English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: 11e (Windows), 13, E and Edge series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

4 Posts

02-17-2010

Germany

5 Signins

39 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2010
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 39
  • Message 1 of 13

WiMax not shown

2010-02-19, 12:18 PM

Hello,

 

I have the Edge with Intel and WiMax integrated. But in the Thinkpad Access Control, I can't choose the WiMax. Is this normal. How can I activate it? And what is it for?

 

Thx

Reply
Options

5796 Posts

11-24-2007

US

12809 Signins

291260 Page Views

  • Posts: 5796
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2007
  • Location: US
  • Views: 291260
  • Message 2 of 13

Re: WiMax not shown

2010-02-19, 15:57 PM

WiMAX is like a giant wireless hotspot.   not all locations support it and most require a paid subscription.

 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WiMAX

ThinkStation P700      ThinkPad X1C7

Reply
Options

213 Posts

12-06-2007

US

431 Signins

7269 Page Views

  • Posts: 213
  • Registered: ‎12-06-2007
  • Location: US
  • Views: 7269
  • Message 3 of 13

Re: WiMax not shown

2010-02-19, 16:45 PM

Launch Access Connections and you'll see radial buttons for WiFi, Mobile Broadband, WiMAX. Select the WiMAX radial button. Nest you have to perform a Wide Scan to determine if there are any carriers in your area. As Erik said, WiMAX is still a growing standard and not every area has service. In many ways this is a competing offering to WWAN providers such as Vodafone.

Reply
Options

4 Posts

02-17-2010

Germany

5 Signins

39 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2010
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 39
  • Message 4 of 13

Re: WiMax not shown

2010-02-22, 20:13 PM

Okay,

 

the problem with my EDGE is just that I cannot choose the WiMax in my Access Control. I can't choose it because it's marked just light gray! What is wrong with my EDGE???

 

Thx

Reply
Options

213 Posts

12-06-2007

US

431 Signins

7269 Page Views

  • Posts: 213
  • Registered: ‎12-06-2007
  • Location: US
  • Views: 7269
  • Message 5 of 13

Re: WiMax not shown

2010-02-23, 20:43 PM

The WiMAX radial button is grayed out when there is no card in the system that supports WiMAX. Look in devcie manager. Which WLAN card do you have installed?

 

Or send me your machine type and serial number and I can look it up.

Reply
Options

4 Posts

02-17-2010

Germany

5 Signins

39 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2010
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 39
  • Message 6 of 13

Re: WiMax not shown

2010-02-27, 11:42 AM

Hello Ken,

 

I have got the thinkpad EDGE 13.

Type: 0196-2EG

SN: ******* 10/01

 

Hope to here from you soon!

 

Thx

 

Moderator edit: Masked serial number to prevent mis-use. Please use the private Message (PM) feature instead. Click on the member's name>Send this user a private message.

Reply
Options

213 Posts

12-06-2007

US

431 Signins

7269 Page Views

  • Posts: 213
  • Registered: ‎12-06-2007
  • Location: US
  • Views: 7269
  • Message 7 of 13

Re: WiMax not shown

2010-02-28, 23:36 PM

Basix, sent you a PM.

Reply
Options

8 Posts

03-08-2010

Seattle, WA

22 Signins

120 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎03-08-2010
  • Location: Seattle, WA
  • Views: 120
  • Message 8 of 13

Re: WiMax not shown

2010-03-08, 5:39 AM

I had the same problem out of the box.  After a format/reinstall of Windows, and reinstalling the drivers from lenovo.com, I had Wimax working.

 

That said, I'm still having a boatload of problems with the Wimax functionality.  Access Connections fails to power on the Wimax modem 8 out of 10 times, and getting the connection started up requires lots of repeated attempts.  Once it's going, it's way faster than my USB dongle and way more power efficient, but I'm hoping that there will be some updates to Access Connections which improve the reliability of Wimax.

 

Or is there another connection manager we can use?  such as Intel's?

Reply
Options

288 Posts

11-28-2007

US

412 Signins

9231 Page Views

  • Posts: 288
  • Registered: ‎11-28-2007
  • Location: US
  • Views: 9231
  • Message 9 of 13

Re: WiMax not shown

2010-03-09, 11:36 AM

Look in Device Manager and expand out Network Adapters.  You should see something named Intel WiFi something.  What does it exactly say?

Is there a Qualcomm Gobi 2000 HS-USB device listed?

 

Reply
Options

8 Posts

03-08-2010

Seattle, WA

22 Signins

120 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎03-08-2010
  • Location: Seattle, WA
  • Views: 120
  • Message 10 of 13

Re: WiMax not shown

2010-03-09, 19:54 PM

I have the Gobi modem as well.

 

Here's what I have:

Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6250 AGN

Intel Centrino WiMAX 6250

Qualcomm Gobi 2000 HS-USB Mobile Broadband Device 9205

 

(I didn't list the bluetooth & ethernet controllers)

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete