English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: 11e (Windows), 13, E and Edge series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

09-19-2013

Iceland

3 Signins

32 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎09-19-2013
  • Location: Iceland
  • Views: 32
  • Message 1 of 12

What is Express Cache supposed to do?

2013-09-19, 20:12 PM

I have E530 with 1TB disk and 16GB mSSD disk, which is partioned in 2 partitions. Now, I suspect Express Cache is using it somtimes, but I never see any usage from it in Task Manager. Task Manager Screengrab

However, sometimes Express Cache goes nuts on my HD, doing the opposite of what it is supposed to be doing Resource Monitor Showing Express Cache thrashing my HD

 

However, it seems to be doing something, sometime. I suspect it is from rebooting, but I rarely reboot my computer, so I'm not gaining much from it. 

 

Would I benefit if I just formatted that mSATA drive and perhaps put the windows swap file and perhaps other cache folders there? I always feel that the disk I/O is the bottleneck of this computer, it feels slow when accessing the disk.

 

Anybody?

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

6216 Posts

10-29-2009

NC

17553 Signins

159138 Page Views

  • Posts: 6216
  • Registered: ‎10-29-2009
  • Location: NC
  • Views: 159138
  • Message 2 of 12

Re: What is Express Cache supposed to do?

2013-09-20, 1:24 AM

ExpressCache is a learning cache, it monitors your normal PC usage and stores the most commonly-accessed HDD blocks on the small SSD which is several times faster than the large HDD.  

 

What immediately jumped out at me from your screenshots is how low your cache read/write percentages are, as reported by eecmd.exe -info.  And the cache is nearly full.  I would say without a doubt that ExpressCache isn't optimized for how you are using your PC, and maybe this is why you aren't noticing a huge benefit to it.  I don't know for sure, but the thrashing may be caused by ExpressCache.exe swapping out the contents of the cache that is too small for how you use your PC.

 

One possible reason is because with the 16GB mSATA disk, Lenovo split it into 2 partitions.  Half is for ExpressCache, and the other half is for 30-Day Standby which is Intel's hibernate-to-disk scheme.  Just being honest with you, the 30-Day Standby stuff is useless and my recommendation is to wipe the mSATA SSD and let ExpressCache use the whole thing.

 

The easiest way to do this is to use the DISKPART CLEAN command on the mSATA SSD, because the mSATA SSD partitions can't be deleted from Disk Management.  Then, use the eecmd.exe -partition command to create a new partition that will take up the entire mSATA SSD.  Another suggestion is to use the latest version of ExpressCache here:  http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?DocID=DS035460  (I noticed you are using an older version).

 

Just some ideas and let me know if you need specific help with anything I wrote above.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

3 Posts

09-19-2013

Iceland

3 Signins

32 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎09-19-2013
  • Location: Iceland
  • Views: 32
  • Message 3 of 12

Re: What is Express Cache supposed to do?

2013-09-20, 13:39 PM

Thank you. This explains a lot. 

 

I guess swapping the contents of a SSD to a HD sort of defeats the whole purpose of using the SSD for caching. This also could explain noticeable bad disk performance on this machine. It's about the only thing that I feel is 'bad' on otherwise pretty well balanced machine. 

 

 

Reply
Options

2 Posts

03-04-2013

Denmark

11 Signins

32 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎03-04-2013
  • Location: Denmark
  • Views: 32
  • Message 4 of 12

Re: What is Express Cache supposed to do?

2013-09-24, 13:49 PM

Ég formataði minn mSSD disk og leyfi express cache ad sja um allt núna.

 

En það sem ég mæli með sérstaklega er að uppfæra biosinn í tölvunni.

Mín tölva var búin að vera í algjöri bulli og þvílíkt hægfær og lengi að starta sér upp úr sleep og hibernate.

Og eftir ég uppfærði biosinn byrjaði hún að runna miklu meira svona smooth og miklu hraðar, aldrei neitt vesen lengur með hana.

nema jú einhver intel driver fyrir þráðlausa netið er með bögg við mig og blue-screena mig, hef bara ekki nennt að henta honum út enþá.

 

kkv

Jakob Logi

 


Moderator edit; translate.google.com translation of above content;

 

I formatted mSSD my license plate and express cache take care of everything now.

But what I especially recommend is to update the BIOS on the computer.

My computer was created to be absolute nonsense and what a great hægfær and long start-up from Sleep and Hibernate.

And after I updated the BIOS, she started a bush so much more smooth and much faster, never any problems with it anymore.

but, after some Intel driver for the wireless network is using packs with me and blue-screen me, I just did not bother to throw him still burning.

 

Moderator Note; by all means post in another language for the purposes of accuracy, but as the forum language is English please provide a translation for the benefit of others.

 

Reply
Options

18 Posts

03-24-2013

Belgium

43 Signins

175 Page Views

  • Posts: 18
  • Registered: ‎03-24-2013
  • Location: Belgium
  • Views: 175
  • Message 5 of 12

Re: What is Express Cache supposed to do?

2013-10-16, 16:27 PM

I have wondered the same recently, but I can't seem to install the new version. I keep getting this error:

 

" The file C:\Program Files\Condusiv Technologies\ExpressCache\SupportDll\ecbase.dll can not be found. Make sure the file is on the target system, or is already installed."

 

What can I do now?

Reply
Options

3577 Posts

12-02-2007

US

8966 Signins

183886 Page Views

  • Posts: 3577
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2007
  • Location: US
  • Views: 183886
  • Message 6 of 12

Re: What is Express Cache supposed to do?

