cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
matze0681
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-07-2011
Location: Queenstown
Views: 7,838
Message 1 of 9

E320 Memory upgrade. Which RAM works ?

Hi everybody,

 

i would like to upgrade my E320's RAM with another 4gb module. (one 4GB is already there).

Now i am not sure which manufactures module fits. Especially when i read about different modules for specific lenovo laptops, different PIN numbers,etc..

The expensive memory from the lenove online shop has 200pins.

 

Does this one work (it lists several thinkpads but not the e320)?

http://www.elive.co.nz/kingston-4gb-ddr3-1333mhz-t17327.php

 

Thanks for your help in advance

matze

 

 

pagroundhog
802.11n
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎10-19-2011
Location: PA
Views: 7,810
Message 2 of 9

Re: E320 Memory upgrade. Which RAM works ?

Hello,

 

According to this spec sheet you are already at 4Gb which is the maximum supported RAM for the E320:

 

Detailed specifications - ThinkPad Edge E320 and E325

 

Good luck!

 

matze0681
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-07-2011
Location: Queenstown
Views: 7,808
Message 3 of 9

Re: E320 Memory upgrade. Which RAM works ?

Hi ,

 

Thanks for the fast reply. Thats strange cause i am quite sure you can have the E320 with 8GB.

See this link (official lenovo shop e320).

http://shopap.lenovo.com/SEUILibrary/controller/e/nzweb/LenovoPortal/en_NZ/builder.workflow:Enter?sb...

 

Cheers,

Matze

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 3,947
Registered: ‎01-21-2010
Location: US
Views: 7,803
Message 4 of 9

Re: E320 Memory upgrade. Which RAM works ?

http://shopap.lenovo.com/ISS_Static/WW/ap/au/en/products/pdf/notebooks/thinkpad/edge/E320_DS_NZ_15JU...

 

This says 8 Gb.

 

 

http://www.crucial.com/systemscanner/

 

Edit:  Why not run Crucial's scanner and see what their prices are like.  They have a good warranty and a good return policy and they guarantee that it will be compatible.

 

Some machines are particular about what ram they use, The Edge might be one of them.

 

Dave


Community GuidelinesSearchPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKMoto
PM requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.
pagroundhog
802.11n
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎10-19-2011
Location: PA
Views: 7,793
Message 5 of 9

Re: E320 Memory upgrade. Which RAM works ?

Hello,

 

The fact that an official document differs from what the Lenovo shop is selling should be cause for some concern and I would have that upgrade verified with Lenovo support before I made any purchase. I also checked the Crucial scanner Memory Advisor (as advised by Mod) and your Edge E320 is not listed.

 

Good luck and let us know how you make out!

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 3,947
Registered: ‎01-21-2010
Location: US
Views: 7,782
Message 6 of 9

Re: E320 Memory upgrade. Which RAM works ?

I think you might have looked it up using the Memory Advisor. You're right, it's not listed in the memory advisor. 

 

With that said, I've never had the scanner not find a system yet. New or old. I guess there's always a first time, but it's always found any system I've used it on.  I always use it, if even to determine the type of memory that a system takes. 

 

When it scans, it will give you the total amount of memory the system will take and give a list of the exact type of memory it will take with detailed specs. 

 

Dave


Community GuidelinesSearchPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKMoto
PM requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.
pagroundhog
802.11n
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎10-19-2011
Location: PA
Views: 7,778
Message 7 of 9

Re: E320 Memory upgrade. Which RAM works ?

Hello Dave,

 

You are correct!  I did use the memory advisor and did I say "Crucial scanner?"  Darn, yes I did!  Sorry about that...

 

Besr regards,

 

pagroundhog

pagroundhog
802.11n
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎10-19-2011
Location: PA
Views: 7,754
Message 8 of 9

Re: E320 Memory upgrade. Which RAM works ?

Hello original poster,

 

Did you ever get the answer you were looking for and/or get your issue resolved?

 

Please let us know.

 

Your feedback is important to the community

jrstoltz
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-03-2011
Location: Norway
Views: 7,555
Message 9 of 9

Re: E320 Memory upgrade. Which RAM works ?

Hi.

 

To answer some questions.

In my machine, (at least) the original 4GB is a Samsung 4GB 1333Mhz DDR3 SO-DIMM module. These are for sale online. And they`re quite cheap.

 

The tech spec document pagroundhog refers to is wrong. I just (five minutes ago) installed another 4GB module and it works flawlessly. (Or, at least it shows up where it`s supposed to.)

 

The installation guide for a new memory module can be found here :

Hardware Maintenance Manual

 

Regards

Gerhard

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors