cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Nox41
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-30-2015
Location: South Africa
Views: 633
Message 1 of 6

E530C suddenly displaying 1802: Unauthorised network card is plugged in

As the heading goes, for no apparent reason my E530C is suddenly giving me the 1802 error. I have not changed the card, I have not updated any drivers, the machine was not switched off during an update or anything out of the ordinary. It was simply switched off one day and the next it gave this error.

I cannot enter the bios to disable the card as the error comes up first.

The machine works without the card attached but it's a stock card that has worked till now so I can't believe that it's not part of the whitelist that I've read about.

 

Please, any help at all would be much appreciated.

 

Nox41

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 10,934
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
Location: RU
Views: 628
Message 2 of 6

Re: E530C suddenly displaying 1802: Unauthorised network card is plugged in

Hi

Did you perfom the BIOS update before error appeared?
What card IDs do you see on the screen with 802 error (two or four group of 4 symbols)? What's the card model?



x220 • Gobi 2000 3g | hdd, msata ssd, wwan, wifi, gps -- unique hand-made config
ThinkPad 25 Special Anniversary Edition. #Retro. Signed by D.Hill
T470p | X1 Carbon Gen3 | Miix 2 10" | Yoga Tablet 2-1050F (Android) + BT Keyboard
ThinkPad Stack • 2.4/5 Wireless Router, HDD 1 TB, BT Speaker, Power Bank, Mobile Projector

Do it well, worse becomes itself

Communities:    English English    Deutsche Deutsche     Español Español     Portugues Portugues     Russian flag Русскоязычное     Moto En

Nox41
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-30-2015
Location: South Africa
Views: 624
Message 3 of 6

Re: E530C suddenly displaying 1802: Unauthorised network card is plugged in

I hadn't updated the bios. I have since removed the card in order to update the bios to 2.55 (from 2.50 I think) and still no luck.

The ID on the screen is 14E4/4313/14E4/4313

Part number for the card is QDS BRCM 1051, which I'm assuming is a Broadcom minicard

Nox41
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-30-2015
Location: South Africa
Views: 613
Message 4 of 6

Re: E530C suddenly displaying 1802: Unauthorised network card is plugged in

Sorry, part number is 04w3761

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 10,934
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
Location: RU
Views: 605
Message 5 of 6

Re: E530C suddenly displaying 1802: Unauthorised network card is plugged in

You have Broadcom BCM4313 chip based on card installed. Yet another FRU of this card is 20200100.

Definitely, IDs above are not whitelisted.
There are 3 Broadcom chip based on items in the E530c BIOS wl (v.2.55):
ven_14E4&dev_4727&subsys_060814E4
ven_14E4&dev_4359&subsys_060714E4
ven_14E4&dev_4365&subsys_061117AA

It seems ven_14E4&dev_4313 IDs belong Broadcom generic (not branded) card, or chip manufactured itself. I haven't ever seen the real card with IDs the error message shows:
ven_14E4&dev_4313&subsys_431314E4.
IDs look like unreal.

So, I'd suppose the card's IDs have been changed by some reason. Probably the card firmware caused that action, or even the card might be broken and can't pass its real IDs for the laptop PCI bus.



x220 • Gobi 2000 3g | hdd, msata ssd, wwan, wifi, gps -- unique hand-made config
ThinkPad 25 Special Anniversary Edition. #Retro. Signed by D.Hill
T470p | X1 Carbon Gen3 | Miix 2 10" | Yoga Tablet 2-1050F (Android) + BT Keyboard
ThinkPad Stack • 2.4/5 Wireless Router, HDD 1 TB, BT Speaker, Power Bank, Mobile Projector

Do it well, worse becomes itself

Communities:    English English    Deutsche Deutsche     Español Español     Portugues Portugues     Russian flag Русскоязычное     Moto En

Nox41
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-30-2015
Location: South Africa
Views: 592
Message 6 of 6

Re: E530C suddenly displaying 1802: Unauthorised network card is plugged in

So basically, it should work and it doesn't? Smiley Happy

 

I had a horrible feeling it may be something of the sort. There is no reason for the firmware to have changed the ID, BIOS or chip. I'm assuming it's somehow broken and hoping a replacement will solve the issue.

 

Thanks for your help

Top Kudoed Authors