Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
dutchg
Paper Tape
Views: 441
Message 1 of 7

video quit working?

I have an A60 that's about 3 years old. It's been sitting in the same spot all that time--this machine hasn't had any kind of physical stresses. Yesterday, out of the blue,  it just stopped outputting video to the monitor. I rebooted a few times, nothing. I connected my laptop to the monitor to make sure it was working--the monitor works fine. 

The computer doesn't sound any different than it had before. Sounds like it's running. DVD drawer opens just fine. But since I can't see anything on a monitor, I'm not sure what might be going on.

I'm no expert, but I'm not a complete novice at poking around inside a computer. I'd like to see if I can troubleshoot the video card, maybe try reseating it or something. Does that sound like a reasonable first step?  Any other troubleshooting ideas would be very much appreciated. 

Thanks,

Dutch

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Views: 417
Message 2 of 7

Re: video quit working?

1) what video card are you using?

2) have you tried to reset the cmos using clr cmos jumper?
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
dutchg
Paper Tape
Views: 413
Message 3 of 7

Thanks for posting.

1) I'm not sure..I'll dig up that info. 

2) No, I've not tried. I'm not even sure what those are. But I'm game for giving it a try. I won't ask you educate me on the details--I'll poke around on the web, see what I can learn, and come back here a little better armed.  But one question: Are the cmos operations doable without being able to monitor? 

dutchg
Paper Tape
Views: 401
Message 4 of 7

OK, I reset the cmos jumper, to no avail.