English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: 11e (Windows), 13, E and Edge series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

81 Posts

08-24-2009

CA

105 Signins

727 Page Views

  • Posts: 81
  • Registered: ‎08-24-2009
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 727
  • Message 1 of 8

CPU Frequency set to max always, AMD

2010-04-12, 16:57 PM

Hi,

 

Been working on the AMD model 13" and noticed that the CPU frequency never throttles down.  Everything set to default OEM build with WIn 7 HP x64, and tested with every power scheme in the list.  Ive been reading that AMD has the "powernow" technology to reduce the frequency (at least by half or so), and Ive never had problems with my intel models, so Im wondering is this an issue with AMD or Lenovo?

 

I really dont want to have to do another clean install of Win 7 Pro on another HDD, but if that can solve the problem here, then I guess I have no choice.  Any ideas how to get the CPU to throttle down?

Reply
Options

10 Posts

04-06-2010

Seattle

10 Signins

105 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎04-06-2010
  • Location: Seattle
  • Views: 105
  • Message 2 of 8

Re: CPU Frequency set to max always, AMD

2010-04-12, 19:45 PM

Well, I did some more research. There a similar thread regarding a Toshiba notebook here. Somebody pointed out this spec sheet, which shows that the L325 does not support PowerNow. I am bummed. I find it weird that this product is rated EPEAT Gold and Energy Star without supporting throttling. I am investigating further. :-(

Reply
Options

81 Posts

08-24-2009

CA

105 Signins

727 Page Views

  • Posts: 81
  • Registered: ‎08-24-2009
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 727
  • Message 3 of 8

Re: CPU Frequency set to max always, AMD

2010-04-13, 1:27 AM

I dug a bit into the lenovo drivers.

 

Apparently, AMD released a cpu driver with powernow enabled for windows xp that you can download from lenovo.  Doesnt work with Win 7.  They skipped vista, and judging from the AMD website, looks like they pretty much have given up on supporting powernow.  If that is true, then the edge would make a great desktop machine but have very little use for me as an "ultraportable"... those x200's new on ebay for ~$800 are looking very tempting right about now.

Reply
Options

10 Posts

04-06-2010

Seattle

10 Signins

105 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎04-06-2010
  • Location: Seattle
  • Views: 105
  • Message 4 of 8

Re: CPU Frequency set to max always, AMD

2010-04-13, 2:34 AM

Special drivers aren't necessary for Vista/7. PowerNow works out of the box on vanilla Vista/7 drivers, which is why AMD  (and Lenovo) only offer custom drivers for XP.

 

The problem, as I said above, is that the L325 does not support PowerNow.

Reply
Options

81 Posts

08-24-2009

CA

105 Signins

727 Page Views

  • Posts: 81
  • Registered: ‎08-24-2009
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 727
  • Message 5 of 8

Re: CPU Frequency set to max always, AMD

2010-04-14, 16:09 PM

Interesting.  I wonder if the x100e supports powernow with either single/dual core amd chips?

 

In any case, the powernow is a big negative for me on the edge.

Reply
Options

32 Posts

08-28-2008

North Carolina

60 Signins

1057 Page Views

  • Posts: 32
  • Registered: ‎08-28-2008
  • Location: North Carolina
  • Views: 1057
  • Message 6 of 8

Re: CPU Frequency set to max always, AMD

2010-04-14, 22:35 PM

In the current AMD Neo family the MV40, L335, and L625 support powernow CPU frequency state changes.  The L325 does not have this feature.

 

The Edge and X100e both support it, so if you have a L625 in an Edge or an X100e it will change frequency based on load.

Reply
Options

4 Posts

04-14-2010

Germany

5 Signins

41 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎04-14-2010
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 41
  • Message 7 of 8

Re: CPU Frequency set to max always, AMD

2010-04-15, 17:40 PM

Hi,

 

you can use RMCLock to alter the CPU speed. It works quite well. So at the momemt I'm running my Edge with 1Ghz in battery mode. One problem might be the voltage adjustment. I tried 0.750 and my notebook still worked, but you can't go much below that.  I haven't tested yet the influence on the runtime. Maybe this helps me to keep my notebook running more than 3 hours.

 

Here's a good instruction (only German, if that helps :)) http://www.computerbase.de/forum/showthread.php?t=409714

 

Best regards,

 

Andreas

 

PS: Great notebook, but this runtime (AMD) is fairly poor :/

Reply
Options

81 Posts

08-24-2009

CA

105 Signins

727 Page Views

  • Posts: 81
  • Registered: ‎08-24-2009
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 727
  • Message 8 of 8

Re: CPU Frequency set to max always, AMD

2010-04-16, 0:57 AM

This is an interesting discussion... a question though:

 

If the L325 doesnt support powernow in win 7/vista, then does the driver listed by Lenovo to enable powernow in XP not work?  I cant see how a chipset that isnt supposed to have a feature somehow regain that feature by software.

 

In any case, I think I might just bite the bullet and trade up my machine for the intel version cause Id like the tech out the start to work automatically (yeah, Im lazy that way cause I deal with computer problems all day at work!)

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete