English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: 11e (Windows), 13, E and Edge series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

2 Posts

11-07-2011

Queenstown

2 Signins

47 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎11-07-2011
  • Location: Queenstown
  • Views: 47
  • Message 1 of 9

E320 Memory upgrade. Which RAM works ?

2011-11-07, 22:44 PM

Hi everybody,

 

i would like to upgrade my E320's RAM with another 4gb module. (one 4GB is already there).

Now i am not sure which manufactures module fits. Especially when i read about different modules for specific lenovo laptops, different PIN numbers,etc..

The expensive memory from the lenove online shop has 200pins.

 

Does this one work (it lists several thinkpads but not the e320)?

http://www.elive.co.nz/kingston-4gb-ddr3-1333mhz-t17327.php

 

Thanks for your help in advance

matze

 

 

Reply
Options

228 Posts

10-19-2011

PA

212 Signins

7017 Page Views

  • Posts: 228
  • Registered: ‎10-19-2011
  • Location: PA
  • Views: 7017
  • Message 2 of 9

Re: E320 Memory upgrade. Which RAM works ?

2011-11-07, 23:21 PM

Hello,

 

According to this spec sheet you are already at 4Gb which is the maximum supported RAM for the E320:

 

Detailed specifications - ThinkPad Edge E320 and E325

 

Good luck!

 

Reply
Options

2 Posts

11-07-2011

Queenstown

2 Signins

47 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎11-07-2011
  • Location: Queenstown
  • Views: 47
  • Message 3 of 9

Re: E320 Memory upgrade. Which RAM works ?

2011-11-07, 23:53 PM

Hi ,

 

Thanks for the fast reply. Thats strange cause i am quite sure you can have the E320 with 8GB.

See this link (official lenovo shop e320).

http://shopap.lenovo.com/SEUILibrary/controller/e/nzweb/LenovoPortal/en_NZ/builder.workflow:Enter?sb=%3A000000AD%3A000004AA%3A&smid=4FFC389990BA9DF28C892DE12A51EB47

 

Cheers,

Matze

Reply
Options

4003 Posts

01-22-2010

US

38280 Signins

570476 Page Views

  • Posts: 4003
  • Registered: ‎01-22-2010
  • Location: US
  • Views: 570476
  • Message 4 of 9

Re: E320 Memory upgrade. Which RAM works ?

2011-11-08, 0:54 AM

http://shopap.lenovo.com/ISS_Static/WW/ap/au/en/products/pdf/notebooks/thinkpad/edge/E320_DS_NZ_15JUN2011.pdf

 

This says 8 Gb.

 

 

http://www.crucial.com/systemscanner/

 

Edit:  Why not run Crucial's scanner and see what their prices are like.  They have a good warranty and a good return policy and they guarantee that it will be compatible.

 

Some machines are particular about what ram they use, The Edge might be one of them.

 

Dave


Community GuidelinesSearchPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKMoto
PM requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.
Reply
Options

228 Posts

10-19-2011

PA

212 Signins

7017 Page Views

  • Posts: 228
  • Registered: ‎10-19-2011
  • Location: PA
  • Views: 7017
  • Message 5 of 9

Re: E320 Memory upgrade. Which RAM works ?

2011-11-08, 3:18 AM

Hello,

 

The fact that an official document differs from what the Lenovo shop is selling should be cause for some concern and I would have that upgrade verified with Lenovo support before I made any purchase. I also checked the Crucial scanner Memory Advisor (as advised by Mod) and your Edge E320 is not listed.

 

Good luck and let us know how you make out!

Reply
Options

4003 Posts

01-22-2010

US

38280 Signins

570476 Page Views

  • Posts: 4003
  • Registered: ‎01-22-2010
  • Location: US
  • Views: 570476
  • Message 6 of 9

Re: E320 Memory upgrade. Which RAM works ?

2011-11-08, 4:02 AM

I think you might have looked it up using the Memory Advisor. You're right, it's not listed in the memory advisor. 

 

With that said, I've never had the scanner not find a system yet. New or old. I guess there's always a first time, but it's always found any system I've used it on.  I always use it, if even to determine the type of memory that a system takes. 

 

When it scans, it will give you the total amount of memory the system will take and give a list of the exact type of memory it will take with detailed specs. 

 

Dave


Community GuidelinesSearchPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKMoto
PM requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.
Reply
Options

228 Posts

10-19-2011

PA

212 Signins

7017 Page Views

  • Posts: 228
  • Registered: ‎10-19-2011
  • Location: PA
  • Views: 7017
  • Message 7 of 9

Re: E320 Memory upgrade. Which RAM works ?

2011-11-08, 4:05 AM

Hello Dave,

 

You are correct!  I did use the memory advisor and did I say "Crucial scanner?"  Darn, yes I did!  Sorry about that...

 

Besr regards,

 

pagroundhog

Reply
Options

228 Posts

10-19-2011

PA

212 Signins

7017 Page Views

  • Posts: 228
  • Registered: ‎10-19-2011
  • Location: PA
  • Views: 7017
  • Message 8 of 9

Re: E320 Memory upgrade. Which RAM works ?

2011-11-09, 16:54 PM

Hello original poster,

 

Did you ever get the answer you were looking for and/or get your issue resolved?

 

Please let us know.

 

Your feedback is important to the community

Reply
Options

1 Posts

12-03-2011

Norway

1 Signins

23 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎12-03-2011
  • Location: Norway
  • Views: 23
  • Message 9 of 9

Re: E320 Memory upgrade. Which RAM works ?

2011-12-03, 12:19 PM

Hi.

 

To answer some questions.

In my machine, (at least) the original 4GB is a Samsung 4GB 1333Mhz DDR3 SO-DIMM module. These are for sale online. And they`re quite cheap.

 

The tech spec document pagroundhog refers to is wrong. I just (five minutes ago) installed another 4GB module and it works flawlessly. (Or, at least it shows up where it`s supposed to.)

 

The installation guide for a new memory module can be found here :

Hardware Maintenance Manual

 

Regards

Gerhard

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save