355
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2013
  • Location: US
  • Views: 57186
  • Message 6 of 17

Re: m900 DP to HDMI not working

2017-12-28, 17:42 PM

DP to HDMI should work perfectly with a single passive 2-ended cable (which I would always use instead of a 2-piece setup of DP->HDMI adapter + HDMI-HDMI cable).  DP can feed any digital monitor via DVI, DP or HDMI.  But HDMI connections are maybe the "most delicate" of the three because of the HDMI handshake that goes on (due to potential HDCP considerations).

 

What type of third monitor are you using?  Just for experimentation is it possible to swap the DVI and HDMI connections, reversing those two monitors?  Can you use DP on either monitor?  I'm sure both monitors have a DVI connector on them but depending on their age and cost they may or may not also have DP and/or HDMI connectors.

Reply
Options

10 Posts

12-22-2017

US

4 Signins

106 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎12-22-2017
  • Location: US
  • Views: 106
  • Message 7 of 17

Re: m900 DP to HDMI not working

2017-12-28, 17:49 PM

Thanks.

I am using a 3 Sceptre 24 in. monitors.  one has dvi , hdmi and vga ( now working on DVI).  2nd and 3rd have vga and hdmi( one working on vga)  the third is the one that I cannot get to work on the dp to hdmi. I am using a cable with no adapter.

Reply
Options

2355 Posts

06-13-2013

US

10691 Signins

57186 Page Views

  • Posts: 2355
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2013
  • Location: US
  • Views: 57186
  • Message 8 of 17

Re: m900 DP to HDMI not working

2017-12-28, 18:30 PM

wrote:

Thanks.

I am using a 3 Sceptre 24 in. monitors.  one has dvi , hdmi and vga ( now working on DVI).  2nd and 3rd have vga and hdmi( one working on vga)  the third is the one that I cannot get to work on the dp to hdmi. I am using a cable with no adapter.


Just to gather data points, can you try using that first monitor which has DVI, HDMI and VGA (and which you currently are successfully using the DP->DVI connection with) using the same DP port on the M900 but instead with the DP->HDMI cable you're currently having no success with on your third monitor?

Reply
Options

3797 Posts

01-01-2012

US

7836 Signins

116738 Page Views

  • Posts: 3797
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2012
  • Location: US
  • Views: 116738
  • Message 9 of 17

Re: m900 DP to HDMI not working

2017-12-28, 18:39 PM

Failing all else, completely uninstall the graphics driver (meaning using Device Manager, uninstall and delete the driver multiple times, rebooting between, until you see the same driver version 2 or 3 times -- this will be the driver in the base Win 10 install), then install the latest driver from the Lenovo support page for this system (have this file already downloaded ready to go.)  

 

Edit:  see my last post in this thread

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Thumbs up' button, if solved, the 'Accept as solution'.
Reply
Options

10 Posts

12-22-2017

US

4 Signins

106 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎12-22-2017
  • Location: US
  • Views: 106
  • Message 10 of 17

Re: m900 DP to HDMI not working

2017-12-28, 18:58 PM

I tried that monitor with the hdmi and it does not work.  I also contacted Lenovo to see if there are any video driver updates and it looks like there is none for the Intel 530. There final decision is to replace the motherboard.  I am not so sure that is the issue since I have 3 of these machines ( 2 I5 and 1 I7) and would not like to replace all the boards Also, when I contacted INtel they said that they could not update it since the board had custom software.

 

I saw another suggestion to delete the existign driver and download the INtel driver.  Sound reasonable?  thanks again for your response.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save