2013-10-17, 9:16 AM

Hello,

 

Maybe reinstalling it would help?

 

Here is a link to the download:

 

Name:  ExpressCache Software for Windows 7 64bit, Windows 8 64bit - ThinkCentre, ThinkPad

Version:  1.0.100

Released:  02 June 2013

URLhttp://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?DocID=DS035460

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee.

L380 YogaP72 (20MB-*)P50 (20EN-*)S230u (3347-4HU)T23 (2648-LU7)T42 (2378-R4U)T43p (2678-H7U)T61p (6459-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)X220 (4286-CTO)X250 (20CM-*)Yoga 370

  Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Język Polski    Moto English


Need an answer, fast? Try using Browser Search to find it in the Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

18 Posts

03-24-2013

Belgium

43 Signins

175 Page Views

  • Posts: 18
  • Registered: ‎03-24-2013
  • Location: Belgium
  • Views: 175
  • Message 7 of 12

Re: What is Express Cache supposed to do?

2013-10-17, 10:00 AM

wrote:

Hello,

 

Maybe reinstalling it would help?

 

Here is a link to the download:

 

Name:  ExpressCache Software for Windows 7 64bit, Windows 8 64bit - ThinkCentre, ThinkPad

Version:  1.0.100

Released:  02 June 2013

URLhttp://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?DocID=DS035460

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 


Nope, even uninstalling threw the same error, but it did get uninstalled.

Reinstalling keeps throwing that error....

Reply
Options

1 Posts

12-24-2013

Waterloo ON

1 Signins

8 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎12-24-2013
  • Location: Waterloo ON
  • Views: 8
  • Message 8 of 12

Re: What is Express Cache supposed to do?

2013-12-24, 21:02 PM

I know I'm a bit late to the party, but this seemed more efficient than starting a new thread.

 

Anyway, I was having similar issues in that I was experiencing boot & wakeup speeds that aren't appreciably faster than my previous machine (IdeaPad 510).

Current machine: T430s with 16gb mSATA SDD

It looked like ExpressCache was properly installed, but the drive was partitioned into 2 segments.

 

So following someotherguy's advice I've used DISKPART CLEAN, and grabbed version 100 of ExpressCache.

 

Tried to run eecmd.exe -partition, and this caused ECCmd to exit with error 0xb7 (183).

 

Specifying the disk # ("eecmd.exe -partition 1") changes the error code to 0x7d1 (2001).

 

Any ideas on how to proceed?

Also, thanks a ton for the info so far!

Reply
Options

18 Posts

03-24-2013

Belgium

43 Signins

175 Page Views

  • Posts: 18
  • Registered: ‎03-24-2013
  • Location: Belgium
  • Views: 175
  • Message 9 of 12

Re : What is Express Cache supposed to do ?

2013-12-26, 9:58 AM

paaaaaaaat wrote :

I know I ' m a bit late to the party , but this seemed more efficient than starting a new thread .

 

Anyway , I was having similar issues in that I was experiencing boot & wakeup speeds that aren ' t appreciably faster than my previous machine ( IdeaPad 510 ).

Current machine : T430s with 16gb mSATA SDD

It looked like ExpressCache was properly installed , but the drive was partitioned into 2 segments .

 

So following someotherguy ' s advice I ' ve used DISKPART CLEAN , and grabbed version 100 of ExpressCache .

 

Tried to run eecmd . exe - partition , and this caused ECCmd to exit with error 0xb7 ( 183 ).

 

Specifying the disk # (" eecmd . exe - partition 1 ") changes the error code to 0x7d1 ( 2001 ).

 

Any ideas on how to proceed ?

Also , thanks a ton for the info so far !


I got version 1 . 0 . 100 to install eventually and also followed some advice to clear al the partitions on the SSD and add new partitions . But If I recall well , I didn ' t get that error , but the process did not go all too smooth either . I got it working using different guides , tips and tricks found on line on different sites .

Reply
Options

107 Posts

07-18-2013

GB

395 Signins

1537 Page Views

  • Posts: 107
  • Registered: ‎07-18-2013
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 1537
  • Message 10 of 12

Re: Re : What is Express Cache supposed to do ?

2013-12-26, 12:48 PM

This is how my screen looks when i run eccmc -info

 

Can anyone tell me does it looks normal and like it's being used correctly?

 


C:\Program Files\Condusiv Technologies\ExpressCache>eccmd -info
ExpressCache Command Version 1.0.100.0
Copyright® 2010-2012 Condusiv Technologies.
Date Time: 12/26/2013 12:43:53:242 (JAMES-THINK #337)

EC Cache Info
==================================================

Mounted                   : Yes
Partition Size            : 14.91 GB
Reserved Size             : 3.00 MB
Volume Size               : 14.91 GB
Total Used Size           : 11.89 GB
Total Free Space          : 3.03 GB
Used Data Size            : 11.81 GB
Used Data Size on Disk    : 11.88 GB

Tiered Cache Stats
==================================================
Memory in use             : 1024.00 MB
Blocks in use             : 8060
Read Percent              : 11.82%


Cache Stats
==================================================
Cache Volume Drive Number : 1
Total Read Count          : 7008
Total Read Size           : 284.96 MB
Total Cache Read Count    : 5741
Total Cache Read Size     : 244.06 MB
Total Write Count         : 19929
Total Write Size          : 365.72 MB
Total Cache Write Count   : 18241
Total Cache Write Size    : 287.44 MB

Cache Read Percent        : 85.65%
Cache Write Percent       : 78.60%


C:\Program Files\Condusiv Technologies\ExpressCache>

 

Thanks

 

James

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save