English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: 11e (Windows), 13, E and Edge series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

02-09-2011

Apeldoorn, The Netherlands

9 Signins

74 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎02-09-2011
  • Location: Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
  • Views: 74
  • Message 1 of 13

Can 8GB of memory be place in Edge 11

2011-02-09, 12:07 PM

Hello,

 

I have a new Thinkpad Edge 11 (0328-5EG) with Core i3-380UM, 4GB memory and 64bit windows 7 prof. The 320GB harddisk is changed with a 240GB Vertex SSD.

To mprove speed I wanted to know if it is possible to place 8GB of memory in the laptop. The i3 core should be able to handle this according to Intel (http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=50028). All the documentation of the Thinkpad edge states 4GB max. Is this a bios limitation of was it never tested with 8GB.

Has anyone placed 8GB of memory in it's Edge 11?

 

 

Solved! See the solution
be like a sunray, someone else might need it
Reply
Options

3275 Posts

07-31-2008

Pakistan

1715 Signins

151632 Page Views

  • Posts: 3275
  • Registered: ‎07-31-2008
  • Location: Pakistan
  • Views: 151632
  • Message 2 of 13

Re: Can 8GB of memory be place in Edge 11

2011-02-09, 12:21 PM

Hi and welcome to the forum!


I don't have EDge 11, but lenovo says 8GB should work fine in your ThinkPad:- http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?lndocid=MIGR-55644


Hope this helps.

------------------------------------------------------------

Maliha (I don't work for lenovo)
ThinkPads:- T400[Win 7], T60[Win 7], IBM 240[Win XP]

IdeaPad: U350

Apple:- Macbook Air [Snow Leopard]
Did someone help you today? Compliment them with a
Kudos!
Was your question answered today? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
de.gif  Lenovo Deutsche Community   es.gif  Lenovo Comunidad en Español 
Visit my YouTube Channel

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

3 Posts

02-09-2011

Apeldoorn, The Netherlands

9 Signins

74 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎02-09-2011
  • Location: Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
  • Views: 74
  • Message 3 of 13

Re: Can 8GB of memory be place in Edge 11

2011-02-09, 12:49 PM

thank you very much. Time to find a reseller for 8GB.

be like a sunray, someone else might need it
Reply
Options

3 Posts

02-18-2011

London

17 Signins

54 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎02-18-2011
  • Location: London
  • Views: 54
  • Message 4 of 13

Re: Can 8GB of memory be place in Edge 11

2011-02-18, 11:41 AM

It would be great if you can report back with the results here - I'd love to go up to 8gb if it works...

Reply
Options

3 Posts

11-07-2010

Winchester, UK

4 Signins

107 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎11-07-2010
  • Location: Winchester, UK
  • Views: 107
  • Message 5 of 13

Re: Can 8GB of memory be place in Edge 11

2011-02-25, 13:48 PM

I have installed 6Gb in my Edge 11 with no problems, so I guess 8GB will also be fine.

Reply
Options

5 Posts

07-10-2011

Philippines

10 Signins

25 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎07-10-2011
  • Location: Philippines
  • Views: 25
  • Message 6 of 13

Re: Can 8GB of memory be place in Edge 11

2011-07-10, 11:09 AM

Hi!

 

I am planning to buy edge 11. But the website specifies max of 4gb only for edge 11. I could not find that edge 11 can support 8gb. could you please help me with this?

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?lndocid=MIGR-55644

Reply
Options

3275 Posts

07-31-2008

Pakistan

1715 Signins

151632 Page Views

  • Posts: 3275
  • Registered: ‎07-31-2008
  • Location: Pakistan
  • Views: 151632
  • Message 7 of 13

Re: Can 8GB of memory be place in Edge 11

2011-07-10, 14:43 PM

Hi witzeln and welcome to the forum!

 

The time I posted the link it used to say 8GB for Edge 11...I can't say for sure 8GB will work but as you can see avboothroyd was able to successfully run 6GB so I suppose 8GB will be fine too. Don't take my word though, do as much research as possible.

------------------------------------------------------------

Maliha (I don't work for lenovo)
ThinkPads:- T400[Win 7], T60[Win 7], IBM 240[Win XP]

IdeaPad: U350

Apple:- Macbook Air [Snow Leopard]
Did someone help you today? Compliment them with a
Kudos!
Was your question answered today? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
de.gif  Lenovo Deutsche Community   es.gif  Lenovo Comunidad en Español 
Visit my YouTube Channel

Reply
Options

5 Posts

07-10-2011

Philippines

10 Signins

25 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎07-10-2011
  • Location: Philippines
  • Views: 25
  • Message 8 of 13

Re: Can 8GB of memory be place in Edge 11

2011-07-11, 12:46 PM

I hope avboothroyd could update us what happened to his edge 11.

 

but, thanks for hte respond.

 

could edge 11 run a photoshop cs 5?

 

I am using photoshop for simple editing of pictures, like, RAW file editing (brigthness, sharpness, etc.) then convert to JPEG?

Reply
Options

3275 Posts

07-31-2008

Pakistan

1715 Signins

151632 Page Views

  • Posts: 3275
  • Registered: ‎07-31-2008
  • Location: Pakistan
  • Views: 151632
  • Message 9 of 13

Re: Can 8GB of memory be place in Edge 11

2011-07-11, 16:02 PM

witzeln wrote:

 

could edge 11 run a photoshop cs 5?


What is the 7 character product number of your Edge? It looks like 2668-KHU and can be looked from the back sticker or System Toolbox.

------------------------------------------------------------

Maliha (I don't work for lenovo)
ThinkPads:- T400[Win 7], T60[Win 7], IBM 240[Win XP]

IdeaPad: U350

Apple:- Macbook Air [Snow Leopard]
Did someone help you today? Compliment them with a
Kudos!
Was your question answered today? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
de.gif  Lenovo Deutsche Community   es.gif  Lenovo Comunidad en Español 
Visit my YouTube Channel

Reply
Options

5 Posts

07-10-2011

Philippines

10 Signins

25 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎07-10-2011
  • Location: Philippines
  • Views: 25
  • Message 10 of 13

Re: Can 8GB of memory be place in Edge 11

2011-07-12, 14:39 PM

wrote:

wrote:

 

could edge 11 run a photoshop cs 5?


What is the 7 character product number of your Edge? It looks like 2668-KHU and can be looked from the back sticker or System Toolbox.


 

 

i dont have it yet. I want to make sure first before buying it. This would be an investment laptop. so, I want to make sure first that everything is smooth. I mean that it would not be just a another laptop. 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete