Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: 11e (Windows), 13, E and Edge series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

9644 Posts

12-27-2009

Canada

3313 Signins

95283 Page Views

  • Posts: 9644
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 95283
  • Message 141 of 347

Re: topic

2011-10-19, 21:26 PM
Anyone tried patching on the stock AMD drivers in conjunction with the Lenovo package?

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Reply
Options

3538 Posts

07-12-2010

Malaysia

5065 Signins

104816 Page Views

  • Posts: 3538
  • Registered: ‎07-12-2010
  • Location: Malaysia
  • Views: 104816
  • Message 142 of 347

Re: topic

2011-10-20, 7:21 AM
@All,

Engineering has released an updated version of AMD driver. Appreciate if everyone could test this out and see if it solves the issue.

http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?DocID=DS013670

//JameZ
Reply
Options

18 Posts

06-02-2011

Australia

480 Signins

1049 Page Views

  • Posts: 18
  • Registered: ‎06-02-2011
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 1049
  • Message 143 of 347

Re: topic

2011-10-20, 7:24 AM

Hey JameZ, that's good to hear!

However, how about a BIOS option to fully enable the ATI card for people with E320/E420/E520???

The E420s has had this option added to its latest BIOS but nothing yet for the rest of the Edge's...

I'm trying to get the ATI card running on Linux and this would be the best option by far.

Reply
Options

53 Posts

09-01-2011

Australia

894 Signins

1331 Page Views

  • Posts: 53
  • Registered: ‎09-01-2011
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 1331
  • Message 144 of 347

Re: Anyone tried patching on the stock AMD drivers in conjunction with the Lenovo package?

2011-10-20, 7:42 AM

@ColonelONeill

"Anyone tried patching on the stock AMD drivers in conjunction with the Lenovo package?"

 

Yes, that doesn't get the AMD 6630M to work on OpenGL games/applications.

(Useful if you want to update your AMD drivers though)

Reply
Options

53 Posts

09-01-2011

Australia

894 Signins

1331 Page Views

  • Posts: 53
  • Registered: ‎09-01-2011
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 1331
  • Message 145 of 347

Re: topic

2011-10-20, 8:02 AM

@JameZ

 

Are you aware that this problem is not specific to the E420s?

It's the same for all laptops in the Thinkpad Edge series. And that most of the people here don't have a E420s.

 

 

 

Do the new drivers you posted work on all the Thinkpad Edge's? (ie. E320, E420, E520)?

It says only the E420s is supported on the download page.

 

 

 

Has anyone with or without an E420s tried the new drivers?

Reply
Options

7 Posts

07-08-2011

United Kingdom

102 Signins

278 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎07-08-2011
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • Views: 278
  • Message 146 of 347

Re: topic

2011-10-20, 12:35 PM

Excellent, just installed them... and  it appears to work! I opened up Amnesia: Dark Descent, an OpenGL game that had previously shown nothing but a black screen due to the lack of OpenGL support.. and it works! Wasn't able to test it fully, but it certainly appears to be working properly.

 

@Anno I managed to successfully install the driver on an E520 without any issues, the driver seems to be tied in to the model of the AMD card rather than the Laptop model.

Reply
Options

53 Posts

09-01-2011

Australia

894 Signins

1331 Page Views

  • Posts: 53
  • Registered: ‎09-01-2011
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 1331
  • Message 147 of 347

Re: topic

2011-10-20, 12:43 PM

Oh, wow, thanks! I'll be installing those drivers ASAP

Reply
Options

7 Posts

08-11-2011

Finland

13 Signins

38 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎08-11-2011
  • Location: Finland
  • Views: 38
  • Message 148 of 347

Re: topic

2011-10-20, 14:55 PM

@BMcGillivray

 

The driver doesn't work, still having the black screen on amnesia and rage wont start. Can you tell me how did you install the driver?

 

I'm also running the E520 with windows 7 64bit.

Reply
Options

7 Posts

07-08-2011

United Kingdom

102 Signins

278 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎07-08-2011
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • Views: 278
  • Message 149 of 347

Re: topic

2011-10-20, 15:00 PM

I downloaded the exe from the provided link on this thread, once downloaded I ran, and followed the wizard, it installed, the screen flickered and I was asked to reboot, and did so. After booting up, it re-ran the Windows System Assessment Tool. Once finished, I loaded up Amnesia: Dark Descent (I had previously set this application to "High Performance" in the switchable graphics menu)... when the game loaded, I had a rendered room instead of total blackness, so it appeared to be working, not sure if there will be glitches still further down the line, but the room is rendered at least.

 

I have a E520 with Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, the install that came with the laptop.

Reply
Options

102 Posts

06-17-2011

Poland

438 Signins

1313 Page Views

  • Posts: 102
  • Registered: ‎06-17-2011
  • Location: Poland
  • Views: 1313
  • Message 150 of 347

Re: topic

2011-10-20, 15:16 PM

" I had a rendered room instead of total blackness"

Probably because of Intel Driver update, cause Google Earth is still running off of Intel for me :/

 

Update: And so is FurMark

 

E420, Win 7 x64, fresh, clean install

 

So without updated BIOS (I guess) it's still running off of Intel's gpu, it's just that newer drivers bring a lot of improvements for Intel GPU.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms